We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ettington Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ettington Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alderminster
Certificate of Excellence
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

What a lovely hotel! Good value for money compared to other country house hotels we stay in. Beautiful building and grounds. Faultless service, laid back atmosphere, comfortable rooms, very good food...highly recommend!! We had a lovely stay and were very impressed.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Simi072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and very much look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay with us. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    856
    341
    114
    48
    25
See reviews for
260
753
10
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

Enjoyed a lovely comfortable night in this hotel ( one of the Handpicked Hotels range) with lovely service, scrumptious afternoon tea with our guest and later a marvellous dinner in the lovely wood panelled dining room, with friendly attentive staff.
Room and bathroom were immaculately clean, with a choice of bedding, plump cushions and a gorgeous view of the grounds.Fabulous building/architecture to feast your eyes upon

Approx 4/5 miles from Stratford Town Centre...nicely away from the traffic ! Lovely walk around the grounds and ruins! Wine on the terrace (good choice of wines etc).....and lovely friendly staff to complete our stay.

Room Tip: Try Deluxe room !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
185 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Booked an overnight dinner bed and breakfast stay in a suite for our wedding anniversary with the help of lovely helpful lady called Stacy on hand picked central booking line.

She gave me recommendations on two if there hotels and sent me photos of rooms so I could choose via email. She also asked if I would like to arrange flowers or anything else in the room on arrival but as I was doing this as surprise for my husband I explained that was not really his thing. She asked what was and arranged a cheese board in our room and sent me the wine list to make my choice.

From the moment we arrived all the staff were polite friendly and greeted us by name. Our room the Shakespeare suite was stunning and very well equipped including coffee maker and dvd. TV in bathroom and very comfortable four poster bed.

Dinner was all lovely service was a bit slow. Staff attentive. Breakfast was wonderful all products high quality and lots if choice. Nicest orange juice I have had in long time. Also nice that hot food is cooked to order not buffet style.
The spa facilities are lovely clean well maintained and the pool nice and warm. This is solely for hotel guests which is also nice.
Gardens and bar and patio area all lovely. Bar prices bit steep.

As result of this stay we have joined the hand picked hotels loyalty club and will definitely use them again will also definitely return to Ettington Park.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ada C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and even more pleased to hear that you have joined the handpicked loyalty club, I am sure you will enjoy more hotels within the collection and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for a future stay at Ettington park. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldershot
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

This place is fantastic, from the minute we walked in to the Hotel we where both made to feel very welcome. ALL the staff knew our names and always greeted us with Good morning / afternoon and evening Mr & Mrs Ryalls. It made us both feel as though we part of the family. Food was outstanding the chef did us a cracking job. The grounds are beautiful we managed to take some lovely photographs. The room was magnificent very large and tidy. In fact im booking it for next years wedding anaversary.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made, I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and very much look forward to welcoming back for you wedding anniversary next year. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We had a lovely time at Ettington Park Hotel which was the hotel that they filmed the classic 1960's film The Haunting. The staff were lovely and friendly, the breakfasts were lovely but the evening meal was rather overpriced.

Room Tip: Don't count on wifi as the signal is rubbish.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dida240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for a future stay with us Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We were fortunate enough to visit for the second time this year. We had a Classic Room which was beautiful and a lovely large bathroom. The staff are all very friendly and helpful and we were addressed by name throughout our stay. The bed was very comfy and the room had all creature comforts including bottled water and milk with tea and coffee making facilities. We ate in the restaurant on both nights and the meals were delicious - a good range on the menu and winelist. We went for the blade of beef each night as it was so good and was served with a garlic mash and runner beans and we also ordered a side dish of their handcut chips. We were recommended the Borgo Saletta wine (2007) which comes from the vineyards of the hotel's owner - a really lovely Tuscany wine. We will hopefully return next year.

Room Tip: Classic Room number 9 was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tig99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made, I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that this was so memorable for you. We very much look forward to welcoming you back if or a future stay with us. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level Contributor
66 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

The hotel itself offers a good service, the food was very good as well, lovely room and an enjoyable breakfast but sadly the stay was over shadowed because I couldn't get my e mail or a signal (Vodafone) on my phone!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthamptonRupert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and please accept my apologies that you were unable to receive a mobile coverage at the hotel. I do hope that this will not deter from visiting us again in the future. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alderminster
6.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,757 reviews
5.6 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,400 reviews
5.5 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
8.6 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,943 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ettington Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ettington Park Hotel

Property: Ettington Park Hotel
Address: | Stratford-upon-Avon, Alderminster, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 8BU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon > Alderminster
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alderminster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ettington Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ettington Park Hotel, the only AA 4 Red Star hotel in Stratford-Upon-Avon, is set in 40 acres of parkland in a verdant valley with the River Stour meandering through it. Situated just six miles from the centre of the famed home of Shakespeare and just a few miles from the start of The Cotswold Way, this spectacular property is a world apart from the hustle and bustle of contemporary life. Built from six types of Cotswold stone, Ettington Park is furnished with fine paintings and decorated with friezes that trace its centuries of tradition and heritage. This is a country house where historic extravagance meets contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ettington Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ettington Park
Ettington Park Stratford Upon Avon
Ettington Hotel Park
Ettington Park Hotel Alderminster, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing