We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very British hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ettington Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alderminster
Certificate of Excellence
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
“A very British hotel”
Reviewed 21 January 2009

We stayed for a weekend to celebrate both our birthdays. Booked direct via the hotel website -they had a winter special for £139pn for DB&B. Having read reviews I called twice to confirm our dining times and specifically mentioned the birthdays. On arrival we were asked if we had booked for dinner - as they were full - so they obviously still have not managed to work out that if you book a DB&B package you obviously want a table in the dining room! The hotel was booked solid all weekend - what recession eh!
Our room did not look like those on the website -it was #6 and was an accessible room but I don't think it had been renovated. #5 opposite looked fantastic when I peeked through the door! I don't think we got the upgrade that is meant to go with the Winter package. With the package you also got two glasses of fizz and also some canapes on the first night. Despite us sitting and opening all the cards on the table with our drinks, no one wished us happy birthday and there wasn't even so much as a candle stuck in our puddings!
The set dinner was very good - a simple menu. We had paid the £15pp supplement to upgrade to a la carte for the 2nd night - not sure if this is worth doing as if you chose carefully your supplement would actually work out to be lower than £15. That said, the cheese souffle was divine and the steak was the best I have ever eaten in England! DH had the lamb and said it was fantastic.
Service was a bit chaotic which is why I think it is 4* and not 5*. Our wine glasses were never refilled, the waiter served my bread rolls from my right side reaching across my plate, I never got the water I asked for 3 times...little things that need to be corrected.
The building is impressive, the ruined church quaint, and the surrounding towns were lovely. Our favourites were The Slaughters and Chipping Campden. Stratford itself was very disappointing. Julia was the best waitress by far! In summary a nice hotel, we would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LittleBritain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    882
    351
    118
    49
    25
See reviews for
270
771
10
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2009

We stayed at Ettington Park Hotel last summer to attend Hamlet @ the RSC. If the hotel was to be summed up best in one word, its got to be: Stunning.

The surroundings are beautiful and the building itself is a very grand and ornate. We found the staff there to be efficient and friendly without being OTT. Everything we asked for was delivered promptly. Dresscode around the place was relaxed and for such a nice hotel you never felt the need to be on best behaviour, you could just relax.

Afternoon tea was very nice. Sat in the Drawing room watching the wedding party enjoy cocktails on the grass outside.

Our room was beautifully appointed. Large flat screen TV. Nice sofa sitting area. Plenty of storage and a very nice wetroom style bathroom.

For a romantic weekend away I cannot fault Ettington Park Hotel. It has plenty of nearby attractions to visit and is a wonderful oasis to retreat to when you want to relax.

  • Liked — The hotel itself
  • Disliked — the swimming pool was undergoing restoration work whilst we were there and couldn't be used.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulMoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radlett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2009

I stayed here with my folks when I was visiting from the Philippines and I really wanted something special for my visit. This place delivers!

Sure its a short drive into Stratford town centre but that's kind of the whole point.....beautiful grounds and Stratford on your veritable doorstep!

Breakfasts are really nice and I suggest you avail of the package for dinner also. The food was great for us and unless they have changed the chef in the meantime I would really recommend it.

If you are an early riser go out and walk the grounds before everyone gets up. We saw tonnes of rabbits, 2 foxes and a mink!

We also took a torch (flashlight) and walked around the only ruins in the grounds at night. Very spooky and fun.....the ruins encompass an old monastery and church.

I have lived all over the world and been to a zillion boutique/countryhouse hotels. This one is up with the best!

  • Liked — The building is fascinating
  • Disliked — There wasn't anything that really let me down so "no comment"
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank britinnyc30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2009

Went to have lunch their, the food was for a 4 star hotel unbelievably bad, e.g. the starter of parma ham consisted of a piece of very old and tough ham surrounded by some form of foliage with a splash of balsamic vinegar.
The main course of beef with 1 small piece of cauliflour (frozen) one small piece of broccoli, 3 pieces of roast potato which had been cooked in god knows what and tasted awful, followed by a selection of cheeses which were tolerable.
The best part of the meal was the coffee.

the overall standard of the quality of the food out of 10 would be around 3, this is not the standard i would expect from this hotel which i would imagine advertises for foreign visitors.

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank kelvinBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Aus
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2009

The Ettington Park Hotel is quite a nice hotel, once you get there. Its a good 20 minute drive out of Stratford (Alderminster) and isn’t easy to find. Thanks to the friendly Landlord at the pub on Bridgefoot (near the tourist centre) that gave us directions. Once we arrived, reception couldn’t have been more unhelpful and being nice was clearly not in their job description.

It took a bit of a trek through hallways, stairs, lifts and firedoors to get to our room, but its a well-appointed room that is of a good size. It was weird that there were spider webs in the room’s entrance way and in other spots, also quite a few blown light bulbs meant about three lamps were unusable. Big old TV remote that was probably hi-tech in the 90’s, but just silly now. Nice clean bathroom and the shower has good pressure.

The views from the room were good and walking around the gardens the next morning was the highlight of our stay.

Best bits:
- Lovely grounds to walk around and explore
- Room was large and comfortable
- Views from room.

Not so best bits:
- Location – not in Stratford, it's in Alderminster.
- Reception staff were snooty and unhelpful
- weird TV remote control the size of a shoe.

  • Liked — The grounds were lovely and quite interesting, room was of a good size and quality.
  • Disliked — Poor attitude of reception staff, location - you'll need a car and a good map!
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisandDave0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
77 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2009

We stayed here on the Saturday before Christmas last year and it really kicked off Christmas for us so we did it again and werent disappointed. We decided to treat ourselves and book an executive room it was first class, very well appointed and spacious. The staff are so attentive, sitting in the drawing room with a G&T and canapes with the large Christmas tree in the corner, choosing your dinner, fantastic. The food once again was excellent and the service 5 star. This is a beautiful old house with lovely grounds and I dare you not to enjoy it. Roll on Christmas.

  • Liked — The whole atmosphere
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Narcky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 December 2008

I organised a surprise 80th birthday party for my father. We arranged for 23 guests to stay in 12 rooms for two nights, eating in on both nights.
Arranging the event was painless with Katie taking time to show us the various room types and go through pricing and menus. We had a chance to look at quite a few rooms (then and during the event) and they are all very nice. The classic rooms are in the new wing (which unlike most hotels new wings, is very much in keeping with the hotel's beautiful old buildings). They are very comfortable and elegant, as you would expect to find in a new upmarket hotel. The executive rooms are all in the old building. Of the five or six we saw they were all superb and different, designed to fit in with and preserve the quirks of the old architecture. If you are going to stay I would really recommend one of these rooms. The two suites we had were another step up. Even larger rooms with four poster beds and huge bathrooms. The Stour Suite is fantastic, right on the front of the hotel with great views from huge full length windows.
The hotel has been remarkably sympathetically renovated (in May 2008) and the quality of the fittings and furniture was excellent, a mix of old and new beautifully blended. The whole place still seems authentic and they have managed to avoid the pitfalls seen in many modernised old buildings where the inside feels just like any other modern hotel. Here you are never in any doubt that you are staying in a old stately home (for all the good reasons!).
Food was very good and the wine list excellent. The prices for drinks was reasonable and certainly no more expensive than you would expect in any normal “standard” hotel.
All the staff I found were incredibly helpful, especially Emily on the front desk. Nothing was too much bother and the feeling of all our guests (who are a very discerning lot of ex colonials who are used to the good life!) was that the whole place was nothing short of superb. There was general agreement that the overall ambience was more like being a guest in a stately home than staying in a hotel. I could not have asked for a better weekend.

  • Liked — Fantastic historical building. Service.
  • Disliked — Cannot think of anything!
  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotel2zero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alderminster
6.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,823 reviews
5.6 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,520 reviews
5.5 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
8.6 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#15 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,022 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ettington Chase Hotel
Ettington Chase Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ettington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ettington Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ettington Park Hotel

Property: Ettington Park Hotel
Address: | Stratford-upon-Avon, Alderminster, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 8BU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon > Alderminster
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alderminster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ettington Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ettington Park Hotel, the only AA 4 Red Star hotel in Stratford-Upon-Avon, is set in 40 acres of parkland in a verdant valley with the River Stour meandering through it. Situated just six miles from the centre of the famed home of Shakespeare and just a few miles from the start of The Cotswold Way, this spectacular property is a world apart from the hustle and bustle of contemporary life. Built from six types of Cotswold stone, Ettington Park is furnished with fine paintings and decorated with friezes that trace its centuries of tradition and heritage. This is a country house where historic extravagance meets contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Lastminute, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ettington Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ettington Park
Ettington Park Stratford Upon Avon
Ettington Hotel Park
Ettington Park Hotel Alderminster, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing