We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub with lovely accommodation and fantastic decor”
Review of The Bell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Bell
Ranked #1 of 2 Alderminster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We stayed one night and arrived in the dark so couldn't appreciate how lovely the place was until we had a look round the next day. It's located in a quiet spot although just off the main road so a great place for a stopover. We stayed in October but would love to go back in summer when you can sit outside as the gardens looked lovely and I believe there is live music at certain times.
We had a wonderful evening meal in the pub before we retired to our room with a glass of wine from the bar. We had booked one of the rooms and on entering it smelt a bit musty but we didn't say anything. Whilst we were having dinner the manager came to our table and said that they felt the room wasn't up to scratch due to the smell and upgraded us to the Alscot Suite. We were very impressed particularly as we hadn't complained about it. Having seen 2 of the rooms they are all very individual and quirky, from the bed to the mirrors and décor. The Alscot suite had a sitting room area with dvd's and lovely chairs and blankets to use if a little chilly. There was also a bath in the room, which isn't really our thing but was lovely. We were sorry that we only had one night there and couldn't make the most of it.
The breakfast the following morning was above our expectations, every little extra touch had been thought of and it was so homely and quirky and you get a lovely view of the gardens whilst sipping your coffee.
We stay in a lot of pubs and can honestly say that this is one of the best ones we have experienced and we would thoroughly recommend it. The staff were exceptional, both friendly and professional. We will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for one on the garden side or at the back so you get a nice view rather than on the road side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teejay12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HellsBells033, Owner at The Bell, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

WOW thank you and we are delighted that you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2013

Would recommend staying at the bell. Stayed in the Garland room, lovely, clean, bright and modern. And the food is very tasty and a good selection. Staff helpful and friendly. Setting is amazing and top class rooms and staff, cant fault it! Cant wait to visit again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Birmingham44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HellsBells033, Owner at The Bell, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Thank you and delighted, we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Stayed for two nights in October.
This is a fantastic find and have recommended the Bell to all of our friends.
The room, Eaton Hall, was fabulous and the meals and breakfasts outstanding.
How anyone could complain about the service mystifies me, as although there was a large group booked in for a celebration our meal was served promptly by a wonderful set of extremely pleasant staff and couldn't have been better.
Looking forward to visiting the Bell Inn once again, when we are next in the area.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank cyprus321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HellsBells033, Owner at The Bell, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Many thanks for your review and generous comments, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we hope that you will return in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We held our daughter's wedding reception at the Bell. Ken and his staff could not have been more helpful. We had a marquee in the meadow overlooking the river and the wonderful Warwickshire countryside. Everything that the team promised, happened and the guests staying over were particularly pleased with the quality of the rooms and breakfast the next morning.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arkle100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HellsBells033, Owner at The Bell, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Many thanks for your kind comments and we are delighted that you enjoyed the special day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Have eaten here several times and enjoyed every meal. We have taken a look at the rooms with a view to booking rooms for customers. They have been renovated to a high class and all individually designed. I can't fault any of the rooms. The setting is lovely and beautiful gardens in a peaceful village location but not too far away from Stratford - a must.

Room Tip: All of them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HellsBells033, Owner at The Bell, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Many thanks and we are delighted that you enjoyed The Bell, we hope to see you again, and again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Had a wonderful overnight at The Bell Alderminster and stayed in the Garland Room. Everything about the experience was wonderful, from the really friendly staff, the great ale and wine selections, delicious food and great ambiance. It is a real treat and wonderful to have consistency in such high standards. Well done.

Room Tip: Great place to visit Stratford on Avon and not have to stay in a real touristy area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HellsBells033, Owner at The Bell, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Many thanks for your kind words your comments are much appreciated, and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, we very much hope that you will return again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

A really lovely hotel / B and B. Initially I thought it was expensive, but deco was lovely and the full English breakfast was top quality and extremely generous in portion size. Our room (Covent Gardens) was above the bar so was on the noisy side, but we were happy to read and enjoy the deco, that it wasn't too much of a concern.

Room Tip: If you want a quieter room don't go for one above the bar or on the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chlovesloves2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HellsBells033, Owner at The Bell, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Thank you for your review and for your kind and constructive comments. We now have five new bedrooms which opened recently and are in a quieter location, we do hope that you will come back and stay with us and try one of these other rooms. Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alderminster
1.5 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
1,569 reviews
4.3 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,995 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,433 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,897 reviews
4 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell

Address: Alderminster | Stratford upon Avon, Alderminster, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 8NY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon > Alderminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Alderminster
Price Range: £108 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bell 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award winning 18th century coaching inn that successfully combines traditional & modern. A welcoming bar with flag stone floors, low beams, open fires & candlelit tables. The well stocked bar ensures you can enjoy a host of real ales including our own Alscot Ale, guest beers & carefully selected wines, spirits & cocktails. Fresh morning coffee is a favourite in the cosy bar area. The stunning two story restaurant is attractive & vibrant with a buzzing atmosphere. The individual areas lend themselves well to private dining, meetings and parties. Food is served in the bar, restaurant and outdoor areas and the menu and daily specials change to accommodate the abundant seasonal & local produce. The spacious pub garden has an adjoining riverside meadow and landscaped patio. The individually styled, well equipped bedrooms are stylish and comfortable.. Friendly staff and a relaxed atmosphere make this modern country pub a popular venue for any occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Bell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bell Alderminster, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing