We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tidy, high quality cottages, with nice views, surrounded by well-maintained gardens”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bronte Country Estate
Ranked #2 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Mapua
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
84 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Tidy, high quality cottages, with nice views, surrounded by well-maintained gardens”
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We stayed for several nights in December at the Bronte Country Estate on the Abel-Tasman coast, and were very pleased with our choice. This is obviously a high quality and rigorously-maintained establishment. We had two cottages side by side, one for ourselves and one for our children, ages 8 and 11. The cottages are scrupulously clean, comfortable, and in very good condition, decorated traditionally. Someone clearly takes loving pride in the gardens as well, as these are immaculate. BCE is blessed too with a good position, with very agreeable water views. Our cottage came with a nice selection of food and drink from the area, which was a lovely and welcome touch. Breakfast is served at the main building, on a sort of verandah, and it is a very pleasant spot, the food is all homemade and excellent. You can also select DVDs from the collection at the main resicence, and our children enjoyed these. The only odd note came when we went to a local restaurant for dinner one evening, the reservation made by our hosts and on their recommendation. On arrival we were greeted by the hostess or owner in a tart manner, saying she was expecting us to be late, because we'd been so late arriving at the Bronte two nights before. The remark seemed out of place, made us feel rather unwelcome, and gave the impression that our hosts had complained about us. It was rather too bad because n every other way, our experience was quite positive and pleasant. Nevermind, I still recommend the Bronte for visitors to this lovely area.

Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank beauchamptraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielFraser, Manager at Bronte Country Estate, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
It was really nice meeting you and your family in December, really pleased you all enjoyed Bronte and the surrounding area. The Shoreline suites are ideal rooms for families and couples travelling together. I am sorry to hear about the bad attitude you received from one of the local restaurant. We book the local restaurants a lot during the summer months on behalf of our guests and we have a very good working relationship with them. My top priority is that my guests get well looked after and receive the best service possible at these establishment, so it would never be in my interest to say such a comment. I expect the waitress was tied and didn't think about what she was saying at he time. Anyway, it was a pleasure to have your family stay and I hope you stay with us again. Many thanks, Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    11
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
18
79
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We spent ten days in April in a paradise called Bronte Country Estate in Nelson, New Zealand.
From our villa there we watched the tide flow back and forth each day beneath a panorama of dark green forests, light green hills and purplish blue mountains.As if this was not enough our villa was luxurious and spacious with every comfort and need provided for and with first class services available at all times.
Bronte has three other endearing advantages: it is surrounded by a very peaceful rural world of orchards, vineyards and farms; it is within a few miles of some very good restaurants and for those who like a more active life there are opportunities close by on the beaches, on the water, on the golf courses and on the hiking and walking trails.
We live permanently now in Australia but have lived in Italy, Switzerland, England and we have travelled in many other countries . It is with these experiences in mind that we recommend Bronte as an eletist haven comparable with anything to be found anywhere in the world.
We rank it as being of international 5 Star quality.

Room Tip: Chhoose any
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RAYMOND M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielFraser, Manager at Bronte Country Estate, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Thank you very much for your wonderful review. It was really nice to have you both stay so long and enjoy the area again after been away for so long. Hope to see you both back again soon. Many thanks, Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We held a small wedding ( 19 people) at the Bronte Country Estate in March 2012. From start to finish Daniel (the manager) was helpful, friendly and supportive. The Bronte is in a beautiful peaceful location with sea and coastal views and comfortable accomadation. Our wedding plans were well executed including providing great catering ( delicious food by Kristin Harrison) , a lovley maraque for dinner and a well managed event from start to finish. It was a special day and we are grateful to Daniel and his team for helping us create such a wonderful day. I would highly recommend this as an intimate wedding venue or for any special occasion.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miriam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielFraser, Manager at Bronte Country Estate, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Thank you Gareth and Miriam for your review. It was a very successful evening and I'm please all our guests had a wonderful evening and enjoyed the lodge dinner our chef created for your special occasion. I hope to see you both again when come back to visit the area again. Many thanks Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

The Bronte Estate provides superb accommodation, ideally situated almost in the sea, with truly epic breakfasts in wonderful surroundings. To lie in bed and gaze out at the sea lagoon was magical.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielFraser, Manager at Bronte Country Estate, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Thank you very much for your review. We often get comments about our wonderful location to all the attractions in the Nelson area and how close our accommodation is to the foreshore of the beautiful Waimea Estuary. We hope to see you back at Bronte one day soon. Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

My son and I stayed at Bronte Country Estate for two nights in January as part of a 15-day trip through the South Island. We were blown away by the spectacular setting, elegant and comfortable accomodations, and phenomenal service. Our suite felt very private and featured its own deck with beautiful views of the estuary, birdlife and mountains beyond. We enjoyed a delicious breakfast each morning on the deck of the main house, as well as swims in the pool each evening before going out to dinner. The location is ideal for anyone who plans to visit Abel Tasman Park (about a half-hour away).

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katharine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielFraser, Manager at Bronte Country Estate, responded to this review, 26 February 2012
Thanks Kathy for your lovely review. I'm really pleased you and Alex made the most of our wonderful facilities here at Bronte. I hope Alex is doing well in Perth (I'm sure he is). Hope to see you again. Many thanks, Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Arrived at Bronte to be greeted by Margaret Fraser who showed us to our suite overlooking a beautiful estuary. Wonderful accomodations, very clean, updated, and super comfortable. Daily breakfasts were amazing and included all homemade items right from Bronte. Estate was beautifully groomed with such a peaceful setting upon orchards, gardens, and very nice pool. Daniel, the Estate Manager, was very helpful and accomodating with the area touring suggestions that were so much fun ! Would stay again anytime !

Room Tip: All the rooms on the Estate appeared to be a great choice depending on size of family traveling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielFraser, Manager at Bronte Country Estate, responded to this review, 26 February 2012
Thank you so much Mo and Andy for review. It's was really nice meeting you and the rest of your family over Christmas. I hope you all have another family reunion here some day soon. Best of luck for the coming year. Kind regards, Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nz
1 review
Reviewed 20 January 2012

WOW! What an amazingly beautiful piece of paradise! We were warmly greeted by Daniel who showed us to our shoreline suite and what breath taking views of the water which is only metres away from our front door!
We walked through their beautiful gardens to the heated swimming pool which was lovely and secluded.
Daniel was very knowledgeable about the area and history and recommended several local restaurants to dine at.
We would/will definitely recommend staying here to everyone!! It is just an outstanding property with warm hospitality!!
Thanks once again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janita n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielFraser, Manager at Bronte Country Estate, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
A wonderful review, thank you very much. Pleased you enjoyed the lovely garden and facilities at Bronte. It makes all the hard work worth while when we have such lovely feedback. Thank you!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mapua
10.8 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
7.9 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
0.4 mi away
Atholwood Luxury Country Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Almyra Waterfront Lodge
16.1 mi away
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Kaiteriteri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
2.6 mi away
Appleby House & Rabbit Island Huts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bronte Country Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bronte Country Estate

Property: Bronte Country Estate
Address: Bronte Road East | off Coastal Highway 60, Mapua 7173, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Mapua
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Mapua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Bronte Country Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bronte Country Estate is exclusive luxury accommodation in a tranquil natural setting. Nestled on the edge of the Waimea Estuary on Nelson’s historic Bronte Peninsula, Bronte is surrounded by its extensive mature gardens, family-run vineyard and apple orchards.As Nelson's premier 5-star waterfront property, Bronte Country Estate is New Zealand owned and operated, with five purpose-built suites and villas set apart from the homestead. Dressing rooms, spa baths and kitchenettes provide the ultimate in luxury and comfort.Guests can enjoy the meandering gardens and parkland, heated swimming pool, tennis court, petanque, mountain bikes, and canoes and the seasonal beauty of the Estate’s 65 acre coastal orchard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bronte Country Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bronte Country Estate Mapua, New Zealand - Nelson-Tasman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing