We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mapua Chalets
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Parkside Motel(Richmond)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gladstone Motel(Richmond)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveller rating
35
12
6
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
35
12
6
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolden bayabel tasmangreat value for moneyamazing viewsgreat poolfriendly hostsenjoy the viewnight staywashing machinebedroombbqaccommodationtakakapremisesamenitiesdeckdelight
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 53 reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2011

We stayed at Mapua for one night, and really wished we had booked a few extra nights here. First of all, Andy and Karen are great hosts - though we arrived late at night, Karen came to greet us and made really helpful suggestions for our next day ahead, and the next morning, Andy stopped by to make sure we were taken care of.

We found the chalet nicer than expected, and just really enjoyed the serenity of the area and the amazing views! I happened to wake up early enough to see the sun rise and the views were particularly beautiful since Mapua is up on a hill. We loved the little picnic bench outside our room and took advantage of it by having our morning coffee outside.

Another plus is its location. The chalets are just a little bit away from a quaint little town which we didn't have a lot of time to explore other than to have breakfast at the wharf. We wished we had more time to see more of the wharf - there were a few art shops, an ice cream/sandwich shop, a restaurant where we had breakfast and I think, a brewery. Also it's close to Abel Tasman which made it easy to get to when we left to go there in the morning. Will definitely come back on our second NZ trip, and also take Andy's advice and explore Golden Bay on horseback!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank millie_expat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mapuachalets, Owner at Mapua Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2011

It was really lovely to meet you guys and we are pleased you enjoyed your short stay in our lovely region. Thanks for taking the time to write a review on us. We will look forward to seeing you both again sometime in the future.
Best wishes,
Andy and Karen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2011

My husband and I stayed at Mapua Chalets for 5 weeks ın Nov 2010, whıle doıng some local landscapıng work. The Chalets are rustıc lookıng and clean, wıth all the amenıtıes needed for a comfortable stay that don't leave you feelıng out of date. ıe WıFı, flat screen tv, BBQ etc. Durıng our stay they were just fınıshıng the pool area, but we were stıll able to enjoy ıt. The prıvate spa wıth an ıncredıble vıew was memorable. The Chalets are a short bıke rıde (whıch were lent to us) or drıve to Mapua whıch ıs a great lıttle town to wander around ın.
Andy and Karen are amazıng hosts! If we needed anythıng ın our chalet they were very prompt on gettıng ıt for us but were never ıntrusıve. They are so proud of the area they lıve ın and know ıt well; they planned many thıngs for us to do whıch was nıce because we dıdn't have alot of spare tıme. Thank you for makıng our New Zealand trıp amazıng...
Sorry guys ıt took so long to wrıte a revıew as we're stıll on our around the world trıp. Hope your well....

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kclam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

The chalets are located on the hills above Mapua, with great views over the Nelson bay, especially from the spa pool. I also enjoyed the pre-booked massage. My chalet was clean and tidy, with all the amenities: Sky, flat screen tv, radio, good cooking facilities.The chalets are quite private. Andy and Karen are great hosts. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank jessie255118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2011

We had a long stay here to explore the Nelson Tasman region. It was exactly what we were looking for - clean, tidy & warm chalet. Big plasma tv with sky, internet, kitchenette for cooking. It's small but cozy. Hot tub and pool, views to Nelson & surrounding area. Great base for Abel Tasman &Golden Bay. Andy & Karen were great for recommending places to visit and eat. Do a bike tour of the local wineries - get a platter of local food and sit in the sun - Andy & Karen even gave us a loan of bikes!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kellbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mapuachalets, Owner at Mapua Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2011

Hi Louise and Keith,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your kind review of your time here. It was a real pleasure to host you here and lovely to get to know you both. We hope you are enjoying your fantastic trip around Godzone country.
Best wishes,
Andy and Karen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2011

My partner and I stayed in one of the one bedroom chalets for two nights and had a very relaxing time and would definitely recommend staying here.

On arrvial Andy came and introduced himself and made us feel very welcome. Our chalet had great views over the bay to Nelson and the hot-tub was a fantastic bonus.

The chalet itself was well equipped and the perfect size for the 2 of us to relax in.

Overall we had a great couple of days and would definitely stay here again the next time we're in New Zealand.

And thanks to Andy and Karen for your help with organising our Abel Tasman trip - very useful to have tips from locals on what to do / where to go!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hoodstar29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews