We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ettington Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ettington Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alderminster
Certificate of Excellence
East Preston
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2010

We felt the location and setting was lovely but the hotel did not live up to expectations. Bed was rock hard and executive room 'functional' rather than luxury. Food acceptable, wines overpriced. Felt hotel was like a ship without a rudder. No Management visible!
We are ex-hoteliers and widely travelled.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolineEastPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    856
    341
    114
    48
    25
See reviews for
260
753
10
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2010

I booked a night at the Ettington Park for my boyfriends birthday. We stayed on the DBB champagne and canapes offer. I was expecting something pretty special having seen all the pictures and descriptions of this hotel on various websites but nonetheless I was a little anxious that the stay was going to be as special as I hoped. On arrival I was very pleased...Everything was at it looked in the pictures - just beautiful! We had a lovely room with a fantastic view of the chapel. We spent some time exploring the grounds and then took a dip in the pool. However little did we know but the best was yet to come! Our evening in the hotel was fantastic. The food was delicious. I have a very healthy appetite and I found the portions to be fine (unlike some reviews on here). However, it has to be said that the staff were the ones who made the evening what it was. Nothing was too much trouble, so accomodating and made my boyfriend's birthday everything I had hoped it would be for him! We enjoyed after dinner drinks in the magnificant bar area...the setting is just so special. Thank you to all the staff at Ettington Park, you really did a lovely job. I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BerkshireHappyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2010

We stayed on the £200 offer (dinner; bed; and breakfast) as a getaway from London for a night. The hotel had all the character that we were hoping for; and more importantly there was no indication that we were on 'an offer' like you get in some hotels. From check in to check out, the staff were friendly and attentive. The creme tea; dinner; and breakfast were all really tasty and excellent quality. We had a relaxing time; felt like we were looked after; and all at very good value. A great break and we would highly recommend it to all.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fordb976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2010

Have just returned from an overnight stay at Ettington Park and could not speak highly enough of it. The setting is magnificent, stunning grounds and interior, superb friendly and efficient staff and luxurious rooms. We had the DBB deal, which was very flexible so that you could add extras for a small supplement. I would recommend this to anyone wanting a relaxing and peaceful getaway with a touch of luxury.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NickyCornelius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2010

Had a smiliar experience to a number of recent guests on here.

Lovely setting and friendly welcome. We had booked a Sunday night stay on DBB basis.

We stayed in room 10 which, on first impressions, was lovely. Having stayed in many judge the great from the good. Sadly, this hotel has the potential to be great but is only good. Issues we faced were seemingly inconsequential on their own but do add up:

Toilet seat hadnt been fitted properly and the heated towell rail didn't heat. Nightly turn down service didn't materialse, the remote didnt work properly and the back was missing from it. Penny pinching amount of cream with the cream tea. Nice if small pool area yet no fitness centre that we could see. Upgrade to a'la Carte hadn't been passed on to the waiters. Had to ask for toast at breakfast and tea didn't arrive until I prompted a waiter some 15mins after we had ordered - slightly chaotic rather than slick service!

On the plus side, the food we had was excellent, well worth paying for a'la carte which is better value than the table d'hote. Great canapes and free glass of champagne was a great start and the 3 courses that followed cooked to perfection. Coffee and petit fours afterwards rounded off a superb meal with excellent and very 'unstuffy' service. The hotel itself is beautiful and the grounds immaculate, its easy to see why its such a popular wedding venue. The room we had was a really good size too even if the view wasn't picture postcard perfect.

In summary, this is a nice hotel and worth a stay if you get a good deal. Not sure I would go back as competition in the Cotswolds is fierce and there are many other better hotels than this one if you know the region. It has a slightly disorganised feel to it unfortunately and this, along with the cumulative niggles, makes for a less relaxing stay than should be the case. Some might ask why we didn't report the issues we had while we were there but it is the managers job to ensure that the hotel meets the required standards, not the guests...

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MPTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOLIHULL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2010

We had a nice over night stay at this hotel and found the staff to be friendly and helpful and the room modern, clean and comfortable. The only issue was the evening meal.

To begin with, the table that was booked for 8.30 was not made available until 9.00. Not the hotel’s fault I’m sure but a bit annoying when you are hungry. And although the service from the waiter, as we sat comfortably in the lounge, started off in a good attentive spirit, soon dwindled, leaving us waiting for our table for what seemed an eternity without drinks or nibbles.

The choice on the fixed price menu was a bit limited, leaving two items that we liked - the beef steak (described very honestly by the waiter as "likely to be tough if at all over cooked" and the sea bass. I’m not keen on steak that takes your teeth out so we both opted for the fish.

I wouldn't describe myself as large - a modest 95KG (15.5 stone or thereabouts) but I do have a healthy appetite and hadn't eaten since midday. So when presented with what can only be described as a child-size portion of sea bass fillet (more like a fish finger than a meal) I was disappointed and so, by association, was my lovely wife to be. I pointed the deficiency out to the very polite waitress and she offered to take it up with the kitchen. By that time unfortunately the moment was gone as was the fish - in a one, or at most two, mouthfuls!

To be fair the breakfast was very good and so was the general level of service. They also knocked the cost of one main course off the bill. But I can't help feel however that someone somewhere has got it slightly wrong. We were only there for one night but made a special point of using the restaurant and in spite of its obvious charm it simply wasn’t that great.

Would I go back? Yes, in many respects it was lovely. But come on Mr Cook (or hotel manager that sets the budget) don't be so penny-pinching, not when your glasses of wine are £12 each. A small detail that the hotel wasn’t privy to is that we were looking at the venue for our forthcoming wedding. In conclusion, we did like it but the food needs sorting to make it worth another visit.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ADRIANWASH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2010

We stayed here many years ago and thought it would be nice to return as we were in the area for a family gathering. There was no comparison to our previous visit. The person on reception found it difficult to look up from the computer to check us in and out in the morning. The room was small and dark. Despite an elaborate lighting system on the night tables it was quite impossible to see to read. The chair was so near the bed it was difficult to pass without tripping over.

The bathroom seemed to be designed for a disabled guest. The toilet seat was loose and the plug in the basin required you to plunge your hand into the dirty water to release it.

The breakfast service was haphazard. Unfortunately our arrival coincided with the fruit selection unreplenished - three requests for toast - a teapot for my husband which held 1 and a half cups of tea and a cafetierre for 8 for me! The 'full' English breakfast which we enjoyed immensely recently on a visit to Buxted Park Hotel,Sussex (part of the same Group) - here required 'side orders' of black pudding etc.

The only thing we enjoyed on the trip was the beautiful sight of two antlered deer crossing the path as we drove in full of expectations of a repeat of our previous visit.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gingk0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alderminster
6.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,757 reviews
5.6 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
5.5 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
8.6 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,945 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ettington Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ettington Park Hotel

Property: Ettington Park Hotel
Address: | Stratford-upon-Avon, Alderminster, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 8BU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon > Alderminster
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alderminster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ettington Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ettington Park Hotel, the only AA 4 Red Star hotel in Stratford-Upon-Avon, is set in 40 acres of parkland in a verdant valley with the River Stour meandering through it. Situated just six miles from the centre of the famed home of Shakespeare and just a few miles from the start of The Cotswold Way, this spectacular property is a world apart from the hustle and bustle of contemporary life. Built from six types of Cotswold stone, Ettington Park is furnished with fine paintings and decorated with friezes that trace its centuries of tradition and heritage. This is a country house where historic extravagance meets contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Ettington Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ettington Park
Ettington Park Stratford Upon Avon
Ettington Hotel Park
Ettington Park Hotel Alderminster, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing