We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grandsons Birthday Afternoon Tea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ettington Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alderminster
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The location was stunningly pleasing with afternoon tea being served in the period lounge. That was the best part the experience and unfortunately the remaining part of the afternoon was less than expected. We were a party of five adult and two children so you can Imagine my complete surprise when the waiter presented three single pots of tea for our group. The seating comprised of old sofas that were so low to the ground that they were more than difficult to arise from considering that three of the group were pensioners. There was a group of some 25 ladies celebrating a fortieth birthday celebration and they occupied most of the waiter and waitresses time which meant that we continually had to request service shortcomings that include two very small pots of jam for the seven of two small pots of cream, no cutlery , no napkins and the non English staff seems to struggle with our requests as we had to explain what we needed and expected at every stage. The sandwiches were served on slate platters whereas everyone else was offered cake stands which is what we expected . The bill came to £115 for our party and overall we thought we had not got value for money. They really need to up their game before me and or my family return. Perhaps some recompense would be appropriate

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mikey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made. I would like to apologise for the shortfalls in service that you experienced during your visit. I would be more than happy to discuss this with you further should you wish to contact me. I will also be carrying out internal investigations to ensure issues such as yours do not recur. I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,504)
There are newer reviews for Ettington Park Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

763 - 769 of 1,505 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

In homage to my dear friend, who sucumber to cancer a few weeks ago, we decided to go back to the Hotel where we enjoyed our last high tea..This quintessential hotel whose welcoming has not diminished,Staff absolutely fantastic you are made to feel so very special...nothing is too much trouble, We order our high tea.The waiting staff were so very nice as we remembered before the Cake stand arrived with a selection of delicate sandwiches, scones Jam clotted cream, and last but not least. small selection of cakes.. battenberg,eclairs, and a beautiful manderin mouse. Tea of Early Grey ( Ann I raised the cup!) hope your are watching....the whole experience was very special My thanks to all the staff you are excellent...would I go again oh yes!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made, we are so pleased to hear that you both enjoyed the afternoon tea with us which I hope was memorable for you both. With very best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

A perfect 2 night stay.
Everything was excellent.
Our room in the garden wing was large and comfortable with nice views over the grounds. Good free wifi (as it should be everywhere).
Elegant decor with attractive wood panelling everywhere. Stunning external facade.
Staff were well trained, helpful and attentive in all areas of the hotel.
Breakfasts are great, and my smoked salmon and scrambled eggs are the best I have had anywhere in the world.
Good cocktails in the bar.
Room service was timely, well presented and tasty.
Hotel is set in large, well maintained grounds with easy access and parking, and a pleasant 8 kms from Stratford-upon-Avon.
The hotel ticked all the 4 mandatory boxes for me.... clean, comfortable bed, good shower, good pillows and then lots and lots more, including value.
I highly recommend it.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank LesH211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made, we are delighted to hear just how much you enjoyed your stay with us and your comments have been shared with my team. We very much look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay with us. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Our daughter held her wedding at this wonderful location. The hotel staff made this a memorable event for family and friends. The location, wedding breakfast and rooms where excellent. The service and food was impeccable. Special thanks to Helen and team for making this special a occasion.

Room Tip: The Stour Suite is a 'fairy tale' room with a wonderful view across the Ettington Estate and...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malcolm D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made, we are truely delighted to hear your comments and so pleased to hear that your daughter wedding day has left you all with so many happy memories. We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My daughter booked this place for her wedding, and I cannot rate this place highly enough. It was the perfect wedding from start to finish. The location, the venue, the service was absolutely awesome. The food was very tasty and very well presented And served, considering they catered for 70 people. The rooms provided as part of the wedding package were very good, we stayed in the Stour Suite, which is amazing, very large room with lovely views of the grounds. Thank you Ettington Park for making my daughters wedding a dream come true.

Room Tip: All the rooms are of a high standard but if you can afford it the Suites are out of this world and...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chelsea021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made with regard to your daughters wedding. We are so pleased to hear that we have been able to leave you all with so many special memories, I have shared your comments with my team. We do hope to see you again in the near future. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Spent 2 hours on Sunday afternoon just relaxing and eating afternoon tea. Lovely setting, lots to eat and drink, good quality food. Our only negative comment would be more savoury items and less sweet. Very attentive staff, attractive large room to sit and beautiful grounds. Very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made, we are delighted to hear just how much you enjoyed your afternoon tea and very much look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

If you are looking for "proper" service - look no further. Welcoming maître d' for our celebratory lunch who addressed us by name! William our waiter was polite, interested and efficient and added an extra thoughtful touch. The food was excellent and good value too. Set in lovely Warwickshire countryside who could ask for more.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank WarwickshireBarbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made with regard to your Sunday lunch. I have shared your comments with my team and we very much look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alderminster
6.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,965 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,100 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ettington Chase Hotel
Ettington Chase Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ettington
1,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#14 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,130 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,117 reviews
5.6 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ettington Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ettington Park Hotel

Address: | Stratford-upon-Avon, Alderminster, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 8BU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon > Alderminster
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alderminster
Price Range: £99 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ettington Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ettington Park Hotel, the only AA 4 Red Star hotel in Stratford-Upon-Avon, is set in 40 acres of parkland in a verdant valley with the River Stour meandering through it. Situated just six miles from the centre of the famed home of Shakespeare and just a few miles from the start of The Cotswold Way, this spectacular property is a world apart from the hustle and bustle of contemporary life. Built from six types of Cotswold stone, Ettington Park is furnished with fine paintings and decorated with friezes that trace its centuries of tradition and heritage. This is a country house where historic extravagance meets contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ettington Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ettington Park
Ettington Park Stratford Upon Avon
Ettington Hotel Park
Ettington Park Hotel Alderminster, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing