We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Short Break in Culgaith”
Review of Laurel House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Laurel House
Ranked #1 of 3 Culgaith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ludlow
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A Short Break in Culgaith”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We spent four nights at Laurel House which was convenient for the north pennines and the Northern lakes without being in the hustle and bustle. Alex and Jeff are extremely attentive hosts, providing information and local knowledge with a very warm welcome. Everything we needed was provided, including advice on dining out, Mrs. Millers is a must! For most of our stay we were the only residents, but on one morning all rooms were occupied leading to the breakfast table being a little tight. We had a very nice stay.

Room Tip: We had Willow Room with a super king size bed, very comfortable, but led to the room becoming a litt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VandTLudlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sevgililerevi, Owner at Laurel House, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Our breakfast table has easily accommodated six people for over six years without complaint.
Our rooms are among some of the largest in Cumbria and the Willow room has a Superkingsize bed with a bedroom locker either side, giving plenty of room to move down the sides of the bed. There is also enough room to position the armchairs at the end of the bed should a guest wish to view television sitting down with a glass of wine rather than laying on the bed.We easily meet the stringent Visit Britain criterior of room layouts, which is one of the reasons we were awarded Five Stars by their professional assessor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
141
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Me and my beautiful wife have stayed in a few places over the years but have never experienced this level of comfort and feeling of being cosseted and pampered before , many reviews of Laurel House and Jeff and Alex read very well and they are deservedly so , we had a 2 night break to celebrate our wedding anniversary and felt extremely at home when we arrived and the room was impeccably clean , fresh and beautifully presented with luxurious fittings and super luxurious bed , its little touches like quality teas , home made bread and scones , and a breakfast - oh what a breakfast , it will fill you until tea time ( again with the best quality ingredients ) , Jeff also recommended Mrs Millers for a meal and very kindly booked us a table and the food was impeccably prepared and the quality is amazing and is extremely well priced for this level of cuisine - i would certainly recommend you eat here , all in all one of the best weekends away we have had and we will be returning to stay with Jeff and Alex , cant fault anything about laurel house or its hosts, they made us feel special whilst we were there , a big THANK YOU to you both .

Room Tip: we stayed in the rowan room - big bed , absolutely superb , quiet and luxurious
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcbusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sevgililerevi, Owner at Laurel House, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We are pleased that we were able to make your special weekend an occasion to remember. We look forward to you staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

My partner and I stayed at Laurel House for the second time in November and once again had the most wonderful weekend. The Gourmet Weekend was excellent, fantastic food, fantastic venue, fantastic people both at Mrs Millers and also Laurel House. Jeff and Alex are really great hosts and really looked after us again. Will absolutely be visiting again early 2014 and looking forward to staying in one of the comfy, gorgeous rooms. I cannot stress how truly enchanting Laurel House and it's owners are - you have to try it to understand!

Apologies to Jeff for interrupting his Doctor Who viewing when we came back on the Saturday evening, he was more forgiving than I would have been :).

Thanks again and see you soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GHARR100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sevgililerevi, Owner at Laurel House, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Thanks for your review and kind comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your Gourmet weekend and look forward to meeting you again next year.
As for Doctor Who - with time travel I can watch it again yesterday!!.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We have stayed at Laurel house now for a few years and Jeff and Alex make the weekends second to none every time, it is just like being at home, thanks to you both. We have also found that Culgaith is very near and easily accessible to the our beloved Lakes and more walks than you will ever walk.We have been to the Gourmet weekends and enjoyed the eating out at Mrs Millers another little gem.If you wish to be spoilt then Laurel House is the place to go.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sevgililerevi, Owner at Laurel House, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thanks for the great review. It is always a pleasure to welcome returning guests, especially those who we regard as friends. We look forward to you staying with again in the New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Arran, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

From reception to farewell, Alex and Jeff made all six of us extremely welcome. Laurel House is delightful, well-equipped and comfortable. The gourmet aspect of the week-end was organised by the Fazals in local restaurants providing dinner on the three evenings of our stay. This was a great success. However, it must not be overlooked that the Fazals provided a truly gourmet breakfast. Alex and Jeff were founts of useful, local information, which all added to making our week-end a great pleasure.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monika G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sevgililerevi, Owner at Laurel House, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Thanks for your review and kind comments. It was a genuine pleasure to have you staying with us, and we look forward to meeting you all again at your next get together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London.England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed here for the second time recently en route for Scotland and Alex and Jeff's B & B is still as excellent as before.Their hospitality,starting with a very welcome pot of tea and scones,is generous and convivial and they have a wealth of knowledge about the locality which is very helpful to their guests. The rooms are equipped with just about everything one might need,even down to a torch if returning from the pub at night! Very comfortable beds,huge en suite,fantastic breakfast- it deserves the five star rating. The pub down the road serves very good food,but if you are there on a Friday or Saturday, I would highly recommend dining at Mrs Millers,about a 10 minute walk down the road. Excellent food.
We would definitely return and I urge others to explore this beautiful part of the UK.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WestLondonTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sevgililerevi, Owner at Laurel House, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thanks for your review -it's always great to welcome guests back to Laurel House. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 30 August 2013

I stayed for one night in August 2013 in the Willow Room with my girlfriend. All I can say about Laurel House is wow! One night was simply not enough. Besides the location of Culgaith (a wonderful countryside setting for all those interested in the countryside and nature), we were surprised by the catering for both a young couple and those looking to explore the surrounding area. Upon arrival, Alex and Jeff both were warm and friendly, we were treated to an English High Tea including homemade scones (made by Jeff). Alex and Jeff made us feel very welcome and were very friendly and helpful, they were knowledgeable on everything from where to walk the next day and where to have an evening meal.The bedroom itself was brilliant, the bed was comfortable and the room was extremely clean and well presented. The en-suite was very nice and included a large shower with lots of hot water! Breakfast was delicious, and everything was cooked and presented incredibly! From fried bread (again made by Jeff) to local fresh produce, every mouthful was enjoyable. The two dogs are also very well behaved and enjoyable to be around, they also contributed to the relaxing atmosphere that was present at Laurel House. I could not have asked for a more perfect place to stay, I will certainly be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GGBXI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sevgililerevi, Owner at Laurel House, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Laurel House. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your short stay with us, and your comments are very much appreciated. We look foward to you staying again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Culgaith
23.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
4.7 mi away
Roundthorn Country House
3.3 mi away
Edenhall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
The Black Swan
The Black Swan
#1 of 5 in Ravenstonedale
522 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Black Swan Inn Culgaith
5.9 mi away
Crosby Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laurel House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurel House

Property: Laurel House
Address: Laurel House Skirwith Road, Culgaith CA10 1QL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Culgaith
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Culgaith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Laurel House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Laurel House is a delightful 18th-century farmhouse converted into a three bedroom luxurious bed & breakfast. Situated just 7 miles from J40 of the M6, we are ideally placed for an overnight stay on the way to Scotland, or as a base to explore the Lake Distict. All rooms are fully en-suite, with digital TVs, security safes, trouser presses, tea/coffee, hairdryers, large bath towels, dressing gowns and tub armchairs for maximum comfort. Awarded a Visit Britain 4 Star Gold rating and Breakfast Award in 2010, and a prestigous 5 Star rating in 2011, we can offer the weary traveller a good nights rest and a good start to the day. Laurel House has recently been voted the 2017 Luxury B & B of the Year (N>.West) by Industry Insight Monthly, and in 2016 was a Towergate Insurance Top Ten UK B & B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Laurel House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laurel House Culgaith/Penrith

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing