We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A slice of paradise at a decent price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mapua Chalets

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mapua Chalets
Ranked #3 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Mapua
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A slice of paradise at a decent price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Our family of four stayed at the Mapua chalets for four nights. Firstly, our hosts were very friendly and obliging. The chalet was very comfortable and clean with views that were beautiful by day and spectacular by night. We will also remember soaking in the hot tub and absorbing the scenery, for years to come. The chalets feels remote and yet you are in a superb location to explore the region and that gorgeous Mapua wharf is only 5 mins drive away. This place gets a huge thumbs up from us!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamsin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    12
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
28
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

We stayed at Mapua for one night, and really wished we had booked a few extra nights here. First of all, Andy and Karen are great hosts - though we arrived late at night, Karen came to greet us and made really helpful suggestions for our next day ahead, and the next morning, Andy stopped by to make sure we were taken care of.

We found the chalet nicer than expected, and just really enjoyed the serenity of the area and the amazing views! I happened to wake up early enough to see the sun rise and the views were particularly beautiful since Mapua is up on a hill. We loved the little picnic bench outside our room and took advantage of it by having our morning coffee outside.

Another plus is its location. The chalets are just a little bit away from a quaint little town which we didn't have a lot of time to explore other than to have breakfast at the wharf. We wished we had more time to see more of the wharf - there were a few art shops, an ice cream/sandwich shop, a restaurant where we had breakfast and I think, a brewery. Also it's close to Abel Tasman which made it easy to get to when we left to go there in the morning. Will definitely come back on our second NZ trip, and also take Andy's advice and explore Golden Bay on horseback!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank millie_expat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mapuachalets, Owner at Mapua Chalets, responded to this review, 25 November 2011
It was really lovely to meet you guys and we are pleased you enjoyed your short stay in our lovely region. Thanks for taking the time to write a review on us. We will look forward to seeing you both again sometime in the future.
Best wishes,
Andy and Karen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2011

My husband and I stayed at Mapua Chalets for 5 weeks ın Nov 2010, whıle doıng some local landscapıng work. The Chalets are rustıc lookıng and clean, wıth all the amenıtıes needed for a comfortable stay that don't leave you feelıng out of date. ıe WıFı, flat screen tv, BBQ etc. Durıng our stay they were just fınıshıng the pool area, but we were stıll able to enjoy ıt. The prıvate spa wıth an ıncredıble vıew was memorable. The Chalets are a short bıke rıde (whıch were lent to us) or drıve to Mapua whıch ıs a great lıttle town to wander around ın.
Andy and Karen are amazıng hosts! If we needed anythıng ın our chalet they were very prompt on gettıng ıt for us but were never ıntrusıve. They are so proud of the area they lıve ın and know ıt well; they planned many thıngs for us to do whıch was nıce because we dıdn't have alot of spare tıme. Thank you for makıng our New Zealand trıp amazıng...
Sorry guys ıt took so long to wrıte a revıew as we're stıll on our around the world trıp. Hope your well....

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kclam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2011

The chalets are located on the hills above Mapua, with great views over the Nelson bay, especially from the spa pool. I also enjoyed the pre-booked massage. My chalet was clean and tidy, with all the amenities: Sky, flat screen tv, radio, good cooking facilities.The chalets are quite private. Andy and Karen are great hosts. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank jessie255118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2011

We had a long stay here to explore the Nelson Tasman region. It was exactly what we were looking for - clean, tidy & warm chalet. Big plasma tv with sky, internet, kitchenette for cooking. It's small but cozy. Hot tub and pool, views to Nelson & surrounding area. Great base for Abel Tasman &Golden Bay. Andy & Karen were great for recommending places to visit and eat. Do a bike tour of the local wineries - get a platter of local food and sit in the sun - Andy & Karen even gave us a loan of bikes!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kellbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mapuachalets, Owner at Mapua Chalets, responded to this review, 5 May 2011
Hi Louise and Keith,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your kind review of your time here. It was a real pleasure to host you here and lovely to get to know you both. We hope you are enjoying your fantastic trip around Godzone country.
Best wishes,
Andy and Karen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2011

My partner and I stayed in one of the one bedroom chalets for two nights and had a very relaxing time and would definitely recommend staying here.

On arrvial Andy came and introduced himself and made us feel very welcome. Our chalet had great views over the bay to Nelson and the hot-tub was a fantastic bonus.

The chalet itself was well equipped and the perfect size for the 2 of us to relax in.

Overall we had a great couple of days and would definitely stay here again the next time we're in New Zealand.

And thanks to Andy and Karen for your help with organising our Abel Tasman trip - very useful to have tips from locals on what to do / where to go!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoodstar29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2011

High expectations from all reviews, but we ranked it the worst accommodation of 14 places we stayed in NZ. Sure location is good, hot tub and pool, but chalet was pretty tired and run down with broken pots and kitchen needed a facelift., shower pretty basic miserable affair. Sitting and bedrooms needed refurb or good clean and dirty laundry room. Experienced much better for less.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JSL60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mapuachalets, Owner at Mapua Chalets, responded to this review, 17 February 2011
So sorry to hear you were not totally satisfied with your stay here. You can be sure that we will address the issues you have raised and appreciate this feedback. Sometimes too many great reviews can raise expectation to an unrealistic level for the price bracket of the accommodation. Thanks for the reality check!
Regards,
Andy and Karen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mapua
1.3 mi away
Pine Hill Lodge
Pine Hill Lodge
#1 of 2 in Ruby Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
4.4 mi away
Appleby House & Rabbit Island Huts
1.5 mi away
Accent House Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Motueka TOP 10 Holiday Park
9.1 mi away
Equestrian Lodge Motel
Equestrian Lodge Motel
#1 of 5 in Motueka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
9.0 mi away
Avalon Manor Motel
Avalon Manor Motel
#3 of 5 in Motueka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mapua Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mapua Chalets

Property: Mapua Chalets
Address: 172 Seaton Valley Road, Mapua 7173, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Mapua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Mapua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mapua Chalets 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in an alpine spa retreat just minutes from Tasman's pristine beaches and wineries. Our self contained cottages are nestled on a secluded ridge with expansive views out across Tasman Bay, and the Richmond ranges. Enjoy private use of our stunning spa pool and swimming pool. All our chalets are fully equipped with 5 channel SKY TV, 32" Flat Screen TV, and free wireless internet. We offer a comprehensive activity booking service. After an active day how about a relaxing on-site therapeutic massage? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Mapua Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mapua Chalets New Zealand - Nelson-Tasman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing