We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A splendid weekend”
Review of Laurel House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Laurel House
Ranked #1 of 3 Culgaith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A splendid weekend”
Reviewed 12 July 2011

Laurel house recently acquired a coveted fifth star from "EnjoyEngland" to replace their previous 4 star gold rating and it is well deserved indeed. The owners Alex and Jeff have created a very superior B&B accommodation with three delightful bedrooms and do everything possible to make guests feel completely at home throughout their stay. Breakfast is an enjoyable experience served at a communal table for six residents with a good selection of cooked items (including kippers) together with home made bread and preserves. For evening meals Jeff can make suggestions for the best local places and will arrange table reservations if required. All in all one cannot speak too highly of Laurel House as a place to stay in a very beautiful area of Cumbria with easy access to many local attractions.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank railfan49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sevgililerevi, Owner at Laurel House, responded to this review, 22 July 2011
Thank you for your comments. It is gratifying to see that our customers rate us so highly, and that they feel we deserve our fifth star.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
156
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2011

This is one of the best B&B's we've ever stayed in. Alex and Jeff were really friendly and went out of their way to make us welcome - nothing is too much trouble.
The room was comfortable and clean with lots of extras i.e. bathrobes, sweets etc
Warm scones and homemade jam on arrival were a real treat
Breakfasts were fabulous - homemade bread and preserves and breakfast served on a platter so you can help yourself
Bramble and Holly (the dogs) made it feel just like home

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sevgililerevi, Owner at Laurel House, responded to this review, 17 June 2011
Thank you for your kind comments - it makes all the hard work worthwhile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

we actually visited here on the way up to scotland over a year ago but I had no idea I could write a review otherwise I would have done so along time ago! What a lovely b & b! really clean, unbelievably friendly couple, we felt like part of the family, and the food was fabulous. We will definitely be staying with them again when we head up that way. Thank you for making us feel so welcome x

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaz186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sevgililerevi, Owner at Laurel House, responded to this review, 14 June 2011
Thank you for you comments - much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVEREN-WAAS BELGIUM
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2010

Zeer warm onthaal door de gastvrouw en - heer.
Prachtige kamers.
Zeer verzorgd ontbijt.
Een B&B waar men zich onmiddellijk thuisvoelt.t

Fantastic Hosts.
Delicious breakfast.
Beautiful and very comfortable bedrooms.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ASPAROEKOV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sevgililerevi, Owner at Laurel House, responded to this review, 14 June 2011
Great comments - thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Culgaith
7.7 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
6.2 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
23.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Roundthorn Country House
0.3 mi away
The Black Swan Inn Culgaith
9.2 mi away
1863 Bar Bistro Rooms
1863 Bar Bistro Rooms
#1 of 7 in Pooley Bridge
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laurel House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurel House

Property: Laurel House
Address: Laurel House Skirwith Road, Culgaith, Penrith CA10 1QL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith > Culgaith
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Culgaith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Laurel House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Laurel House is a delightful 18th-century farmhouse converted into a three bedroom luxurious bed & breakfast. Situated just 7 miles from J40 of the M6, we are ideally placed for an overnight stay on the way to Scotland, or as a base to explore the Lake Distict. All rooms are fully en-suite, with digital TVs, security safes, trouser presses, tea/coffee, hairdryers, large bath towels, dressing gowns and tub armchairs for maximum comfort. Awarded a Visit Britain 4 Star Gold rating and Breakfast Award in 2010, and a prestigous 5 Star rating in 2011, we can offer the weary traveller a good nights rest and a good start to the day. Laurel House has recently been voted the 2017 Luxury B & B of the Year (N>.West) by Industry Insight Monthly, and in 2016 was a Towergate Insurance Top Ten UK B & B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your Laurel House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laurel House Culgaith, Penrith

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing