We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ettington Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alderminster
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 November 2010

We stayed at this wonderful hotel for pur honeymoon in October 2010. We had a beautiful suite overlooking the beautiful gardens. The room was very high standard, bathroom luxurious and all great.

The pool, sauna, and steam room were just perfect and the jacuzzi was great, a fabulous bubble bath.

We had room service for breakfast, which was superb, a wide choice of continental and traditional English cooked breakfasts.

Our overall stay was wonderful and we cannot wait to return...

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Connie89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,525)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,274 - 1,280 of 1,525 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2010

The hotel buildings and grounds are impressive. The room was tastefully decorated and furnished except for the oversize flat screen TV. The bathroom was spacious and well equipped.

We were asked to choose our evening meal (all three courses) by 5.30pm as if we were on an office outing to the pub. The wine was certainly not pub prices; the cheapest bottle of red was £25. The evening meal was excellent if you made the right choice but this was not easy when choosing from the table d'hôte menu that offered main courses of just fish (two varieties), pork belly or lamb. Those in our party that chose lamb but requested potatoes instead of couscous received plates of food that appeared to be thrown together, no vegetables were served or offered.

Before leaving home we rang the hotel to check if there was a dress code during dinner service in the restaurant and we were told no. This gave the restaurant and the whole hotel a somewhat down market atmosphere as many men wore jeans and casual shirts. The hotel booking card we received on check in said the dress code was “smart casual” but a “no denim” minimum may have lifted things a little.

Breakfast was average because the plates and food were barely warm. The staff in the dining room, bar and lounge were all very helpful and polite.

The central hall contains two reception desks and at checkout time a long queue formed as guests reconciled their accounts. Like many others, we had to question items on the bill and the receptionist was professionally cold during the process. A mature gentleman who described himself as “the host” loitered in the area as if waiting for trouble.

In summary, a great location and facilities but the choice and overall execution of the food was disappointing. The wine was too expensive for those seeking a quaffing quality. We recommend the hotel primarily for its physical features and interesting history.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AJontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

My wife and I were looking for our first weekend away together since our wedding 6 years ago. Having bribed somebody to look after the kids it needed to be special. Having seen other reviews for Ettington Park and booking it under a dinner, B&B break for 2 nights deal (£368) I was hopeful if a little nervous that it wouldn't live up to expectations.

My fears evapourated within minutes. A cheerful porter took our case to the room and opened the door to the biggest hotel room I have ever seen. I don't know if it was a mistake but it had two floors joined by a proper staircase, a TV in each room with DVD, MP3 hookup and was very very nice.

The dinner was a "can of peas, a pair of teeth" affair followed by the 3-course meal. Probably the best food I have had in a hotel. My wife who is extremely difficult to please on the food front was speechless. Already the weekend was a hit!

Breakfast was similarly tasty (as much continental style as you want) but if you are a help-yourself-to-the-bacon-and-sausages buffet breakfast lover you will be disappointed because you order the hot stuff it and it arrives. But there is an excellent selection to choose from.

We spent Saturday in Stratford-Upon-Avon which was a 10 minute tax ride (£14) so pretty convenient if that's what you want to do. But if you want to hang around the hotel there is an awful lot of history to discover and the grounds are very picturesque. There is a pool (but no spa - whatever one of those is) which looked okay although we didn't have time to use it so cannot comment.

The staff are very friendly, professional and helpful if a little difficult to understand if you aren't great with international accents (stern eastern bloc, quietly-spoken indian, camp german).

If I can persuade the baby sitters to do another weekend stint I will definitely return to Ettington Park.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davehigginsisgod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

I didn't read many reviews but the recent negative review couldn't have been further from our experience. The staff we dealt with were in fact truly excellent in their attentiveness and couldn't have done enough for us.

The hotel is beautifully located in 40 acres of sweeping landscape and mature trees. Our executive room was good, the only disappointment being that as the room was over the front 'porch', this actually obscured the view from the room but that is a minor point really considering the style of the building.
Dinner was very enjoyable but the supplements for 'superior' courses made the value of the meal rather expensive and the wine certainly was expensive - by about 30% by my reckoning.
Breakfast was excellent, with a wide choice and again excellent service.
Nothing to complain about at all, except perhaps that the broadband socket was faulty. But we reported that to the desk rather than come on here and do it!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iockusobermo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2010

Unfortunately this once excellent hotel appears to have lost its way. It retains a great location and lovely building but too many of the staff behave as if guests are an inconvenience, it's untidy and much of the decor/furniture is looking tired. In my experience not as good as other hotels in the Hand Picked group at all.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1,028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2010

Having now stayed at 7 handpicked hotels, i would say that they all have their own individual charms. The only common factor is that the staff can't do enough for you. We have always been lucky enough to stay in the original houses and our rooms have always been spectacular. I wouldn't hesitate to stay in any hotels within this group.

Ettington is a beautiful breathtaking property. From the moment we arrived there was a staff member waiting to take our bags for us (thanks Damien!) The room itself was a suite overlooking the chapel and was spotless. A room you wouldn't want to leave.

We had dinner here and the food was good. The breakfast as always was delicious with plenty of choice.

Would return here in an instant. Well done again handpicked!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank macaroni-chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2010

Absolutely perfect. There is nothing i can fault. I went for a family members wedding which took place in the hotel. We had a free bar all day and night. My room was luxurious and spacious. The staff looked after each and every one of us. The sit down meal they served us was outstanding and they never let our glasses get empty. The surrounding is beautiful and scenery just perfect with sheep, rabbits and horses. If your thinking or know someone who is thinking about wedding packages i would highly advise this hotel. You will not be let down.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leighd30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alderminster
6.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,004 reviews
8.6 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#15 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,154 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Ettington Chase Hotel
Ettington Chase Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ettington
1,537 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,125 reviews
5.6 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ettington Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ettington Park Hotel

Address: | Stratford-upon-Avon, Alderminster, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 8BU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon > Alderminster
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alderminster
Price Range: £105 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ettington Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ettington Park Hotel, the only AA 4 Red Star hotel in Stratford-Upon-Avon, is set in 40 acres of parkland in a verdant valley with the River Stour meandering through it. Situated just six miles from the centre of the famed home of Shakespeare and just a few miles from the start of The Cotswold Way, this spectacular property is a world apart from the hustle and bustle of contemporary life. Built from six types of Cotswold stone, Ettington Park is furnished with fine paintings and decorated with friezes that trace its centuries of tradition and heritage. This is a country house where historic extravagance meets contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ettington Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ettington Park
Ettington Park Stratford Upon Avon
Ettington Hotel Park
Ettington Park Hotel Alderminster, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing