We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Black Swan Inn Culgaith
Ranked #2 of 3 Culgaith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A good place to Stay”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Warm and friendly staff, nothing to much trouble for them. Room clean and comfortable. Great food with a good service with a good choice of dishes using local produce. Good choice of beers available including three real ales

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank para1239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    34
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
99
2
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Penrith
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

Went for a meal as live in a nr village, not sure why we have never been for a few years. Meal was gorgeous. And the place was busy as well. Highly recommend this place for a meal. Prob best to book a table as well.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrb82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Came across the Black Swan whilst exploring the area. We stopped for a drink and as it was around 6pm we decided to have dinner.
The food was delicious and the service excellent. The cost was quite reasonable considering the fresh local produce on offer.
Recommended !

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ron c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

I asked a gentleman in a shop in Appleby for a recommendation for a good pub and he suggested this place. From the moment we walked across the threshold everything about this place was superb. There is an interesting layout as a lot of the bar area is taken up with smart comfortable seating and tables which is great for an after meal drink / coffee or if you just fancy a drink. The food was absolutely delicious and very sensibly priced. I had the best Beef Bourginon I have ever had. The landlady couldn't have been nicer and even showed us around the rooms when we enquired about staying the night(s) on a future visit. This place should be a template for what a village inn / gastro pub should be like. Absolutely brilliant. I can't wait to go again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flopster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Travelling from Dundee to Nottingham and looking for a lunch stop we found this super inn by chance. A typical village pub from the outside, the interior is a surprise. Well laid out smart seating and dinning area. Very welcoming, everything very clean, excellent toilets, and a nice beer garden at the rear. Good beers - shame I was driving so could not sample them - and a very good menu. One particular attraction was the option for 'smaller' portions of the meals - good if you don't want to overfill on a journey. However, I had a 'smaller' smoked chicken and chorizo salad - delicious but if this was the small portion the larger one must have been enormous!
May try an overnight next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
206 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Popped in to here after a visit to the Lakes and before making the massive journey back to Lincolnshire ! What a treat it was, outside in the well tended beer garden in glorious sunshine, this lovely little pub has friendly staff, peaceful location and absolutely lovely food.
As a vegetarian there was little choice, but the food that was served was fresh, handmade and just delicious. I would definitely visit here again and possibly look in to staying over night next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleSweetpea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Booked after a quick search on Late Rooms. This is a well managed and perfect little Inn with good food, real ale, lovely rooms and staff who all know how to take care of you and make your stay special. The Black Swan is a small and very old inn in a small, quiet village in the Eden Valley. It is above average in every respect. Fantastic pub with nice choice of beers, food very special and of high quality, our room was very very nice with sheep outside the window to greet us in the morning. Best part of the experience is the staff who all know how important it is to look after their guests. This is a really well run establishment and if we are in the area again we would return. Perfect!

Room Tip: We paid a little extra for the Kimg Size room .... Well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Culgaith
5.9 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#6 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
5.7 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#5 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
3.2 mi away
Edenhall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
7.4 mi away
Tufton Arms Hotel
Tufton Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Appleby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
12.3 mi away
The Whitbarrow Hotel
The Whitbarrow Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Swan Inn Culgaith? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Swan Inn Culgaith

Property: The Black Swan Inn Culgaith
Address: Station Road, Culgaith CA10 1QW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Culgaith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Culgaith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Black Swan Inn Culgaith 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Black Swan Inn Culgaith reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Black Swan Inn Culgaith Hotel Culgaith
The Black Swan Inn Culgaith Penrith

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing