We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificient - Loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ettington Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alderminster
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Magnificient - Loved it”
Reviewed 2 October 2008

This hotel is amazing. The building itself is wonderfully restored and renovated, the rooms are very comfortable and luxurious and the hotel grounds are just stunning.
We had a room with a direct view of the chapel out the window which was just divine.
The dining and lounge rooms also had a lot of character and charm.
The only thing was the dinner probably wasn't as good as I had hoped it would be. It was a bit average and probably not worth it. Otherwise the stay was fantastic, ask for the history of the hotel, it is very fascinating.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kazzzac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    907
    367
    129
    51
    26
See reviews for
281
800
12
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2008

My fiancé took me to ettington park for my birthday and we had a lovely stay. Our room was beautiful and the bathroom amazing. The bar areas were plentiful and the food wonderful. We had 2 slight whinges afterwards. The first was that, as part of our package we had to choose from the fixed menu. We stayed 2 nights and this didn’t change. You can subsidize off of the a la carte menu but other restaurants change the menu daily and you do feel like they are trying to force you onto the a la carte. Secondly when we booked the hotel no mention was made of the swimming pool being refurbished and there was no obvious note on the website. We were also not told upon check in. It was only when we scoured the place on the second day and asked were we told it was shut and advised we could go to one in Stratford but having just come back from there we did not want to drive back.

Moans aside it was a lovely hotel, beautiful grounds and room and the breakfast was wonderful. I would stay again but beware the repetitive menu if dinner in included in your price.

  • Liked — Wonderful grounds.
  • Disliked — Repeatative menu.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank victoriaoliver2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norfolk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2008

I f you want to unwind in luxury this is the place. Have just returned from a long weekend here and it was fab. The staff have exactly the right balance of friendliness and professionalism, the room was gorgeous we paid extra for a view and it was stunning but then the whole building and grounds are .The pool has just been refurbished and was great.
I would go again definitely [ I'd have to save up a bit though! but you definitely get what you pay for].

My only cautionary advice would be regarding the pool, if you are disabled. The pool is at ground floor level nevertheless to get to it you have to go up one flight of stairs and down another then the changing rooms are down another level still. So I think you would be wise to check with the hotel whether access can be arranged, they are very accomodating there so if it is possible I'm sure they would help.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lynsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 September 2008

Ettington Park came highly recommended on TripAdvisor, but has since gone down a bit in the rankings...might be because it is not exactly perfect...lovely...just not perfect. We stayed here with our three children in August. Room was really the best family room we've had for this price (about $275 US). Two levels, private upstairs bedrrom for us, and newly refurbished. Smallish but great (!) bathroom and very clean.

The grounds are beautiful!! Breakfast buffet was plentiful and delicious.

There is a certain mustiness in the common areas...especially the elegant drawing room. But it's like an old, beautifully made shoe...no less comfortable or stylish in spite of some wear. Glad that the rooms have been madeover well, but in the rest of the hotel I still feel like I'm a guest at a country estate.

Would absolutely stay again!

  • Liked — Beautiful grounds!!
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelMonkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks
1 review
Reviewed 5 September 2008

We had a group break at Ettington Park (12 people). Our bedrooms were recently renovated, very spacious and clean. The public rooms in the hotel were comfortable and we ate in a beautiful private dining room. The grounds were pretty and we used the (reasonable but not top class) tennis courts. There was no swimming pool or spa as this had burned down and was being rebuilt. The dinners were OK - quality of dishes was variable. Breakfast was not great - avoid the pancakes!. Service at dinner was good but service during the day was terribly slow - it took 40 mins to get a cup of tea.

  • Liked — bedrooms
  • Disliked — service
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidayMumBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2008

Stayed here for one night in order to be able to go and see Hamlet with David Tennant. Booked the hotel back in December and when we arrived at the reception, there was no record of the booking. Had to go and print off the email confirmation from the internet. Excuse was a new computer system. We were sure at this stage that we had prepaid for the room but they had no record of the payment being made. We paid but discovered on returning home that the prepayment HAD been made already and that we had therefore effectively paid twice. So we therefore had the additional hassle of having to call the hotel back to arrange a refund. Room was nice; large with big flat screen TV, good-sized bathroom and comfortable bed. Slghtly surprised though to find a half eaten packet of biscuits when we arrived in the room. Beautiful grounds and a lovely new swimming pool and spa. Breakfast was above average in terms of food, but the staff did seem to be getting themselves confused in terms of what people were ordering.

  • Liked — The room
  • Disliked — The chaotic administrative systems
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haslemere
1 review
Reviewed 29 August 2008

We stayed for 3 days with our 2 children [5,8] in a family room. cost was £120 per night including full breakfast. there is a new swimming pool , sauna, jacuzzi, steam room which was excellent. there are 2 tennis courts and wonderful grounds to explore. the drawing room and furniture is in need of renovation however . our room [no43] was above the spa and so was very warm [directly above sauna] we had to have the air-conditioning on all the time which was a little noisy. that said the boys had their own large tv and pull-out sofa bed and we had our room above them. the only gripe was with the breakfast . the food was very good but the staff could not cope with the number of guests . on the last day we gave up waiting for someone to take our order as we had waited 30 mins. the buffet is good but as it finished at 9.30 it had run out at by 9.10. people coming in after this time were told to wait. we would definately go back there however as it was excellent value for money. use of computer and internet was free. staff were very friendly.

  • Liked — value for money
  • Disliked — slow service at breakfast
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank markharrisHaslemere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alderminster
6.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,914 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,079 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ettington Chase Hotel
Ettington Chase Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ettington
1,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,094 reviews
8.6 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,092 reviews
5.6 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ettington Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ettington Park Hotel

Property: Ettington Park Hotel
Address: | Stratford-upon-Avon, Alderminster, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 8BU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon > Alderminster
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alderminster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ettington Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ettington Park Hotel, the only AA 4 Red Star hotel in Stratford-Upon-Avon, is set in 40 acres of parkland in a verdant valley with the River Stour meandering through it. Situated just six miles from the centre of the famed home of Shakespeare and just a few miles from the start of The Cotswold Way, this spectacular property is a world apart from the hustle and bustle of contemporary life. Built from six types of Cotswold stone, Ettington Park is furnished with fine paintings and decorated with friezes that trace its centuries of tradition and heritage. This is a country house where historic extravagance meets contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ettington Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ettington Park
Ettington Park Stratford Upon Avon
Ettington Hotel Park
Ettington Park Hotel Alderminster, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing