We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing group Christmas party experience”
Review of Woodman Estate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Woodman Estate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Moorooduc
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 February 2012

I so wanted this place to work out for our office Christmas party. Everything looked great on paper on the site. But it really didn't work out for us, and I'm still razzed by my colleagues for it.

Unfortunately we picked a rainy night but we did what we could. The space is nice and it was a decent set-up for a dinner. We liked the food and the service during dinner was pretty good.

But it all went downhill after that dinner. It was only 9pm or so and we retired to the billiards room. Well, let me tell you, we were served drinks by the surliest of servers. Probably one of the grouchiest and least helpful barmaids I have to deal with in years. She made our last hour lousy with her bad attitude. She cut off all wine and beer at 11pm on the dot and kicked us out. We had nowhere to go except for our rooms, as we were now shut down on the only night we have out all year together, and because the inn is near nothing. We all went to bed at 11 even though we could have have enjoyed billiards and wine for another couple of hours. It was a total buzz kill.

The owner didn't ask us anything about our experience the next morning, knowing we were part of that group (there were about 8 of us checking out at once and all chatting, there was no question we were with that group). It was obvious to me that he didn't want to hear about the criticisms and made no point to thank us for the nearly $10000 we probably brought in between the party and the rooms we rented. Since that night he has sent a note through our party planner about a plan to put better group event training in place. Hopefully that works out.

One thing I will say is that we had a nice big room, though not worth $300 in my book.

But bottom line, a disappointing group event. We will definitely not be back and I wouldn't recommend this place if you're trying to impress your co-workers with a flawless work party.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank phillysilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorenmamma, Owner at Woodman Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2012

Thanks for your review. I understand that your group has had contact with our functions co-ordinator and your groups concerns have been addressed satisfactorily. We value your companies support and would love to assist in planning another event for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

114 - 120 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2012

Beautiful surroundings, first class service. We visited Woodman estate for Sunday afternoon High Tea.
We were greeted by our host and shown to our tables. Tables were dressed with crisp white linen table cloths.
French champagne was first.
Triple cake stand, ribbon sandwiches, selection of
hot pastries, and petit fours. Followed by warm oven fresh scones.
Food was delicious & fresh. Menu of various teas and coffees on offer was extensive.
All in all a wonderful afternoon, at a first class venue with excellent service and food

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank inelew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

I can't believe the price they charge for accommodation and breakfast....$35 per head for breakfast.....after charging over $300 a night for a small room located in the main house. The function held here was rushed and the staff couldn't wait to get rid of us. I don't think I saw the bar girl smile once, and come 11pm we were basically told to go to our rooms as the common rooms were closed down!
Don't waste your money or time

Room Tip: Not in the main house
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shil0h1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorenmamma, Owner at Woodman Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2012

Thanks for your feedback. We are really disappointed that you didn't enjoy the Estate like the majority of our guests. We would invite you to return and will provide a bottle of Woodman Estate sparkling to enhance your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We stayed here as part of our anniversary celebration -- found the place via Google and got a package as a gift to my wife. It is definitely not a cheap place to stay in but the stay was worth it. We were offered an upgrade to the best accommodation for an incremental cost and I did not regret going for it. The room was spotless, the views great, service was commendable and food was good too. Will definitely be back in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chinwag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We recently stayed at the Woodman Estate for a late celebration getaway. The stay was wonderful, the grounds are well kept, and the accommodation was spotless and well appointed. The facilities are also extremely good, we had a spa and also booked in for a massage in the morning. The hosts were friendly and could not have been more helpful. The food was of an extremely good quality - we couldn't fault our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

My partner and I stayed at the Woodman Estate lodge on the Mornington Peninsula an hour from Melbourne. The accomodation was updated Victorian; absolutely delightful in decor but updated in terms of amenities. The grounds including a lake were beautifully maintained and filled with birds and wildlife. The many boutique wineries were 15-20 minutes away.

Service was as good as we have ever experienced. Rick, the owner (with his wife), was always around asking if we needed anything and filled with advice on where to go and what to do. Staff was really helpful; one woman was concerned about the air temperature in our room and made a special trip (without us asking) to show us how to adjust the air conditioning.

We ate three breakfasts and two dinners, which were excellent. Again, the service was wonderful. After a hard day of wine tasting :), we needed a quiet evening meal, which the hotel provided,

No concerns or complaints. We stay at top hotels around the world; and the service and ambiance at this small lodge certainly compare favourably.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

It was wonderful to stay there, the room was so comfortable, the staff extremely helpful and the meals were magnificent. It was so cosy the restaraunt area with the open fire place. The grounds were beautiful and we had a relaxing time walking around the estate. Will definitely be going back and taking friends!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stewartsMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moorooduc
4.5 mi away
Jackalope Hotel
Jackalope Hotel
#1 of 1 in Merricks North
55 reviews
14.5 mi away
Flinders Hotel
Flinders Hotel
#1 of 2 in Flinders
224 reviews
17.6 mi away
RACV Cape Schanck Resort
RACV Cape Schanck Resort
#1 of 1 in Cape Schanck
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Moonlight Bay Apartments
6.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Brooklands Of Mornington
8.3 mi away
Lindenderry at Red Hill
Lindenderry at Red Hill
#1 of 1 in Red Hill
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodman Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodman Estate

Address: 136 Graydens Rd, Moorooduc, Victoria 3933, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Mornington Peninsula > Moorooduc
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Moorooduc
Price Range: £197 - £428 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Woodman Estate 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an hour from Melbourne, spoil yourself with a few days and nights of elegance and indulgence at Woodman Estate Luxury Country Hotel, Restaurant & Spa. Overlooking a private lake and surrounded by landscaped gardens, this exquisite Victorian estate provides luxurious accommodation coupled with warm, welcoming professional hospitality. There are just ten suites/rooms, all elegantly furnished and fitted with modern amenities. Guests can enjoy a romantic candlelit dinner or relaxed meal in the hotel's restaurant and there are numerous eateries and wineries close by. A highlight is the on-site Spa Retreat which offers a full range of relaxation massages and treatments as well as rejuvenation programs for 3, 5 and 7 days. Other facilities include a billiard room, tennis court, row boat for the lake and walking paths around the lake's edge. Relax - Your own private sanctuary awaits! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Woodman Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodman Estate Hotel Victoria
Woodman Estate Victoria
Woodman Estate Australia/Mornington Peninsula - Moorooduc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing