We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay just a couple of buts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ettington Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alderminster
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great stay just a couple of buts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

An amazing building in beautiful surroundings. Our two day stay here was very enjoyable, and was made even more so by the excellent service given by a few members of staff. I must first of all thank the young concierge who, met us as we approached the hotel with the most professional and friendly welcome I have ever encountered. He is the true star of the Ettington Park hotel and I hope that Handpicked Hotels realise what a star they have in him. The room, although just a standard double truly met and exceeded the four star standard, the room was perfectly made up and replenished twice a day. The hotel pool was immaculately clean and we'll maintained. Our only slight criticisms would be that at reception there was some confusion over the room rate and I was asked to pay £50 per night deposit ! Something I have never been asked to do in any hotel either 3 or 5 star. We ate in the restaurant both evening as the quality of the food was very good, however this was let down by the knowledge of the waiting staff. On both evenings we asked for the "artisan cheese board", when it arrived we asked what the cheeses were. On the first evening the charming waitress explained that she didn't know but would find out, she returned immediately and gave a very clear and precise description of each cheese. On the second evening, as the cheeses had clearly changed, we asked the same question, the young waiter looked confused, then returned shortly and explained they were cheddar, Brie and goats cheese and couldn't remember what the forth one was. If your going to charge these prices and describe the menu as fine dining please ensure the waiting staff know what they are serving.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank crossmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have raised. I am pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. With regard to the £50, this is an authorisation that is taken on arrival, and not a charge, this is only taken should you wish to charge items to your room account and I apologise if this was not explained to you on arrival. I have also spoken to my restaurant manager with regard to your further comments and action has been taken to ensure this does not recur. Should you wish to discuss this with me further please do feel free to contact me (jbowler@handpicked.co.uk) and I will be more than happy to assist you. I do hope that this will not deter you from staying with us again in the future. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    867
    346
    116
    48
    25
See reviews for
264
763
10
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Beautiful Hotel in magnificent grounds. Stayed in room 50- really spacious and comfortable overlooking ornimental box shrubbery and old church. Huge bed giving a great nights sleep. Staff uniformly pleasant and helpful.
Only downside is restaurant food which disappointing. Fixed 3 course evening menu at £39 lacks quality for the price. Wine also very expensive.
But great for a one night stay.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank bob3747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made, we are pleased to hear that enjoyed your stay overall, however I am concerned to hear that you did not enjoy your food. Should you wish to discuss this with me further please do feel free to contact me and I will be more than happy to assist you. (jbowler@handpicked.co.uk). I do hope that this will not deter you from staying with us again in the future. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

The place is stunning. Just afternoon tea and a wonder around the grounds is a great time. Really looking forward to our wedding here. The rooms are stunning and the staff can't do enough for you. Will definately stay here again and would recommend to anybody

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and very much look forward to welcoming you back for your wedding, which will be a very memorable occasion for you both. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We were attending a university reunion,elsewhere,but decided to go back to Ettington Park instead of staying at the meeting hotel.We recieved the most wonderful welcome from all the lovely staff,who really spoiled us.We really felt like family. The suite which was originally allocated to us was impossible for me as a disabled person,not enough space round the bed(fine for normal people) we were taken for a tour of the available rooms and chose a lovely suite at the front of the house,very spacious and lovely decor.the resteraunt had a few problems as the chef and several other people were off sick,in addition to which the delegates if a conference had not booked in for food,then suddenly all ordered room service!,,how inconsiderate of them! The staff however coped very well despite their difficulties and remained polite despite an extremely rude couple who kept complaining loudly.Sometimes a little understanding can go a long way towards ameliorating difficult circumstances,but the staff remained efficient pleasant and polite throughout.The staff here are exceptional and really do go out of the way to please the guests,they also have superb memories and remember from one visit to the next,what your likes,dislikes and special requirements.Well done again Ettington Park.We WILL be back.

Room Tip: If you like historical style rooms,the Shakespeare suite is charming,but if you need space round the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristineHubbard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made, we are so pleased to welcome to you back. Delighted to hear also that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Driving up to this golden-coloured neo-Gothic mansion along its long driveway expectations were high. We were surprised to find a relatively small reception area, however the Concierge's welcome was extremely friendly and it was immediately obvious that for him nothing would be too much trouble if it meant our stay would be enhanced. Our room wasn't quite ready so we took a walk through the stunning grounds where there's a church - ruined but still beautiful. We were then treated to a complementary drink because the room still wasn't ready - we certainly couldn't complain about that.

Our room was on the first floor, very spacious and well appointed. The large bathroom sports a free-standing slipper bath as well as a separate double-size shower - with good quality toiletries.

The king-size bed is one of the most comfortable hotel beds we've slept in and the room also has a coffee machine as well as the usual tea-making facilities, large flat-screen tv etc. The view over the church and grounds is stunning. Our main requirement of any hotel is that the room should be quiet - and it was.

My wife and I had a dinner, bed and breakfast package. The table d'hote menu was good, however for small supplements it's possible to mix and match with the ala carte menu too - which I did. Dinner was flavoursome and beautifully presented. Our wine choice wasn't available so they substituted a dearer bottle for the same price. Service was outstanding - faultless and friendly too. In a setting like this it would be easy for the staff to be stand-offish, but this was most definitely not the case at Ettington Park Hotel.

Breakfast also was excellent - fresh fruit salad, beautiful yoghurt and a good variety of cooked dishes plus the other usual fare.

This is one hotel that we'll definitely return to.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnnyd21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made, we are delighted to hear just how much you enjoyed your stay with us and cannot wait to welcome you back for a return stay with us. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We have stayed here on several occasions over the last couple of years and always loved it and this time was no different. From check-in to check-out we had amazing customer service. Our room was in the main house and fantastic with large windows looking out to the terrace and the immaculate hotel grounds.

Breakfast was very busy and we did have to queue and then wait to be seated but we were warned of this at check in. Also a sign was placed advising guests that between 9:30 and 10:30 breakfast is very busy - couldn't help but think that if they know of this existing problem why they don't add more staff on at this time as there were tables available but no one to seat us.

A special mention to Pawel who is very knowledgable on the food and drink and is a shining example of what customer service should be like everywhere but rarely is.

Already planning our next visit!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dinky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and very much look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Booked this hotel for a short get away with my wife without the kid’s, nice surroundings and quite. The staff where nice and helpful the servicing of our rooms was a bit hit & miss some days the room was cleaned and other not but overall our stay was pleasurable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MartinH3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made, we are so pleased that you were able to enjoy your stay. With regard to the comments you have raised about the servicing of your room, this should not be hit & miss and I have discussed with my head housekeeper to take immediate action. I do hope that this will not deter you from visiting the hotel again in the future. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alderminster
6.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,800 reviews
5.6 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,471 reviews
5.5 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
8.6 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,986 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ettington Chase Hotel
Ettington Chase Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ettington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ettington Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ettington Park Hotel

Property: Ettington Park Hotel
Address: | Stratford-upon-Avon, Alderminster, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 8BU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon > Alderminster
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alderminster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ettington Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ettington Park Hotel, the only AA 4 Red Star hotel in Stratford-Upon-Avon, is set in 40 acres of parkland in a verdant valley with the River Stour meandering through it. Situated just six miles from the centre of the famed home of Shakespeare and just a few miles from the start of The Cotswold Way, this spectacular property is a world apart from the hustle and bustle of contemporary life. Built from six types of Cotswold stone, Ettington Park is furnished with fine paintings and decorated with friezes that trace its centuries of tradition and heritage. This is a country house where historic extravagance meets contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ettington Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ettington Park
Ettington Park Stratford Upon Avon
Ettington Hotel Park
Ettington Park Hotel Alderminster, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing