We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eden Valley welcome at the Black Swan!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Black Swan Inn Culgaith
Ranked #2 of 3 Culgaith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chesterfield
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Eden Valley welcome at the Black Swan!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

I picked this hotel as it was reasonably priced and a friend had recommended it. What a surprise and how refreshing to stay where staff greet you by name on arrival. Help with luggage and shown to my room...which was not huge but very nicely furnished and beautifully clean and fresh. Shower only in my room ... and some features (beams) that may challenge the taller traveller....but for sheer charm and country inn feel you just can't beat a few beams.....all original I hasten to add!!
Restaurant had a surprisingly extensive menu, and considering my stay was a Tuesday eve was busy with locals.....liver pate with loads of toast for starter, really good. The belly pork was just delicious, more veg than 4 could have eaten leeks, carrots, new pots, red cabbage , portion sizes favour those with hearty appetites....I was sorry I had the starter as I couldn't find any room for a pudding....! Next time!
They have a smoking area at the rear which is covered and heated, amazingly wifi available free of charge and no problems connecting.....
Breakfast cooked to order ....it was all lovely.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Princessalaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    34
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
96
2
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
119 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

Warm welcome as soon as we went to book in followed by real ale and really good pub grub in the bar or restaurant. In a lovely village only 10 minutes from the m6 with easy access to Penrith as well. Only minor point - bigger towels please!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trevannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

My wife and I booked this small Pub with rooms as a stop off point on the way up to Scotland. We booked via Late rooms. First of all the pub is not in Penrith, it is in a small village about 10 minutes drive away in Culgaith.

So there is no where to wander to once you have checked in!! We booked a superior double room which was excellent, plently of space, king size bed and two arm chairs. Very quiet though but we were able to sit out in the Garden to watch the Sun go down with a bottle of wine!

We did not eat in the restaurant/bar in the evening but it was very popular and I think fully booked on the Saturday night. Looking at the menu it was very interesting but I thought a bit pricey. Heard a comment as someone was leaving the restaurant " they seem to be trying too hard" The proprietor even took the trouble to knock on our door at 8.40pm as we had not ventured down for dinner, trouble was we were so engrossed with the new X -Factor series we didn't hear her knocking for ages!!

Breakfast was excellent and very well cooked. Would definitely stay here again if I only wanted a bed for the night and a good meal. If I wanted to wander about in the day/evening would probably venture more into the Lake District to Windermere/Bowness.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevspeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

Recently spent 2 nights here. Checked in and were given our room keys staff were not to overly enthusiastic . Room was lovely and comfortable had what you need for a short stay . Pub /bar was quiet with A few regulars and to be honest we felt abit like we were alienated. Bar staff were lovely and friendly and chatty too never got to meet owners nor was introduced. Breakfast was lovely and main meal was ok but a little pricey for what it is. Nice hotel but is in the middle of nowhere so if your looking for a stroll around a few shops and country pubs this is not for you but if it is peace and quiet and a lovely room then this is just the place. Nice stay but quiet area

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wigan,lanc's, england
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

the black swan was the last accommodation of our recent 9 day staycation trip.
The inn was in a peacefu and picturesque location in the Eden valley and many places of interest were in easy travelling distance-eg-Carlisle, northern lakes,Hadrians wall and some stunning scenery.
The Inn was tastefully decorated and the bedroom was spacious and comfortable.The food was very good and bar prices were reaasonable.
The bar and waiting staff were very friendly and attentive.However in our case I filt the landlord and landlady were rather distant.

Room Tip: we had room 1 and it was very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank verakins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

Stayed for one night on our way to (and on our return from) Scotland.Parked up directly outside and friendly service at check in.
Ther room was a reasonable size, clean and comfortable.Great to be able to pop downstairs for a pint after getting settled in.Very good food served in the evening.We reserved a table when booking initially.(It does get busy - always a good sign!)
Breakfast was well cooked and ample.
Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hywel_smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

Stayed one night with my wife as a stop off point from our home to Scotland. Easily found from the M6 the Black Swan is a delightful country pub in a lovely location. A short walk enables you to have panoramic views of Cumbria, although from our room at the front you could see hills between the houses opposite. Our double room was ensuite and was smartly decorated and clean. With a building of this age there are beams so tall people watch out. And As befitting a building of this age floors are undulating under foot and that adds to the character. But a few pints downstairs and you might have a problem! We ate an evening meal and had breakfast too. The evening meals were especially enjoyable, while the breakfast too was wholesome and tasty. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Englishgent55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Culgaith
5.9 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#6 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
5.7 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#5 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
3.2 mi away
Edenhall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
7.4 mi away
Tufton Arms Hotel
Tufton Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Appleby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
12.2 mi away
The Whitbarrow Hotel
The Whitbarrow Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Swan Inn Culgaith? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Swan Inn Culgaith

Property: The Black Swan Inn Culgaith
Address: Station Road, Culgaith CA10 1QW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Culgaith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Culgaith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Black Swan Inn Culgaith 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Black Swan Inn Culgaith reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Black Swan Inn Culgaith Hotel Culgaith
The Black Swan Inn Culgaith Penrith

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing