We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Left us a bit confused”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ettington Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alderminster
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Left us a bit confused”
Reviewed 18 September 2010

We booked a 2 night stay during the week based upon the TA reviews and the fact the hotel has a pool/steam & suana. On arrival the reception staff seemed more than happy to watch us struggling up the steps with our bags (not a great start).

The executive room itself was nice but definitely not luxury. This kind of sums up the whole hotel, nice but in need of some TLC (there is that faint musty smell of old carpets everywhere).

The staff were varied to say the least, some pleasant, one helpful, several uninterested and one cigarette and booze soaked. It seemed as though the whole team was missing a guiding influence. Even at check out the receptionist couldn't muster the energy to enquire about how our stay had been (almost as if they knew what the answer would be).

The restaurant was equally erratic. There was a large party in a separate dining area, so this may explain some of the issues, but it certainly shouldn't be an excuse for poor service and food quality. One starter was excellent one went back. Both mains were OK but way over priced. The mouse was excellent. The wine was over priced (£35 for a bottle of Bouchard Pinot Noir!).

We had dined at the Lamb in Stratford the night before (absolutely superb service, food and atmosphere) and even with the £15 taxi (each way) it cost less than the meal in the hotel. We don't mind spending out on an expensive meal - as long as you get what you pay for.

We ordered breakfast in the room (left the card on the door the night before) and although the menu card had been taken no breakfast arrived. We called reception to chase it up (30 mins after it was due) and they said it was on its way. We waited another 10-15 mins and chased again. Eventually it arrived but we were due to check out and so didn't have the time to relax and enjoy. The breakfast itself was actually very nice. There was plenty of choice in the buffet and the cooked option was of a high standard.

Overall this could be an excellent hotel. The pool area is lovely, the grounds are nice and the building is beautiful. At the moment the service and the cost let it down.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisAndClaireJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    881
    350
    118
    49
    25
See reviews for
269
770
10
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2010

My husband and I went to Ettington Park to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We stayed there first on our honeymoon when the hotel we were booked into had accidentally double-booked us and sent us to Ettington Park for one night of our stay. We loved it then and this time, if anything, it was even better. The staff are wonderful. Nothing is too much trouble for them. The surroundings are beautiful and peaceful and you can amuse yourself by playing croquet or tennis outside, or using the lovely pool and spa inside. We had the whole pool area to ourselves, which was great.
Breakfast is substantial and there are little touches like the locally-sources jams and marmalades that make it even better. Dinner was lovely and the candlelit dining room was very atmospheric.
This is a beautiful hotel, in a lovely location and the staff will do what they can to make your stay relaxing and enjoyable. Can't wait to go again!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank headinthecloudsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Framlingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 September 2010

We stayed at Ettingham Park Hotel from 6th to 8th September 2010 and thought it was perfect. From the moment we arrived the staff were always on hand, friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Our rooms were large with everything one would expect from a 4 star hotel and more. The food in the restaurant was delicious and well presented and the setting was just breathtaking. I would definately recommend this hotel if you want a quiet and elegant stay in beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellingnow35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Preston
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2010

We felt the location and setting was lovely but the hotel did not live up to expectations. Bed was rock hard and executive room 'functional' rather than luxury. Food acceptable, wines overpriced. Felt hotel was like a ship without a rudder. No Management visible!
We are ex-hoteliers and widely travelled.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolineEastPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2010

I booked a night at the Ettington Park for my boyfriends birthday. We stayed on the DBB champagne and canapes offer. I was expecting something pretty special having seen all the pictures and descriptions of this hotel on various websites but nonetheless I was a little anxious that the stay was going to be as special as I hoped. On arrival I was very pleased...Everything was at it looked in the pictures - just beautiful! We had a lovely room with a fantastic view of the chapel. We spent some time exploring the grounds and then took a dip in the pool. However little did we know but the best was yet to come! Our evening in the hotel was fantastic. The food was delicious. I have a very healthy appetite and I found the portions to be fine (unlike some reviews on here). However, it has to be said that the staff were the ones who made the evening what it was. Nothing was too much trouble, so accomodating and made my boyfriend's birthday everything I had hoped it would be for him! We enjoyed after dinner drinks in the magnificant bar area...the setting is just so special. Thank you to all the staff at Ettington Park, you really did a lovely job. I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BerkshireHappyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2010

We stayed on the £200 offer (dinner; bed; and breakfast) as a getaway from London for a night. The hotel had all the character that we were hoping for; and more importantly there was no indication that we were on 'an offer' like you get in some hotels. From check in to check out, the staff were friendly and attentive. The creme tea; dinner; and breakfast were all really tasty and excellent quality. We had a relaxing time; felt like we were looked after; and all at very good value. A great break and we would highly recommend it to all.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fordb976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2010

Have just returned from an overnight stay at Ettington Park and could not speak highly enough of it. The setting is magnificent, stunning grounds and interior, superb friendly and efficient staff and luxurious rooms. We had the DBB deal, which was very flexible so that you could add extras for a small supplement. I would recommend this to anyone wanting a relaxing and peaceful getaway with a touch of luxury.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickyCornelius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alderminster
6.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,820 reviews
5.6 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,515 reviews
5.5 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
8.6 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#14 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,018 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ettington Chase Hotel
Ettington Chase Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ettington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ettington Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ettington Park Hotel

Property: Ettington Park Hotel
Address: | Stratford-upon-Avon, Alderminster, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 8BU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon > Alderminster
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alderminster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ettington Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ettington Park Hotel, the only AA 4 Red Star hotel in Stratford-Upon-Avon, is set in 40 acres of parkland in a verdant valley with the River Stour meandering through it. Situated just six miles from the centre of the famed home of Shakespeare and just a few miles from the start of The Cotswold Way, this spectacular property is a world apart from the hustle and bustle of contemporary life. Built from six types of Cotswold stone, Ettington Park is furnished with fine paintings and decorated with friezes that trace its centuries of tradition and heritage. This is a country house where historic extravagance meets contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Odigeo, Lastminute, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ettington Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ettington Park
Ettington Park Stratford Upon Avon
Ettington Hotel Park
Ettington Park Hotel Alderminster, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing