We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very nice small hotel in a big hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alcala
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
100 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“very nice small hotel in a big hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

When we arrived we first saw the huge entrance hall of the " normal" Grand Melia complex. It was more than busy with everywhere children running around. We thought this must be the Redlevel entrance as well till a friendly staff member told us that we had an extra entrance + lobby and he would call the butler there to assure they would prepare on our arrival.

1 min later driving we stood in the small but charming entrance hall of the Redlevel and got greeted by our personal butler. The Red level is, especially in main holiday season, different from the normal area.
There are max around 100 guests who share one big, super nice heated pool.
The breakfast was absolutely marvellous. One could order different kinds of eggs, pancakes or waffles from a separate menu, which was great.
Also the small breakfast buffet was more than sufficient. There was never a line to get a table compared to other hotels.

At the pool one could order from a menu of drinks, including a cocktail of the day which was a bit cheaper than the normal ones.
The staff at the pool was always friendly and tried to make it for everyone comfortable. Free suncream (30) is definitively here a plus too since the sun is very strong!
There was also never an issue to get a good spot at the pool since the Red level provides enough beach chairs so no one had to be unhappy or reserve a spot before hand ( although some did).

We enjoyed one time lunch at the Terrace restaurant, which was good but very overpriced.
20 euro for a cheeseburger is not an ok price and therefore it is already more efficient to walk the stairs down to the " normal" area. We had there 3 times lunch. 2 times in the Oasis grill, which was still pricey (13 euro for pasta with tomato sauce) but good and one time at the Pool grill, which was just awful. They had not even brand name ketchup. But the burger was there only 12 euro compared to the 20 at the Red level.
And remember this is still the same hotel!

Our worst dining experience of the whole vacation was at their Asian restaurant, called Nami. Since I love Sushi, we decided to give it a try one night. The Nami was a dark and empty should look fancy place and the prices were very high. Ok we knew about the prices but the quality was just beyond bad. We ordered DimSum, the Sushi selection (42 euro!) and the duck.
The Dimsum were still okaish and the duck tasteless but well eatable, but the Sushi was just bad. Although tasteless, but I continued eating till my boyfriend pointed out that the tuna looks weird and also tasted weird too. Gladly I did not become sick but I was still in shock that maybe the fish was not ok.

The room was pretty and the bed comfortable, but unfortunately the bathroom has not enough light, also the shower is pretty tiny.
One issue were the thin walls. We had problems with noisy upper neighbours for several nights and decided to switch the room,which was no issue but still the rooms could be better isolated.But the rooms were always super clean and the Clarins products were definitively a big plus!!

One can book this hotel with half or full pension or B&B, we chose the last one and were more than happy we did. There are super nice restaurants in that small city next to the hotel. All in the reach of max 10 min walking.
Especially the Italian restaurant Sauco was a delight, since one can sit on a terrace next to the sea and eat very good Seafood pasta for just 10 euro.
Also Chamayda, El rincon canario and Toni's were really nice places and the people were everywhere just too friendly to us and portions more than sufficient.
So if are not afraid of seeing how the locals live and eat, just take the B&B.

Wonderful was the hour Open Bar from 18.00 to 19.00 every evening. Free drinks and free snacks were amazing.
The staff is in general very friendly and always tried to help. We had questions about a boat trip, restaurants, routes for day trips etc and they always tried to solve the questions. They book also trips for you. We booked over them the boat trip with the Blue Jack.

One remark about the Spa: the prices are very high and there is no separate Spa for the Red level. This could be changed to a bit more Euro friendly prices! 50 min deep tissue massage for 90 euro is definitively too much.

Overall we more than enjoyed our stay at this hotel and we will be definitively back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KrisCobain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana_Goti, Gerente at RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear KrisCobain,

Fist of all we would like to thank you for choosing Red Level at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora for your holiday and for taking your time to write this nice review.

We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay, specially the Red Level facilities and also all the Red Level staff.

We would like to appologize because the Nami and the Market Grill restaurants did not succeed your expectations and we have already notify their managment your opinion so they can improve for the next customers experience.

We are looking forward to welcome you one more time here at Red Level at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora and thank you again for all your words that help us to improve day by day.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    743
    122
    45
    23
    10
See reviews for
89
718
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

I have just returned today from our fourteen night stay at the Red Level, with my wife and our two daughters. I cannot sing it's praises enough. From the moment you check in it really is a wonderful experience.
Firstly, and most importantly for us, all the staff at the Red Level made our stay. A big thank you to Barbara around the pool, Danel and Kamila in the Red Level restaurant, and then Alfredo and all the girls at reception. They really could not do enough for us.
All the restaurants, in particular Duo and Nami, and the hotel as a whole were also of very high standard. My daughters and I regularly used the gym facilities and the sports hub, which holds a huge variety of sports classes throughout the day.

Thank you for a wonderful 2 weeks, and looking forward to returning soon.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Millieros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana_Goti, Gerente at RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Millieros,

Thank you for taking your time and write this nice review regarding your recent stay at Red Level at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora.

It is a real pleasure to read that you have enjoyed the Red Level facilities, the Sportshub and also the Duo and Nami restaurants.

We are also delighted to see that our staff made your holiday and thank you for all the compliments to our staff members.

We are looking forward to welcome you and your family one more time at Red Level at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hasselt, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

It was our fifth stay in the red level and for the first time the red level for families!
Red level for adults is fantastic, we are not easily satisfied but this hotel is perfect to escape the busy life for a few days. We return every year for a few days, the personal attention, the great room, the quietness, the atmosphere...We haven't found it anywhere else yet and we are not searching anymore :)
This year we wanted our children to experience the great hotel so we choose the red level for families. We had a 2 bedroom suite wich was great!
The red level family lounge is great for small children with drinks ,snacks and games all day.
Our children are already 12 and 17 and they fell out a bit. It would be nice to have an area for families to sit and have a drink, maybe also enjoy the happy hour...
Of course as adults you have acces to all the red level for adults facilities but to be honest, we didn't use them very much because of the children. Breakfast can be taken in a separate area which is nice and when you have small children, you have a nice area with sunbeds around the family pool. The personal attention was great , a very big thank you to Alexandra who made our stay unforgettable!
Overall, we had a great stay and our kids also! We'll probably be back in November for a short break.
Maybe one more suggestion: We never see the villa's occupied... why are they only for 2 people? It would be great for families with 2 children (2 sofabeds in the living room) who want to experience red level facilities....

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nadia k k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana_Goti, Gerente at RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear nadia k k,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking your time to write this nice review regarding your recent stay at Red Level and for enjoying the Red Level for families this time.

It is a real pleasure to read that you have enjoy the facilities and that our team has made your holiday. We all work really hard every day to satisfy our guest needs and to succeed our guest expectations and we are delighted to read that we achieve it with you and your family.

We are going to take into consideration your suggestion about the Villas.

We are looking forward to welcome you one more time at the Red Level, perhaps in November...

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

On arrival we was met by Jose from Red level. Fabulous guy with a questionable taste in football teams (;-)), took us into the reception lounge and arranged two glasses of cold cava whilst he took our luggage up to our room.
We had a fantastic ocean view room with jacuzzi on the fourth floor. Wow, what can I say, the room was fantastic. Spotlessly clean and ever thing you could want for a luxury stay .
Breakfast at Red level another wow, food cooked fresh for you from the menu, also fresh breads, pastries,cold meat,cheeses, yogurts , cereal and much more all looking out over the ocean .
Restaurants- had lunch at the Pangea which is a buffet type and lots of choice. How anyone can moan is beyond me, loads to choose from. My husband started with good intentions but always ended up with a Spanish, Italian, English, Japanese fusion with chips and a salad to make up for the guilt;-) good job there's a very good gym with Life Fitness cardio machines, 2 dumbbell racks ( max weight 20 kg which is ok), weight machines for every body part, a Smiths machine and cable crossover machine. The gym is open 24hrs and my husband was doing 2 a day workouts and said it was deserted at stupid o'clock (6:30 am) but busy at lunchtime.
Italian restaurant also fab, great fillet steak and great pizza.
Oasis restaurant- very nice food and very friendly staff.
Market Grill I would describe as good pub grub.
We hired a bali bed for the week which is worth every penny and a big thank you to Cristian from the Red level pool bar for looking after us so well, always service with a smile, cleans your sunglasses for you and brings round fresh fruit in the afternoon, also cool face cloths for you, bless him, works his socks off making sure ever one is looked after. All the 500+ staff at the hotel work so hard the gardens are fabulous and I have never been to such a clean hotel, hats off to all the staff.
Also a big thank you to Jose for getting us such a fab room, already desperate to book to come back next year.xxxxxx

Room Tip: 4068 top floor red level
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SouthEastKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana_Goti, Gerente at RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear CornwallPenzance,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking your time and write this nice review regarding your recent stay at Red Level.

It is a pleasure for us to read that youhave enjoyed all the time and that our staff have really worked hard to look after you and your partner and to provide you a wonderful holiday.

We all work hard to succed our guests expectations and we are delighted to read that we achieve our main goal with you, and you have enjoyed the facilities, the restaurants and your room.

We are looking forward to welcome you one more time at Red Level at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorks, UK
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Firstly I should say I have been here twice before so I know what to expect!

Its the little things that make your holiday special..... Our aircon was blowing against a light fitting causing noise - they sorted it immediately; I had forgotten some toiletries from home - delivered to my room within 10 minutes; extra pillows; different type of tea in the room; valet parking with a smile and no charge; refund of my early check in payment because we arrived later than expected; extra toiletries in my room because they know I love the Clarins products. Nothing is too much trouble.

A couple of tips if you haven't been here before;

The fifth floor rooms have a concrete balcony rather than railings, so you can't see the wonderful view when sat down.

It is true that the food at this resort is not great (with the exception of breakfast which is fabulous) especially when you consider the price point, but there are half a dozen lovely restaurants within an easy 10 minute walk of the resort and we really enjoyed walking out at night for dinner.

The new beach is fantastic for kids with rock pools to be explored and safe swimming areas cut from the rocks.

Do hire a Bali Bed. There is no problem getting a sunbed round the Red Level pool, but on this trip, the Bali Beds were €50 per day (includes a bottle of wine or cocktails) and you got the third day free of charge. I love to know that my comfortable bed is booked and I can come and go as I please.

I booked the hotel directly on the Melia website and got €20 per day credit on my room bill.

If you're looking for relaxation and pampering service, the you can't beat it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Joanne1y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana_Goti, Gerente at RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Joanne1y,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking your time to write this nice review regarding your recent stay at Red Level. It is a real pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us one more time.

We always like to welcome you here at the Red Level and to read that you enjoyed our facilities, special the breakfast buffet and the Bali Beds. We are delighted to be your favojurite place and we are looking forward to welcome you one more time here at Red Level in the next future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

If you are travelling without children, I highly recommend paying the premium to go red level at this hotel. The additional space in the gardens and around the exclusive pool for red level guests is really worth it. Add to that - the pool side service, which includes complimentary water, coffees,newspapers, the free bar at 6pm ... And the fact that you can have a crowd free and relaxed breakfast on the terrace overlooking the sea ( and away from the main resort crowds and families)..... And red level starts to pay for itself. Also breakfast at red level includes ala carte menu and a buffet and is open until 11am. If the additional cost is putting you off ... I would suggest staying on a B&B basis and making up the difference this way. Or use the extra money to take a Bali bed - which costs about 50 euro per day .
However, if you do decide to do B&B basis, be careful about eating in the hotel. The additional cost of food is extortionate if it's not included in your plan. I would generally say that hotel food doesn't represent good value for Money. . The snacks at the red level pool is ridiculous - expect to pay 18 euro for a sandwich and chips! This is really just taking advantage of guests - my only gripe. You really have to leave the hotel to eat .... Where there are some lovely local restaurants in Alcala serving great snacks, evening meals ...for a fraction of the price. Same sandwich will cost you 3 euro for lunch in sunbeam. We loved sun beam, rincon de barrigo and Sauco ... All within minutes walk. Same goes for beer and wine.... On average this costs three times more in the hotel than local restaurants.
Alcala itself is a quiet and small fishing town. Don't expect a strip lined with bars and restaurants. But if peace , quiet , and good food and good prices is what you seek - I highly recommend.
Overall I rated this hotel highly but I'm not sure I would visit and stay in the main part of the hotel - having stayed in red level. The grass verge around the main huge pool is packed with families and space is at a premium. Beds lined up one after an other with no privacy.
Night time entertainment was a bit dull in my view but I guess it's really geared towards families. There is a full sports and activity schedule though - which sounded great if you are so inclined. Overall a great hotel, well maintained by excellent staff.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank slopster408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana_Goti, Gerente at RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear slopster408,

We would like to begin by thanking you for choosing our resort for your recent holiday at Tenerife and for the time you have spent on sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

It is truly a pleasure for all of our team to know that you have enjoyed a lovely stay at our resort. Your compliments on our rooms and swimming pools are highly appreciated, although we will take into consideration your comments regarding the food.

We are looking forward to welcome you one more time here at Red Level.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed at Red Level Gran Melia Palacio de Isora for 2 nights to celebrate my wife's birthday. We had quite high expectations of the hotel, but they managed to succeed it.
1. Hotel personnel: uber-helpful, welcoming and friendly. Everywhere - at the reception, at La Terrace restaurant, at the pool. We felt that all our wishes were met or anticipated.
2. Rooms: our frontal seaview suite with terrace and spa bath was gorgeous: spacious, tastefully decorated, well thought-through and fantastic view indeed.
3. Hotel's territory is lush, vast and impeccably maintained. There are plenty of restaurants and pool bars to choose from and sun loungers, Bali beds and hammocks to enjoy sun. There are 3 outdoor saltwater pools: 1 exclusively for Red Level guests, 1 for adults only and 1 huge infinity pool for all guests.
4. Red Level: a great proposition for adults only, with top-notch service
5. Location is great. Though it's far from most popular resorts of Las Americas and Los Cristianos, it's devoid of cheap eateries and inebriated hordes. An authentic fishing village of Alcala is just 5 min walk away along the beautiful ocean promenade. Recently renovated, uncrowded black sand ocean beaches are just at the hotel's doorstep
Special thanks to Claudia, Vero and Alex for making this stay so wonderful!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaxLondon1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana_Goti, Gerente at RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear MaxLondon1976,

Thank you so much for taking some of your valuable time to write this nice review regarding your recent stay at Red Level.

We are delighted to read that you have enjoy the rooms, the service and the diffrent swimming pools and restaurants in the hotel.

All your comments about our staff are really aprecciated and we are really happy to read that the service provided by our team exceeded your expectations, as it is due to their effort and dedication that we are able to achieve the total satisfaction of our guests.

We are looking forward to welcome you one more time in Red Level.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alcala
0.1 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
9.5 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
22.9 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#2 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Hotel Las Madrigueras Golf Resort & Spa
Hotel Las Madrigueras Golf Resor...
#1 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
9.5 mi away
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur
8.3 mi away
Royal Garden Villas
Royal Garden Villas
#1 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora

Property: RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora
Address: Calle La Costa s/n, 38686 Alcala, Guia de Isora, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Guia de Isora > Alcala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alcala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora 5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificent Oceanfront hotel, for adults only, with spectacular views of the island La Gomera. RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora is perfectly integrated in the South west coast of Tenerife, in the fishing village Alcala. A beautiful unspoiled area at the foot of Mount Teide, five minutes by car from the Los Gigantes cliffs. While its glorious design combines to perfection the elements sea, earth and air, the hotel sets new standards for luxury, in order to satisfy the most demanding travellers searching for a truly unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
RedLevel At Gran Melia Palacio De Isora Tenerife/Guia De Isora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing