We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too many problems”
Review of Hotel Ostrov

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ostrov
Ranked #1 of 6 Tisa B&B and Inns
Prague
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Too many problems”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel in autumn 2013 and booked via spa provider.
Pros:
- location in the nature, close to the "Tisske steny" and other rock formations
- good chef in the restaurant
- pool

Cons:
- no mobile phone signal
- outdated, even broken furniture, the whole hotel gave us an impression that the management does not invest much in maintenance
- the restaurant (as we were told) does not accept credit cards and if you wish to add your bill to the your room`s bill, they will not provide you with a copy of your receipt which you sign when you finish your meal (as is a standard in other hotels). What it means in practice is that e.g.: if you go there for a dinner on Friday, you are presented with the bill on Sunday (when you check out) and if there is any inconsistency or even a mistake (charged for more or got someone else bill, etc.) you do not have any proof in hand.
- receptionist Mr. Pavel: As stated above we booked our stay via well-tried online spa provider and paid in advance for three spa treatments (including herbal bath in our room) for each of us. We also indicated that we were traveling with a baby and thus needed more space in the room for the child`s cot.
Upon arrival we were greeted by Mr. Pavel (first name) who told us that the HOTEL DOES NOT have an ELEVATOR and we have to climb the very steep stairs with the stroller to reach our room. It was an inconvenience, but since we are young and rather athletic we did not care that much and walked upstairs to be showed our room. To our surprise we found out that the room was so small, that if there was a child`s cot, there was literally no place to fit our luggage and the stroller into the room. Also we realized that it was very hot inside the room. As we tried to open windows, we found out that it led to the balcony overlooking noisy restaurant terrace (not very suitable if you have a baby with you) but - more importantly - did not have any railing. We were really scared that our active toddler would fall out of the window!
Then I realized that though we booked room with a bathtub (for the spa treatment), there was only a shower. I went to the reception to inquire about this and was given absolutely incredible answer: "It is your problem, since you booked your stay via the spa provider and did not contacted us directly." I replied that I booked and paid for the spa treatment so I was expecting to get it and the reply came: "I do not have any free room with bathtub to put you, so sorry". I tried to call the spa provider, but there was no mobile phone signal. The receptionist witnessed it and after a while offered a fruit basket or a bottle of wine as a compensation for this "small hiccup" of the hotel.
Well, since I believed that there was no other room and was rather willing to finally start our vacation, I agreed that the bottle of wine is a nice gesture compensating one (actually two) missed spa treatments. On my way back to the room, I told the receptionist that I would contact the spa provider anyway since I was curious and wanted to know why the problem actually occurred. Mr. Pavel then called me back, saying that, actually, HE HAS A FREE ROOM and took as to adjacent building WITH an ELEVATOR. Later on I had a conversation with a cleaning lady who told me that the hotel is not full at all and met a couple of people who also switched to another room.
I must say that I was very puzzled by this behavior and by the fact that I was repeatedly lied to. I was then a bit unwilling to trust the staff of the hotel. Though the nature in Ostrov is nice, I do not think it is worth the troubles we had and think that it would be better if spa providers look for another partner.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomIvanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OndrejK25, Manager at Hotel Ostrov, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear TomIvanka,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we appreciate your feedback. I was very disappointed to hear about the issues that you experience because we always put our guests first and do our best to comply with thier wishes.

Please be assured that we accept credit cards at our restaurant as well as at the reception. Also a restaurant receipt with a breakdown of all items consumed is available to our guest anytime during their stay and we enclose that to their hotel bill when they check out.
The hotel was fully occupied during your visit, therefore it was difficult to arrange a room matching your requirements when booking through the online spa provider.

I will look into the matter of how the team assisted you with your concerns on this occasion and take the appropriate measures to prevent any future occurrence with the spa provider.

Kind Regards from Hotel Ostrov

Ondrej Kulic
hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    27
    11
    9
    3
See reviews for
20
40
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We need some weekend off in the middle of nowhere and that was this hotel.
Room was very spatious with the fantastic view over the rocks. Bathroom was warm and cozy with all amenities that I usually miss in hotels. Dinners were tasty, but portions for ladies. :o)
Spa area was ok (not its design), but water in jacuzzi was quite cold.
Anyway, I could recommend this hotel and if we had some more time, we will come here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

If you need a place to relax and hike in the Czech mountains. If you don't mind (or even prefer) the lack of GSM coverage (but internet access is ok). If you like good Czech food served by very friendly staff, then this ís a perfect place to stay. The facilities are ok. The rooms (at least mine) are very large and well equipped without approaching luxury. And - let me repeat that - the staff is very friendly and helpful - not something that every hotel in this region can claim.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jørgen Bo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

It´s quite simply - this hotel is "nothing bad, nothing special". One of its best features is a good location in nature. It may be perfect for people who want to escape from the rush of ordinary day - this is possible a.o. thanks to lack of GSM coverage...so nobody will have chance to bother you (on the other hand you won´t have the possibility to call if you need it). Small error - insufficient profesionality of the waiters in the hotel restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mlada Boleslav, Czech Republic
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

I really love location of this hotel. You even dont have a opportunity to catch cell phone signal. The rooms are big enought for family with one child. They have restaurant there with very tasty food, but the portion could be bigger (at least for men :-) ). Staff was very helpfull, friendly and well informed.

What I dislike is cold. They dont heat enought and mornings, the breakfest room and public spaces were very very cold.

Second dislike is for wellness area - size. They have a 30something rooms and just 6!! relaxing beds in wellness zone.....

Room Tip: Rooms at the end of corridor are bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

The hotel is beautifully renovated and compliments the surrounding pristine nature. Rooms are clean and spacious and offer charming views of sandstone rocks, forrests and lakes.
We stayed in January which is a low season for the hotel but it was perfect for us. If you want privacy, not a place crowded with people, winter at Hotel Ostrov is for you. Thanks to low season, we were up-graded to a better apartment (for lower price) and enjoyed the wellness (pool and whirlpool) all for ourselves. The rocks sprinkled with snow made for a picturesque view, our son enjoyed sledging and the fireplace in the restaurant warmed us up after our winter walks.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Huggie02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teplice, Czech Republic
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

If you are seeking for some place hidden of nowhere surrounded by the famous nature with super cousine, service and relax then the Hotel Ostrov is the right choice for you.
Stayed there as a couple for a weekend and we were happy with everything there. The hotel location is fantastic with the view of "Tiske skaly" - those rock cliffs are both amazing to view or to climb.
the hotel focuses on local Czech cousine and specialities and we enjoyed it much altogether with the atmosphere. The choice of wines was great!
There is a dedicated relax zone with pool, sauna, massage saloon so you can relax after the day beeing outside.
The rooms are spacious and cosy. i would choose those corner rooms facing the pond and kids playground as those are the most spacious and have spectacular view! Especially in the morning when you wake up...
You can hike around the hotel in the rock area or you can go to the Sneznik view tower to observe the whole area.
The service was excellent and the staff was always very helpful. You can also choose some of the seasons packages which offers the higher value - check the hotel website.

Room Tip: The rooms are spacious and cosy. i would choose those corner rooms facing the pond and kids playgrou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bronekTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tisa hotels
1.9 mi away
Pension Ctyrlistek
Pension Ctyrlistek
#3 of 6 in Tisa
7 reviews
1.4 mi away
No photo provided
Refugio
#2 of 6 in Tisa
10 reviews
1.5 mi away
Restaurant _ Penzion Zlata Koruna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ostrov? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ostrov

Property: Hotel Ostrov
Address: Ostrov 12, Tisa 403 36, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Usti nad Labem Region > Tisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Tisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Ostrov 4.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the rocky Tisa Walls area, this 4-star hotel is situated in Ostrov. It offers spacious rooms and suites with tea/coffee makers and balconies. Free wired internet and free parking is provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HRS and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Ostrov reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing