We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch menu and food review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ettington Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alderminster
Certificate of Excellence
birmingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lunch menu and food review”
Reviewed 1 January 2009

Went to have lunch their, the food was for a 4 star hotel unbelievably bad, e.g. the starter of parma ham consisted of a piece of very old and tough ham surrounded by some form of foliage with a splash of balsamic vinegar.
The main course of beef with 1 small piece of cauliflour (frozen) one small piece of broccoli, 3 pieces of roast potato which had been cooked in god knows what and tasted awful, followed by a selection of cheeses which were tolerable.
The best part of the meal was the coffee.

the overall standard of the quality of the food out of 10 would be around 3, this is not the standard i would expect from this hotel which i would imagine advertises for foreign visitors.

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank kelvinBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    898
    360
    124
    50
    25
See reviews for
276
788
11
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Aus
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2009

The Ettington Park Hotel is quite a nice hotel, once you get there. Its a good 20 minute drive out of Stratford (Alderminster) and isn’t easy to find. Thanks to the friendly Landlord at the pub on Bridgefoot (near the tourist centre) that gave us directions. Once we arrived, reception couldn’t have been more unhelpful and being nice was clearly not in their job description.

It took a bit of a trek through hallways, stairs, lifts and firedoors to get to our room, but its a well-appointed room that is of a good size. It was weird that there were spider webs in the room’s entrance way and in other spots, also quite a few blown light bulbs meant about three lamps were unusable. Big old TV remote that was probably hi-tech in the 90’s, but just silly now. Nice clean bathroom and the shower has good pressure.

The views from the room were good and walking around the gardens the next morning was the highlight of our stay.

Best bits:
- Lovely grounds to walk around and explore
- Room was large and comfortable
- Views from room.

Not so best bits:
- Location – not in Stratford, it's in Alderminster.
- Reception staff were snooty and unhelpful
- weird TV remote control the size of a shoe.

  • Liked — The grounds were lovely and quite interesting, room was of a good size and quality.
  • Disliked — Poor attitude of reception staff, location - you'll need a car and a good map!
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisandDave0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2009

We stayed here on the Saturday before Christmas last year and it really kicked off Christmas for us so we did it again and werent disappointed. We decided to treat ourselves and book an executive room it was first class, very well appointed and spacious. The staff are so attentive, sitting in the drawing room with a G&T and canapes with the large Christmas tree in the corner, choosing your dinner, fantastic. The food once again was excellent and the service 5 star. This is a beautiful old house with lovely grounds and I dare you not to enjoy it. Roll on Christmas.

  • Liked — The whole atmosphere
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Narcky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 December 2008

I organised a surprise 80th birthday party for my father. We arranged for 23 guests to stay in 12 rooms for two nights, eating in on both nights.
Arranging the event was painless with Katie taking time to show us the various room types and go through pricing and menus. We had a chance to look at quite a few rooms (then and during the event) and they are all very nice. The classic rooms are in the new wing (which unlike most hotels new wings, is very much in keeping with the hotel's beautiful old buildings). They are very comfortable and elegant, as you would expect to find in a new upmarket hotel. The executive rooms are all in the old building. Of the five or six we saw they were all superb and different, designed to fit in with and preserve the quirks of the old architecture. If you are going to stay I would really recommend one of these rooms. The two suites we had were another step up. Even larger rooms with four poster beds and huge bathrooms. The Stour Suite is fantastic, right on the front of the hotel with great views from huge full length windows.
The hotel has been remarkably sympathetically renovated (in May 2008) and the quality of the fittings and furniture was excellent, a mix of old and new beautifully blended. The whole place still seems authentic and they have managed to avoid the pitfalls seen in many modernised old buildings where the inside feels just like any other modern hotel. Here you are never in any doubt that you are staying in a old stately home (for all the good reasons!).
Food was very good and the wine list excellent. The prices for drinks was reasonable and certainly no more expensive than you would expect in any normal “standard” hotel.
All the staff I found were incredibly helpful, especially Emily on the front desk. Nothing was too much bother and the feeling of all our guests (who are a very discerning lot of ex colonials who are used to the good life!) was that the whole place was nothing short of superb. There was general agreement that the overall ambience was more like being a guest in a stately home than staying in a hotel. I could not have asked for a better weekend.

  • Liked — Fantastic historical building. Service.
  • Disliked — Cannot think of anything!
  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotel2zero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2008

We stayed at this hotel for a wedding blessing and it was a beautiful venue for such an event. The evening ceremony was held by candlelight in the chapel outside - guests walked across a red carpet to where chairs had been placed for the guests and although it was very cold (end November!), the whole thing was absolutely magical.
On arrival at the hotel, having driven through the lovely grounds, it would have been nice if there had been fires alight in the large old fireplaces rather than all the doors having been left wide open; the fire in the reception area was alight the following morning in time for all the guests leaving! However, minor detail as everything else was so lovely, the reception, the food, the entertainment (probably arranged by the bride and groom), staff were all helpful and very polite. Our very spacious room (no.1) was really lovely - large bedroom area with plenty of storage space, tea and coffee facilities, fridge, comfy beds, comfy armchairs, tables, desk and chair, etc, and also the biggest bathroom we have ever seen in a hotel with lovely roll-top bath, walk-in shower, vanity unit with superb mirror and lighting, fluffy towels, very well presented in every respect - the only downside was the awful smell coming from the bath drain which we reported the following morning. The breakfast was very nice, just about everything on offer that anyone could possibly wish for and the hot food was all just that, hot and delicious.

  • Liked — Almost everything
  • Disliked — The lack of a warm fire on arrival in late November.
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Eyepye-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2008

Spent 3 nights at the Ettington Park hotel and I have to say that I was 100% satisfied. First finding the hotel was not easy (especially at night). Check in was quick and easy and my room was clean, large and with a mix of classic and modern furniture (tastefully done). I did have dinner one night at the restaurant and the food was excellent. Word of caution, this is not a cheap place. I paid GBP 130,00 a night but that was becuase we had a company discount. Usually, rooms at this hotel, are a lot more expensive. In all, I highly recommend this place to anyone visiting Strattford Upon Avon.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Not easy to find
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Dansladen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 November 2008

I stayed here the weekend after the previous reviewer so when I read it I could nod my head with some of his/her comments. There was so much to like about this place - and those features did not disappoint. Great building, superb grounds and above average leisure faciltiies (walking, cycles to hire, tennis court we used and the excellent modern pool/sauna/jacuzzi). However the staff and service were disappointing for a hotel of this calibre.

We had booked a 2 night package which included dinner on the first night. We turned up to be told 'have you reserved a table in the restaurant'. Well clearly, if we are on a first night dinner package, we would be dining there. The receptionist said he could 'squeeze us in' far later than we wanted to dine. it was not made clear on booking that we needed to make a reservation and this was a pretty basic error. The receptionist also did not know answers to several queries on account of having 'only arrived this morning'. Why put someone like that in a customer-focused/information role without time to acquire the necessary knowledge? Many of the staff were from overseas - something with which i haven't got an issue - but when seeking local knowledge or recommendations they were stumped.

That said, once we did dine, my partner and I were not disappointed with the food. It was excellent throughout - both breakfast and dinner - and on the second night we went for the gourmet menu being pretty adventurous foodie types. We were not disappointed and the 7 courses with a different wine with each was good value at the price charged. Having been to some equivalent hotels and been sorely disappointed with the food, this place excelled.

However, back to the service - like the other reviewers, on the Sat afternoon when we came back from a walk off site (3pm-ish) we found the room hadn't been made up. We were looking forward to relaxing for an hour or so but instead had to make the bed up ourselves. Only at 3.30 did someone come to do the room but it wasn't convenient and we went for a swim to get out of the way - earlier than I wanted. There wasn't a slip to hang on the door to say 'please make up my room' as we could have done this and got the room sorted. Guests should not have to expect to find rooms unmade by 3pm.

The rooms were comfortable, well stocked, with a good TV/DVD player which meant watching a late-night film was a pleasure. A plus point there.

I could go on, but for me this hotel has so much potential and with the quality rooms, swimming pool complex, the grounds and the food it is pretty much there. Just improve the service to what should be expected at a 5* level.

  • Liked — The food & the pool
  • Disliked — The service
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RugbyRef79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alderminster
6.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,870 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,080 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,618 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ettington Chase Hotel
Ettington Chase Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ettington
1,448 reviews
5.5 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ettington Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ettington Park Hotel

Property: Ettington Park Hotel
Address: | Stratford-upon-Avon, Alderminster, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 8BU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon > Alderminster
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alderminster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ettington Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ettington Park Hotel, the only AA 4 Red Star hotel in Stratford-Upon-Avon, is set in 40 acres of parkland in a verdant valley with the River Stour meandering through it. Situated just six miles from the centre of the famed home of Shakespeare and just a few miles from the start of The Cotswold Way, this spectacular property is a world apart from the hustle and bustle of contemporary life. Built from six types of Cotswold stone, Ettington Park is furnished with fine paintings and decorated with friezes that trace its centuries of tradition and heritage. This is a country house where historic extravagance meets contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ettington Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ettington Park
Ettington Park Stratford Upon Avon
Ettington Hotel Park
Ettington Park Hotel Alderminster, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing