We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora
Nearby Hotels
US$277
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Allegro Isora(Playa de la Arena)
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Dragos Del Sur(Puerto de Santiago)
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Globales Tamaimo Tropical(Puerto de Santiago)
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Bahia Flamingo(Playa de la Arena)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Blue Sea Lagos de Cesar(Puerto de Santiago)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Ona El Marques(Santiago del Teide)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Barcelo Santiago(Puerto de Santiago)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (1,319)
Filter reviews
1,319 results
Traveller rating
1,038
178
62
28
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,038
178
62
28
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsred levelthe main hotelterrace restauranttapasliquid loungechateaubriandclarins toiletriesboutique hotelduo fine diningcold towelsbutler servicepillow menunespresso machinewhirlpool bathhalf boardfruit kebabscocktail hour
Filter
Updating list...
682 - 687 of 1,319 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Most amazing hotel.... Service, staff, facilities, all fab... I will DEFINATELY return... If you like a bit of luxury this is the hotel for you. The red level areas are lovely, adults only... Plenty of space, you can even get your sun glasses cleaned whilst sitting by the pool, free sun creams, after suns, water, tea, coffee... They have thought if everything and for those days when the weather is not so good there is a fab spa

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willowstravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana_Goti, Gerente at RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear willowstravellers,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Red Level for your recent holiday, as well as for the time you have taken to share your experience on TripAdvisor.

It is truly a pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed a lovely stay at our resort. We are delighted by your compliments on our facilities, staff and restaurant & bar service.

We hope to welcome you soon at Red Level.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

If you are consenting adults considering a truly relaxing child free holiday you will not be disappointed and in our opinion Red Level at Gran Melia is an option you really should indulge in. We experienced a personal relaxed check-in complemented by a dedicated professional team of staff headed by Alfredo, an amazingly high level of service which was evident throughout our entire stay. The rooms are wonderfully appointed, comfortable and exceptionally serviced, if you are feeling decadent opt for a whirlpool tub on your balcony, its worth it! Breakfast is excellent, again staff second to none, red level pool and garden service wonderful,a special mention to Barbara :), thank you. We will definitely be back, hopefully without my sore eyes!

Room Tip: Not telling you might steal it :) .... but sea view great and whirlpool balcony tub worth the extra.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana_Goti, Directora de Red Level at RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Lyn G
Thank you for chosen Red Level at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora.
I am delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that our rooms, services and staff (like Alfredo and Bárbara) meet your expectations.
We want that our guests have a memorable experience and I am thrilled to know that we did this for you.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit.

Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance and thank you for recommending us.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

What a fabulous hotel , great venue, beautiful pools , fantastic bars and restaurants , the staff make you feel special every hour of everyday. From your shades being cleaned to your bath being filled ready for a nice soak in the tub. Stay in the Red level ! From clarins toiletries to caviar and champagne for breakfast it's well worth the extra .

Room Tip: Go for red level junior suite or partial sea view
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana_Goti, Gerente at RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Louise S.

First we would like to thank you for your preference in selecting Red Level for your recent vacation, as well as for the time you have taken to share your experience on TripAdvisor.

It is truly a pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed a lovely stay at our resort. We are delighted by your compliments on our facilities, staff and restaurant & bar service.

We hope to welcome you back soon at Red Level
.
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We recently stayed at the Red Level for a 4 night Easter break.

Overall we did have a good stay, the rooms were very nice and well equipped. The pool and garden areas were also good and there was plenty of choice of sunbeds and they provided free sun cream which was a nice touch.

We stayed on the half board option which I think was probably the best option for us, however if you like a lunch a well it may well be worth you going for that.

In terms of value for money, the breakfast was excellent with a full continental buffet plus a choice of a-la-carte options from a semi-full English (bacons, eggs & beans) to omelettes, poached eggs, scrambled eggs with smoked salmon etc. Breakfast was from 7 to 11. Overall no complaints here, food was good, restaurant was nice inside or outside on the terrace overlooking the pool / sea/ gardens.

Evening Meals. These were expensive even with the discount we got for being half board.
Also same old story even though the hotel wasn't that full they were all booked out and hard to get into.
1st night we got a booking at 10pm in the Spanish tapas restaurant. Restaurant was 75% empty! This was our worst meal. No tapas on the menu??? The guy serving us was up himself a bit and not genuine in anyway. Even though it was almost empty on arrival we were left unattended for more than 5 minutes to be dealt with to check our reservation and take us to a table. Prices were very high for very mediocre food.3 of us had steaks and 1 had fish.
It was like something from faulty towers to be honest. This one guy came out and put a load of ingeriants into a bowl (some sort of salad i think) and made a hell of a racket mixing ithem together before serving the table next to us. Then before bringing out our steaks the wheeled over a dirty taty looking hostess trolly to flambe our steaks. He then wiped it clean(ish) in front of us (why not do this before wheeling it over??) brought our steaks out, left them on the trolly for about 10 minutes before some sweaty bloke came out and flambed them in some spanish whiskey.
Steams were ok, sauce was shocking. Bit like bisto with peppers in it!
Then the waiter tried to tell us they had a Michelin star. We all nearly burst out laughing. 25% off in here.
2nd night we had dinner in the french restuarant (in the red level where you have breakfast).
Food was good and so was the service. Again expensive for the standard but a good meal. I had the fish fondue which i regretted compared to the choices the rest of our party made. It was a bit like deep fried fish as you cook it in the fondue oil but you do get lots of dipping sauces. 50% off in here.
3rd night we went to the Japanese restaurant, the food and the service were excellent. Again expensive though. 40 euros for a sashimi set but it was very good. Probably our best meal. 25% off in here.
Last night we went to the Italian (included in half board). Food and service was very good again. Mixture of pizza, pasta and antipasti. You pay for your wine and also your coffee. Desert (tiramissu and panna cotta) was rubbish though, looked and tasted bought in. manufactured rubbish and not even as good as waitrose essential tiramisu.

In terms of lunches we ate at the pool restaurants where they offer sunbed service. 1st day we were starving and ate by the main pool (not in the red level) as red level was shut (shuts at 4pm we were they after checking at 4:05!). We had burgers (16 euros i think) and they were disgusting! Had better burgers from a kebab van.

Other days I had a baguette ranging from 16 euros to 22 euros (come with chips). Small baguette, lower quality than most supermarkets and no match on Pret for example. 1 day they brought me the wrong baguette, which they took away to get a new one. All in all it took 1 3/4 hours to get my baguette but they did offer it on the house for the delay (I didn't have to ask for this but i would have!).

Service. Maids were all very good and came for turn down service. They would even bring towels to you in the hot tub in the balcony (good job i wasn't naked though!).

Other staff were really hit and miss, some were excellent and others were absolutely awfull. I would say around 50/50.

Bottom line did I have a nice stay? Yes we all did.
Would I go again? Maybe for another short break but not longer than 3 to 4 nights, just to get some sun without a long flight. Would I try another resort 1st. You bet your life i would!
What didn't I like, 50/50 chance of good service.
The good: Free nespresso in the reception all day long. (chargeable in your room though 1 euro 50 - but i brought a box of pods from home as I had read about the charge on here (they are 25p to 33p each here!).
The Bad: Hit and miss service.
The Ugly: Very expensive for mediocre food. don't go for the food.
Also restaurant bookings, they should keep a certain number of tables back for Red Level guests, you pay extra for this level of comfort but get no priority in reservations.

Also the UK TV channels (they had BBC, ITV etc) had a great picture in the mornings but was un-watchable in the evenings / nigh time but that may have been to the cloudy / windy weather.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt_Newbury_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana_Goti, Gerente at RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Matt_Newbury_UK,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing Red Level and for taking your time to write this nice review regarding your recen stay at Red Level.

All you comments will be taken into consideration to improve our facilities, our food and our service.

We are hoping to welcome you one more time here at Red Level.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed in the red level for 2 nights at the end of our holiday in tenerife and the hotel was beyond our expectations.

The rooms were stunning. Huge bed, great view (we paid for the partial sea view), complementary Clarins in the bathroom, oversized bath, great air con, nespresso machine etc

On an evening the staff came to turn the bed down and change the appearance of the bed. In the daytime it was a vibrant colour, at night time the sheets were pure white.

We also took advantage of the pillow menu choosing goose down pillows, and on the evening we requested the aromatherapy in the room so when we returned from the pool it was a really soothing and felt very luxurious.

There was complementary ironing service that I used once. All as expected.

Being in the red level there are no children allowed. (There is a separate red level for families). It was very calm and relaxing, hardly any noise. The sun loungers had huge comfy towels on them and a thick padded cover, it felt like lying on a bed. Brilliant. The view was fantastic and I struggle to think of a more relaxing place.

These loungers were also only for red level guests, and they seemed to be more comfortable than the standard beds.

Every couple of hours the staff would bring round fresh fruit or a small cocktail.

Between 6 and 7 there were some drinks and nibbles on offer for red level guests. Very nice.

The red level pool was heated, not too hot but certainly took the edge off otherwise chilly waters.

We were B&B and the breakfast was incredible. Salmon, caviar, cava, croissants meats, cheese, and a selection of hot dishes to order. There was lots more on offer on but the ones above caught my eye.

The food was brilliant but it is expensive. It was an extra 55 euros per person per night to upgrade to half board. We had lunch and the mains were 15 to 20 euros each which seemed about right for the rest of the resort. Very tasty though.

Evening meals were also expensive. We paid to go to a buffet style restaurant and it was 42 euros each which did not include. Again very expensive but very tasty.

Drinks were 3.50 for a beer. This wasn't too bad, but spirits were 7 euros plus for a single.

We also went to the spa and had a treatment, very very ice and the water circuit was great. You have to wear a swimming cap in the pool which felt a bit odd, but everyone did it so it soon became normal.

All in all, it was an incredibly relaxing stay at a true 5 star. The price of the rooms and in the hotel is expensive, but for us it was worth it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrGeorge123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana_Goti, Gerente at RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear MrGeorge123,

Thank you so much for staying at Red Level and for taking your time to write this nice review regarding your stay.

We are glad to know that you had a lovely holiday with us, and also that all of our team pampers you and allows you to enjoy an unforgettable experience. Your comments about our facilities and rooms are highly appreciated as well.

We hope to see you soon at Red Level.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews