We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything on our wish list!”
Review of The Garden Room

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Peaslake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Garden Room
Ranked #2 of 2 Peaslake B&B and Inns
Hull
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Everything on our wish list!”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Excellent, comfortable value for money annexe. Brian and Marilyn were first class hosts and Max the dog was delightful. Orienteering very close by so self-serve breakfast before our runs (with leftovers for pack-up) served us very well. Extremely comfortable bed, microwave to heat some supper, hot shower - superb. Enjoyed having a stroll around Shere and looking up film locations. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajwardHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gardenroom, Owner at The Garden Room, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Thank you for your kind and positive remarks. It was nice for us to welcome guests from a different special interest group and learn a little about the sport. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
35
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

We were looking for and B and B, in an area that I know really well - I lived in Surrey for 43 years. This is much better because it is a detached small converted cottage adjacent to the owners' detached bungalow, in a gravelled, slightly potholed private road, just above picturesque Peaslake. The owners are friendly, efficient, caring people and the place is far more usable than either a B and B or a hotel, because you can come and go as you please, at any time. The kitchen/breakfast area is extremely well serviced and the foods for breakfast are excellent (there is enough left over for a snack lunch easily). It is very clean - we stayed for 7 nights and the bedlinen was changed in the middle of the stay and the towels twice! It is very quiet at night and you can wake to the sound of green woodpeckers calling and other country birds are there in plenty. There is a nice well-behaved dog, but he is segregated from your quarters and you can have as little or as much to do with him as you wish. The weather was awful during most of our stay but the independent electric heating makes it very cosy. We were sorry to leave, we shall return on future Surrey visits and recommend it without reservation.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deereleap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gardenroom, Owner at The Garden Room, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Thank you for your very kind remarks, we're pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back later in the year.
Your comments regarding the road repairs are noted and next month you will find us all out with our rakes doing the necessary work - a bi-annual event which is also an excuse to share a pint!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 January 2013

We spent 3 nights over the Christmas period in this beautiful setting.
The welcome, accommodation and facilities were excellent.
Our enjoyment was enhanced by seeing some of Brian's atmospheric landscape
photographs and the opportunity to purchase some card reproductions.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorks
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

An amazing and very comfortable self-contained facility. The best of all worlds - B&B service with self catering convenience - a real home from home. Superb location [suitable for business or pleasure]. Brian and Marilyn are really friendly and accommodating hosts. This place is hard to fault and all for a price that represents the best value for money I have ever experienced.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gardenroom, Owner at The Garden Room, responded to this review, 30 December 2012
Thank you for your very kind comments. We were so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us - it was nice to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in July. All the previous comments say for themselves how nice it is. Accommodation clean and well stocked with toiletries and various breakfast foods as well as delicious cake! The owners Brian and Marilyn are very welcoming and nothing is too much bother. A lovely spot in the Surrey hills, and very peaceful. Just a shame the weather wasn't a bit better. Would definately stay again if back in the area. Thanks for a lovely break! :-)

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank A F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gardenroom, Owner at The Garden Room, responded to this review, 27 September 2012
Marilyn and Brian would like to say how delighted and grateful we are to all our guests who have taken the trouble to write such generous and complimentary reviews of our efforts here at The Garden Room in Peaslake.
We want all our guests to have a comfortable and enjoyable experience here with us and have always taken the view that we should treat guests as we would wish to be treated ourselves. This approach seems to work, indeed many of our clients have become more than guests and we have made many dear friends in the course of the last few years.
Once again we thank you all most sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

What a lovely little spot in the Surrey Hills countryside.

The hosts, Brian & Marilyn, were instantly warm and welcoming, making us feel at home. The accommodation was immaculately presented and comfortable, well stocked with the usual teas and coffees- plus some fresh cake if you were to get a bit peckish!

We only stayed for one night, but wished we could have stayed for more. Brian was very helpful in suggesting where to go for dinner and we followed his advice dining at The Hurtwood Inn pub/hotel (good food, reasonably priced) in the neighbouring Peaslake village. As we wanted to drink (a rare night away from the baby, so an absolute must) Brian most kindly offered to ferry us to and from the village, which was very much appreciated after a couple of bottles of merlot! Owing to the idyllic location, we thoroughly enjoyed a peaceful night's sleep and restful late morning, topped off by a delicious breakfast of fresh hot croissants delivered to our door.

A delightful find and highly recommended. We'll be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Finding something to say about The Garden Room that hasn't already been said by others is not easy, so I would like to reiterate all those positive comments and to say that, from my point of view as a single business traveller, this is just about as perfect a set up as I have experienced in more than twenty years of regular travel, staying away from home for up to twenty times a year. I appreciate quality, comfort and the privacy provided by independent access. The ability to self cater at a modest level is extremely useful and the quiet and picturesque setting is an added bonus. Charming and helpful hosts put the icing on the cake. Many thanks to Marilyn and Brian and congratulations on such a well thought out accommodation.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank photochromatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peaslake
2.0 mi away
De Vere Wotton House
De Vere Wotton House
#2 of 8 in Dorking
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
6.8 mi away
Asperion
Asperion
#1 of 11 in Guildford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
4.0 mi away
Thatchers Hotel
Thatchers Hotel
#3 of 3 in Leatherhead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Premier Inn Guildford North (A3) Hotel
7.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Guildford
Holiday Inn Guildford
#3 of 11 in Guildford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
9.0 mi away
Asperion Hillside Hotel
Asperion Hillside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Worplesdon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garden Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden Room

Property: The Garden Room
Address: Coltsfoot Crest Hill, Peaslake, Guildford GU5 9PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Guildford > Peaslake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Peaslake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrey is more than just commuter land. It has loads to offer. Why not stay with us while you get to know this surprising area.Just 7 miles from Guildford and in the heart of The Surrey Hills, a designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, The Garden Room is ideally placed for walking, cycling or simply exploring some of England's most beautiful countryside and villages.We offer a comfortable, modern, detached annexe with en-suite facilities and a comprehensive continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Garden Room Peaslake, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing