We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute winner.”
Review of The Bell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Bell
Ranked #1 of 2 Alderminster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Absolute winner.”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I should firstly declare that our stay at the Bell was a prize in their Facebook draw.

Stayed for the weekend in the Alscott Suite, which was gorgeous. Our suite featured a good sized sitting room with DVD player (great for cosying in when the weather is not suitable for exploring the Cotswolds), a wonderfully comfortable 4-poster bed, a bath and the most amazing double shower.

The Bell has a boutique hotel level of detail and decor, but still very much a country pub with a great atmosphere. As with so many things, it's the small things that make a difference: A well-stocked tea tray with chilled milk, L'Occitaine bath products, free wifi, quality bedding and even ducks in the bath!

Breakfasts were delicious, as was the dinner we had on Saturday night. Staff in all areas were attentive without being overbearing.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrswhothe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HellsBells033, Owner at The Bell, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you so much for your review and kind words, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    25
    11
    1
    2
See reviews for
23
62
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

we have just returned from a weekend break for our wedding anniversary in the Garland room and wow what a place! The room is beautifully designed, and truly unique. So much thought has gone into this place, from the high class furnishings to the little touches such as homemade biscuits on the tea tray. we ate in The Bell both nights, the first night choosing a bar meal, which i might add would out do many top restaurants! The second night we chose from the a la carte menu and all our dishes we quite simply perfection on a plate. only other thing to say is how wonderful the staff are. Extremely helpful and polite, but at the same time gave us the space and privacy to enjoy the romance of such a beautiful place. Highly recommended

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mrandmrsmorgsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HellsBells033, Owner at The Bell, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you for your comments it's much appreciated and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tervuren, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We stayed one night and arrived in the dark so couldn't appreciate how lovely the place was until we had a look round the next day. It's located in a quiet spot although just off the main road so a great place for a stopover. We stayed in October but would love to go back in summer when you can sit outside as the gardens looked lovely and I believe there is live music at certain times.
We had a wonderful evening meal in the pub before we retired to our room with a glass of wine from the bar. We had booked one of the rooms and on entering it smelt a bit musty but we didn't say anything. Whilst we were having dinner the manager came to our table and said that they felt the room wasn't up to scratch due to the smell and upgraded us to the Alscot Suite. We were very impressed particularly as we hadn't complained about it. Having seen 2 of the rooms they are all very individual and quirky, from the bed to the mirrors and décor. The Alscot suite had a sitting room area with dvd's and lovely chairs and blankets to use if a little chilly. There was also a bath in the room, which isn't really our thing but was lovely. We were sorry that we only had one night there and couldn't make the most of it.
The breakfast the following morning was above our expectations, every little extra touch had been thought of and it was so homely and quirky and you get a lovely view of the gardens whilst sipping your coffee.
We stay in a lot of pubs and can honestly say that this is one of the best ones we have experienced and we would thoroughly recommend it. The staff were exceptional, both friendly and professional. We will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for one on the garden side or at the back so you get a nice view rather than on the road side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teejay12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HellsBells033, Owner at The Bell, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
WOW thank you and we are delighted that you enjoyed your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Would recommend staying at the bell. Stayed in the Garland room, lovely, clean, bright and modern. And the food is very tasty and a good selection. Staff helpful and friendly. Setting is amazing and top class rooms and staff, cant fault it! Cant wait to visit again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Birmingham44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HellsBells033, Owner at The Bell, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you and delighted, we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Stayed for two nights in October.
This is a fantastic find and have recommended the Bell to all of our friends.
The room, Eaton Hall, was fabulous and the meals and breakfasts outstanding.
How anyone could complain about the service mystifies me, as although there was a large group booked in for a celebration our meal was served promptly by a wonderful set of extremely pleasant staff and couldn't have been better.
Looking forward to visiting the Bell Inn once again, when we are next in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cyprus321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HellsBells033, Owner at The Bell, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Many thanks for your review and generous comments, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we hope that you will return in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford upon Avon
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We held our daughter's wedding reception at the Bell. Ken and his staff could not have been more helpful. We had a marquee in the meadow overlooking the river and the wonderful Warwickshire countryside. Everything that the team promised, happened and the guests staying over were particularly pleased with the quality of the rooms and breakfast the next morning.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arkle100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HellsBells033, Owner at The Bell, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Many thanks for your kind comments and we are delighted that you enjoyed the special day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Have eaten here several times and enjoyed every meal. We have taken a look at the rooms with a view to booking rooms for customers. They have been renovated to a high class and all individually designed. I can't fault any of the rooms. The setting is lovely and beautiful gardens in a peaceful village location but not too far away from Stratford - a must.

Room Tip: All of them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HellsBells033, Owner at The Bell, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Many thanks and we are delighted that you enjoyed The Bell, we hope to see you again, and again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alderminster
2.6 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
1,457 reviews
3.2 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,625 reviews
3.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Ettington Chase Hotel
Ettington Chase Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ettington
1,452 reviews
3.5 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
864 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell

Property: The Bell
Address: Alderminster | Stratford upon Avon, Alderminster, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 8NY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon > Alderminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Alderminster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bell 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The interior of this award winning 18th century coaching inn successfully combines traditional and modern; a truly eclectic mix. The warm and welcoming bar has flag stone floors, low beams, open fires and candlelit tables. The well stocked bar ensures you can enjoy a host of traditional real ales including The Bell’s own Alscot Ale, guest beers and carefully selected wines, spirits and cocktails. Fresh morning coffee, brunch and afternoon tea are all favourites in this cosy area. The restaurant is more contemporary and oozes charm; it is attractive and vibrant with a buzzing atmosphere. The well designed individual areas lend themselves well to private dining, meetings and parties. Food is served in the bar, restaurant and spacious outdoor areas and the menu and daily specials change to accommodate the abundant seasonal and local produce. The spacious country pub garden with adjoining riverside meadow is ideal for families whilst the beautifully landscaped courtyard garden is a perfectly sophisticated area. The individually styled, well equipped boutique bedrooms (including a suite) are stylish and comfortable with a unique twist. Friendly staff and a relaxed atmosphere make this modern country pub a popular venue for any occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Bell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bell Alderminster, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing