We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blissful Night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hilltop Accommodation Catlins
Ranked #1 of 2 Papatowai B&B and Inns
Hawaii
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Blissful Night”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Located high on a rise, the views are stunning with miles and miles of rolling hills dotted with sheep, edged by dark forests that end at a bay. We booked the double room en suite in the lower house. The house also has a room with 4 bunk beds but we were very lucky to have the house all to ourselves. The kitchen is fully equipped with a butcher block table at the center. There was even a washing machine had we needed one. The parlor is quaint. We sat out looking at the gardens and views in absolute silence other than the occasional song birds. This place is worth making a special stop for an evening or two if you are driving through The Catlins.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia Kim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stu125, Owner at Hilltop Accommodation Catlins, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thanks for your lovely comments. We are pleased you enjoyed the tranquillity of Hilltop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    6
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
15
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Stayed at Hilltop on a quick visit to the Catlins and on the recommendation of Dunedin i-site. I stayed in the twin room and Hilltop gave me a good price for one night. # doubles and 1 twin in the top house, a lounge, large kitchen and separate meals area. 2 bathrooms and laundry equipment in the garage. All beautifully clean and well maintained. Decor is more like a B&B than backpackers. Spent the evening on the front terrace with a bottle of wine and a lovely English couple who stayed in the en suite room in bottom house.
Short drive to Cathedral Cave or back toward Owaka to Matai Falls.
Small issue with noise transfer between bathroom and twin room. There were two couples in other rooms the night I stayed. Another guest got up several times during the night and left the fan on in the bathroom each time. Otherwise no issues with sound transfer to other rooms, and it was a small concern given how beautiful the house, gardens and location are.

Travel tip - the store at Papatowai shuts at 6pm so buy your food supplies early. Also, the store was out of 91(petrol) the day I visited. The Hilltop owner said this was not uncommon. If in doubt fill up at Owaka. The upside of this was that I'd told some other Hilltop guests I was concerned about petrol, and they offered to take me to Cathedral Cave with them. We had a lovely afternoon & evening enjoying this part of the Catlins and taking photos.

Room Tip: There are 3 double rooms, and one twin in the top house. As there are two bathrooms in the top house...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fooey1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stu125, Owner at Hilltop Accommodation Catlins, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thanks for staying at Hilltop.
Pleased you followed the Dunedin i-site recommendation.
Great advice to fellow travellers on filling up with fuel and food supplies before venturing into central Catlins, a fairly isolated place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
154 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

This is an astonishing place with fabulous views and the scent of fennel and lavender. Birds swoop and glide and the distant cliffs and beach entice. This is more like a B&B or homestay where you cater for yourself. It was clean and welcoming. An ideal spot to base a walking trip. Bed was comfortable and even had the place to myself one night. There's a real log fire for cooler nights. Top marks for having a compost bin too and efficient recycling scheme in the garage. Reasonably priced. The Manager, Angela, was very kind and helpful. Would love to return one day. Remember to take your outside shoes off at the front door!

Room Tip: The twin room at the back has no serious view but is very much part of the garden. All rooms lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RaibeartAlba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stu125, Owner at Hilltop Accommodation Catlins, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thanks for your perfect review. We couldn't ask for more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Travelled on the SSR from Te Anau and this makes a great stop off before our next stop at Oamaru. Arrived pretty late but had brought provisions to make dinner & breakfast. Didn't think to bring milk as this had been provided at other stops - so had to do without a cup of tea! Felt a bit spooky on arrival as we were the only ones there and have to check in by phone. But having the place to ourselves was pretty cool. Was able to choose the double room - so picked one with the amazing view across to the sea. Well equipped for our cooking needs. Television didn't appear to work but only wanted it to check the weather forecast - so no big deal. Bed very comfortable.
Wish we could have stayed longer to enjoy the views more & explore the local area further.
Non-tarmaced and quite steep driveway to house so take care particularly in the dark.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stu125, Owner at Hilltop Accommodation Catlins, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thanks for your review. We are a great central stop on the Southern Scenic Route. Sorry the outdoor sensor light did not come on for you, and the TV remotes can be a little challenging, but thanks for choosing to stay at Hilltop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, NZ
Level Contributor
68 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

I stayed here one wet and stormy night. I was lucky enough to get the place to myself, so I lit the fire and relaxed. I felt warm, safe and secure.
The house was more than adequate- fully functioning kitchen, two bathrooms, lounge area, multiple bedrooms- and if weather permits a small garden terrace with fantastic views down to the coast. Theres also compost and full recycling facilities. The owners were there if needed but left me to my own devises which was fine.
It would be fantastic to hire the house with a group of friends and spend a couple of days here.
Its a rural farm house with no pretenses- its comforatable, clean and tidy. It maybe a little scruffy around the edges but not as horrific as the 'fabulous view' comments below.
One small addition would be salt, pepper, oil cooking type condiments.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Woodinio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stu125, Owner at Hilltop Accommodation Catlins, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Pleased you enjoyed our warm cosy hilltop haven.
Groups of friends and families are finding Hilltop a great place to spend a few days, and I hope you can make it back too.
We try to provide modern convenience with character house charm.
Salt and pepper should have been in the cupboard above the range
Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Great accommodation with fantastic views. We were lucky enough to get the top place to ourselves. The local dairy/milk bar closed at 6pm. We went for an evening meal at the whistling frog which was about 20 mins drive away- I can highly recommend the whistling frog's seafood chowder. The following day we ate at the at the niagra falls cafe for lunch and I had the smoked salmon salad which was great. Hilltop had good facilities a good kitchen,washing machine/dryer, electric blankets, heat pumps and log fire. We enjoyed our stay and would return.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank skellelj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stu125, Owner at Hilltop Accommodation Catlins, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Thanks for your great review. We are open all year round, so getting the place to yourselves can be a bonus for travelling in our winter-spring off-peak times.
Pleased you appreciated our warm facilities and the fine local dining
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We stayed here for one night. The view was absolutely fabulous down to the ocean in the distance. We have assessed this as average, based on it being a backpacker accommodation. The shortcomings for us were that it could use a little more love and attention. There was a dirty mop leaned up against the entry door. The hedge had just been trimmed and lawn mowed, but all the clippings (and there were lots!) were just lieing about. There was no soap or cold water in the shower (which is obviously better than no hot water!) which required a quick shower so as to not get scalded. The exterior of the cottage was covered in cobwebs as was the bathroom ceiling. The garbage can in the kitchen was half full of food and packaging left by previous visitors. There was a large amount of dried spilled milk in the fridge. There was a large note in the kitchen that said unless you have brought your mother or other assistant, do your dishes! There is a portable stereo which does not work.
All of this being said-the kitchen was well equipped and there is a washing machine which could be handy. Again, the view was spectacular and made up for any of the other shortcomings experienced.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cacl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stu125, Owner at Hilltop Accommodation Catlins, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
Thanks for your comments and yes our place does have a fabulous view. To keep this view, we have to trim our hedge, but to allow for peace and tranquillity for our guests we prefer to stay as invisible as we can. Our manager tries to get all necessary maintenance work done so she is not around the properties or grounds too much when people are relaxing there. We have told our manager of your other concerns. As you can imagine, breakages are a problem, and if stereos are not going, we may not always be aware of this.
We are a small boutique accommodation lodge and the sign referring to mothers is almost tongue in cheek as there is a dishwasher in each house.
Sorry if your stay wasn’t totally perfect. Do come again and we will try to make it so
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Papatowai
12.2 mi away
Owaka Lodge Motel
Owaka Lodge Motel
#1 of 1 in Owaka
52 reviews
5.3 mi away
Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls
12.4 mi away
Thomas's Catlins Lodge And Camp Ground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Catlins Newhaven Holiday Park
15.9 mi away
Waikava Harbour View
Waikava Harbour View
#1 of 3 in Waikawa
106 reviews
12.4 mi away
Catlins Area Motel
Catlins Area Motel
#2 of 6 in Owaka
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilltop Accommodation Catlins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilltop Accommodation Catlins

Property: Hilltop Accommodation Catlins
Address: 77 Tahakopa Valley Rd, Papatowai, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Papatowai
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Papatowai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peaceful country accommodation in the heart of the Catlins, overlooking the Southern Scenic route. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hilltop Accommodation Catlins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing