We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Historic Hotel and Great Value for Money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ettington Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alderminster
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Historic Hotel and Great Value for Money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2009

This historic hotel is set in the Warwick countryside and is a stunningly beautiful hotel. The guest rooms are well furnished and comfortable with queen beds (most UK hotels that state they have king beds, as this one says it does, actually have queen/double beds - it's an English thing!). We had a lovely veiw over the grounds from our first floor room. The bathroom could do with a slight update (shower is confusing to use), but not to the extent that you would hesitate about returning to the hotel.

The pool, spa and sauna are one of the best I've ever encountered in a hotel. You can float on your back in the pool and, through the glass ceiling, watch the bird circle above. It's all very scerene. The changing rooms for the pool area are down a stone spiral staircase, adding to the building's ambience. The changing rooms are modern and every thing you need is catered for - showers, extra towels, swimsuit dryers and plastic bags.

The breakfast was also fantastic. It's rare these days to get a cooked breakfast included in your room price that is delivered to your door. Usually it's a bain marie spread of lackluster, mass produced items. This is not the case here. The hotel prides itself on fresh food and the breakfast was a reflection of this. You had a choice of how you wanted your eggs done, fruit (the real thing, not tinned), cereals, toast, and a full English breakfast.

The dinner at the hotel was nice, however, very expensive. Being Australian, I guess I'm spoilt for good quality food at reasonable prices, so this could predjudice me.

We were very impressed and it was a great start to our European trip.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tistybus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    867
    346
    116
    48
    25
See reviews for
264
763
10
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Essex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2009

We stayed at this hotel for our 1 year anniversary and it made the weekend really special. We got a deal where we stayed 2 nights in an executive room with full breakfast and a selection of canapes and a 3 course meal for 2 people in the hotel restaurant and this cost £350. Our room had doors opening out onto the gardens which is lovely if you have room service in the morning. We made the most of the beautiful sunny weather by sitting on the terrace looking at the spectacular grounds.
We were welcomed by about 20 amazing deer along the drive!
The food in the restaurant was lovely and the service was good.
The room was very clean and well designed. The pool and jacuzzi was very relaxing.
We would definately return - maybe for our 2nd anniversary!
We ventured into stratford upon avon which was a lovey day out and ate in the 'Vinters' restaurant in the evening which was good. Relaxed atmosphere.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissMelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mystic, Connecticut
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2009

We had not been to Ettington Park since we married there in December 2007. In fact, it was our first time back to the UK since we married. When we checked in, we were upgraded to a suite (Shakespeare Suite) which was absolutely gorgeous with a stunning view over the Victorian Gardens and the chapel in the grounds. The room had a 4 poster bed and in the bathroomthere was a flat screen tv embedded in the wall over te bath!
We walked around the grounds and had afternoon tea in the drawing room - both of which were wonderful. We also ate in the hotel restaurant which although pricey, was excellent. Breakfast the following day was excellent and we also used the pool, steam room, sauna and hot tub, which topped off the experience perfectly.

On returning, it confirmed that our choice of wedding venue was the right one. I will be returning here time and again.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lwilliams75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southwell
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2009

Got a great deal including breakfast. The grounds are beautiful and there is tennis and croquet to play outside (at no extra cost). The hotel is very well maintained and not at all worn down which can happen at some of these large house hotels. We were upgraded to a courtyard room which was on two levels. We had our 8 year old son with us and they had made up a sofa bed in the downstairs part for him with our very pleasant room upstairs. The only downside in the room was a total lack of any view downstairs as the windows were opaqued out which made it a little dingy. Upstairs was fine with a comfy bed and good sized bathroom. The shower power was poor although it seemed quite new. The hotel has a lovely pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room which we made full use of. We didn't eat in the hotel as it was rather expensive but we were recommended 'The Bell' in Alderminster (a 2 minute drive). It was a fab pub with excellent food. Overall we had a lovely time and were made welcome. They seem happy to accommodate children and my son certainly enjoyed it.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gr8tripSouthwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2009

Stayed at this hotel for 5 days on business. Excellent facilities and comfortable room. bar a bit pricey but expected. Food was buffet style breakfast and lucn and was very nice. Evening meals waiter service and again, very nice but menu did get a little repetitive.
Overall would definitely recommend for short stay whether business or pleasure.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank penigill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2009

Stylish hotel 6 miles out of Stratford. Amazing architecture (castle turrets etc) and surrounded by acres of rolling countryside. Great Service, lovely rooms, fab swimming pool and whirl pool. All very well kept. Great breakfasts, but food in the restaurant (evening) a bit overpriced, so we enjoyed eating out in Stratford all the other evenings. At the wonderful Lambs Restaurant on Sheep Street, we enjoyed an absolutely delicious meal and half the price of Ettington Park restaurant. Would return if in the area.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ALittleBitSpoiled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
203 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2009

My husband gave me a lovely surprise for our anniversary by taking me to dinner at this hotel. The ambience and character of the hotel are lovely but I felt that the dining room was a little cold and austere. I was disappointed that there was nothing for vegetarians on the menu that night. I do eat fish but the monkfish was wrapped in parma ham. I was offered salmon as an alternative but I did feel that I could eat salmon at any time. The starter of cheese souffle was excellent and my passion fruit brulee also very good. But overall it was very expensive at 70 GBP per head. We have paid much less for food that was just as good.

Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Bellini6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alderminster
6.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,800 reviews
5.6 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,471 reviews
5.5 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
8.6 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,986 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ettington Chase Hotel
Ettington Chase Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ettington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ettington Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ettington Park Hotel

Property: Ettington Park Hotel
Address: | Stratford-upon-Avon, Alderminster, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 8BU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon > Alderminster
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alderminster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ettington Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ettington Park Hotel, the only AA 4 Red Star hotel in Stratford-Upon-Avon, is set in 40 acres of parkland in a verdant valley with the River Stour meandering through it. Situated just six miles from the centre of the famed home of Shakespeare and just a few miles from the start of The Cotswold Way, this spectacular property is a world apart from the hustle and bustle of contemporary life. Built from six types of Cotswold stone, Ettington Park is furnished with fine paintings and decorated with friezes that trace its centuries of tradition and heritage. This is a country house where historic extravagance meets contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ettington Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ettington Park
Ettington Park Stratford Upon Avon
Ettington Hotel Park
Ettington Park Hotel Alderminster, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing