We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe 4*”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Alcala
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Maybe 4*”
Reviewed 5 May 2012

We have just returned from a 10 day stay at the Gran Melia in Tenerife. After reading some of the reviews we were pleasantly surprised to find the hotel to be very tranquil. Our room (on the 3rd floor with a sea view) was better than we imagined and was kept very clean throughout our stay (although on a couple of occasions had not been done when we returned at 5pm) The staff were friendly and there was no queuing for any of the restaurants. However, our middle weekend was a Spanish holiday and the hotel was packed - so queuing became the rule! The poolside was noisy and the staff became less attentive. However a massage or perhaps reflexology at the YHI Spa is a must - ask for an outside cabin. We took a trip to the village of Playa de San Juan and ate at the Marlin. The food is excellent (I would recommend the lobster) We left the hotel by the pool exit and walked along the seafront to Alcala and had "tapas" lunch at Tu Runcon, an ordinary looking seafront cafe but the tapas was very good. Also a must do in this village is a restaurant called "Lupulo" - a beautiful setting in the village square and the food is to die for. We only discovered it the night before we left or we'd have gone there a few more times.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a sea view preferably on the 3rd floor or above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lanercost117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,826 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,149
    1,567
    695
    236
    179
See reviews for
2,417
3,472
61
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,258)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Thomson sell the magnificent Gran Melia to families and lose the "Sensatori" ethos sight,sound,smell,touch and taste. SIGHT: kids on the ocean terrace swinging the Bali chairs like crazy. SOUND: creaming kids and parents shouting at them, crying when the Kids fall over when they have been running mad. they play gentle music on the terrace and once 9-30 kids entertainment finishes then the invation starts and the Ambience ends, as waiters light candles as the sun goes down a child blows the candles out, a Saxaphone plays beautiful music and the kids invade the stage (not the dance floor) this adults only pool gets invaded by kids who parants and not care or control, i say Gran Melia true 5* now Butlins by the sea!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shankly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincolnshire
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

We stayed for a week at the Palacio de Isora, this is a lovely hotel with beautiful gardens and away from the hustle and bustle of a busy resort. There is an array of activities and you can do as much or as little as you like. We upgraded to a suite with the hotel and was well worth the extra 97 euros a day per room. You can get a bus from the village to any of the busier areas of the island, eg Costa Adeje which takes about 45 minutes and 7 euros return. The hotel has a great eco reward system, basically if you opt to not have your towels changed etc for the day you get a credit of 20 euros onto your room, we saved 60E doing this and this can pay for a massage or even a bali bed. Bali beds are expensive and for a day they start at 50E. Sunbeds are plentiful and we never had a problem getting them. The drinks are expensive about 9E for a cocktail. The food was plentiful and the show cooking guaranteed hot food as some of the buffet food was only warm. There is a shop in the hotel selling papers and drinks etc, but 100 metres across the road from the hotel is a petrol station selling the same things for less money. The village has a small number of shops and restaurants and the only disappointment was there was no beach. If you walk into the village you can swim off the jetty there is a ladder etc but not suitable for children. There are lots of rock pools etc to go exploring but take some jelly bean shoes or trainers as it can be a bit unsteady to walk on. Overall a lovely holiday and highly recommended.

Room Tip: Any upgrades email the hotel direct, and if you dont have children make sure you have a room that do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bournetoparty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wolverhampton
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

My husband and I travelled a lot before we had our son, to give you an idea we have stayed at Shangri la Singapore, Baros Maldives, Dubai Jumeirah Beach and Atlantis, Savoy, Ritz etc so we would like to think that we know good quality when we see it and this hotel has it in spades.

The hotel is gorgeous and clean, well maintained and once you get your head around the layout then it has everything you need, with a garage across the road for the basics if you want to stock up. We travelled with Thomson in their Sensatori range, so full board and drinks with meals, anyone who is confused about the package simply hasnt taken the time to read the literature as its quite plain to understand. The extra food you can order as a la carte is by no means in the majority, and you do not need to purchase if you want a good meal.

I loved the way here that in the buffet restaurant and other areas of the hotel you were able to eat with other families so you were all in the same boat as it were, there were some lovely couple and families and a definite sense of camaraderie. Without the disapproving adults who have either never had the pleasure of children or have forgotten what it is like!

We spent 300 euros in addition to our holiday price if this helps on our room bill and stayed for seven nights and did not skimp on a drink before dinner etc., We did top up at the supermarket for water and pop for the childrens pool (no bar but quite convenient really as you dont have to then pay hotel prices for a drink and some pringles!).

The family pool and pirate pool were great temperature. we travelled out of school holidays so occupancy would not be very high so i would imagine the pirate pool in particular can get busy with sunbeds gone as there are not a huge amount.

We chose not to pay extra for a sea view room as to be honest we werent in it that much and our balcony was lovely and what we needed, good space and comfy sofa. The room was beautiful and bathroom great, yes the shower leaked and is a bad design, so we used towels which were replaced daily so no huge issue. I think these things are really how much of an issue you make them!

Waiting staff always helpful and polite. Kids club was very clean and welcoming, we loved the stay and play sessions and craft we could do, we took it in turns each day so one of us got an early morning hour off!

The entertainment wasnt great for kids, loose chippings were good but Clare the host struggled on her own when they werent on to carry the show (relying on 'Greg' for annoying sound effects the kids didnt get and was quite irritating), but to be fair the entertainment manager took this on board when we mentioned it and added a co-host the next night which was great. I understand that the team wasn't at its full compliment at this stage in the season.The resident cast and adult shows we saw were excellent.

So, I could go on and on about this place and we will be returning, probably this year as it was so good and ticks all of our boxes, we want a great holiday, with child friendly facilities and good food, and nice people and we got it. Any questions more than happy to help!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank EscapeeWolverhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Great quality hotel and rooms. Standart room is very big and comfortable with own balcony. Nice thing in this hotel is, that zones for adults and families with kids divided, and you can relax without any loud. Bad thing is less quality of waiters service in restaurants and no normal beach near hotel.

Room Tip: Red zone is very nice place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

just got back 20th-27th April. here goes..
dont be fooled by first impressions although mine were not great kind of thought its not 5star we have Never been to a 5 star hotel and not been given a welcome drink on arrival...on we go room i requested was on ground floor but nop it was 2 nd floor. our party was my husband my daughter (5 month pregnant) my grandaughter age 3yrs so 2 nd floor was not really suitable so we called reception who were not helpfull at all and said thats all availlable..we booked a 2 bedroomed suite very nice space .although bathrooms very dark. great bath tub enourmous.
shower very good but still... 2nd floor so balconies locked the whole time for obvious reasons.
the service at this hotel is 3 star at a push the food 3 star we ate in the italian last 4 nights slightly better than the rest.BIGGEST complaint you can not get a drink around the kiddies pool no bar no service you have to qask the pool attendant to call a waiter on arrival he very rudly asked what 6we wanted we wanted an ice cream for our grand daughter and a fresh orange juice for my daughter i wanted a slim line tonic with ice no no no sorry you have to go to the oasis bar some 400 yards away to get yourself what.5 star service i dont think so Big problem is that this hotel has lost all direction you see they offer sensatori guests all inclusive deals and also half board deals and you can book like us direct with the hotel bed and breakfast and half board we booked half board but they treat everybody like they are on all inclusive therefore you cannot get a drink even if you are paying.Also if u book with thomson you cant use the kids club next to the kids pool ah poor little kids they cqn look through the gate but not go in likewise with the non thomson kids they cant go into the thomson kids club there is a lot of segregation going on in this
glorified butlins holiday camp. The kids shown in the evening 8-9pm is quite good although in spanish sone evenings...very butliny. FOOD AND SERVICE IN ALL RESTAURANTS VERY POOR not 5 star buffet breakfast like liverpool street station in rush hour.although food was ok
and nice selection just manic.The kiddies pirate pool fab for tots however not enough space around the pool for adults. Family pool nice but no shallow end however you can get a bit of servic around that pool infinity pool not enough sunbathing area to shaded and to cold.
This hotel lacks quality service lacks atmoshphere and lacks class all that glitters is not gold
We normally go to Bahia del duque but thought our granddaughter would love the pirate pool .she did lots ,however Bahia del duque is in a completly different league true 5 star with
class and excellent service unlike this hotel and not much in the price.Definatly dont consider this hotel unless you have toddlers with the pirate pool being the only plus point then you just may get a little benefit but truly not 5 star shame.Oh its a long way from the airport and very iscolated....unlike bahia ...There is no relationship between staff and guests everything is to much for them and they dont seem to be bothered if you aaare happy or not This hotel is a glorified butlin holiday camp and no more

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurapooEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Booked last minute through Thomsons for a week of r & r with teenage daughter. The hotel was relatively quiet as childen back at school after Easter break. We were more than satisfied with our room, the food and service. Perhaps because we were pleasant to the staff they were polite and pleasant back?! The Sensatori staff were very helpful and always took trouble to come and say hello and ask if we were ok. Similarly we had no problems getting seated and served in the restaurants and found lots of decent fare on offer (including good salads!). No problem finding sun-loungers - plenty to choose from. Daughter enjoyed all the exercise and dance classes on offer. Evening entertainment 6 nights out of 7. Resident show team and outside acts all of good standard. The gardens are stunning and beautifully maintained and everywhere was very clean. Main pool is chilly this time of year but adults only pool nice and warm. Only negative is location-other than a pleasant walkway at front of hotel the surrounding area has little to offer. Thomson operate a shuttle bus into Costa Adeje 2 days a week for a couple of euros but we soon worked out the peace and tranquility and the lovely surroundings of the hotel were much nicer.

Top tip - if you decline room service for a day they will give you 20 euros credit to spend at the hotel. We are tidy types anyway so did this twice and used it to pay late check out fee to keep our room until we were picked up for the airport. Could also have been used in the spa or for extra drinks.

Don't know if we were just lucky but we would have had to look hard to find fault with the hotel and personnel and were only sorry we weren't staying another week!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SQUADRONMEMBER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alcala
9.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
6.7 mi away
Roca Nivaria GH - Adrian Hoteles
22.9 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#2 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora
9.4 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#20 of 58 in Costa Adeje
4,007 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Abama
The Ritz-Carlton, Abama
#3 of 6 in Guia de Isora
2,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa

Property: Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
Address: Avenida Los Oceanos s/n, 38686 Alcala, Guia de Isora, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Guia de Isora > Alcala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Alcala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 578
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The natural beauty of Tenerife combines with an intense passion for service in the most superior luxury hotel on the island. With the Atlantic Ocean at its feet and the majestic Teide as a backdrop, the stunning scenery and eternal spring climate allows the Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora to provide guests with endless magical moments. The hotel has taken care of everything down to the very finest detail in each of its rooms, creating a personalised setting to ensure your total satisfaction. Imagine the experience of viewing the sun setting over the ocean from one of the magnificent rooms in this fantastic resort, the best 5 star hotel in Tenerife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Melia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Palacio De Isora Hotel Alcala
Gran Melia Guia De Isora
Palacio De Isora Gran Melia
Gran Melia Palacio De Isora Resort & Spa Tenerife/Guia De Isora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing