We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Canny Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Alcala
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Canny Place to Stay”
Reviewed 9 February 2013

We stayed at the Sensatori/Gran Melia Palacio de Isora for the last week of January 2013 and took advatage of the All Inclusive drinks/ Silver Plus option added to Full Board Plus.

Check in was swift an hassle free and two minutes after we arrived at our room there was a knock at the door by the bellboy with our luggage, a very quick service.
The room ( a demi garden suite) was exactly as pictured in the brochure, complete with large comfortable bed, double bath and rain shower and all spotlessly clean. The fridge (mini bar) was initially empty, a list of drinks (with prices attached) was left for you to fill in for stocking of the mini bar with your required beverages.

Food was plentiful i the Pangea restaurant , with a varied selection and and good quality. although we only ate here for breakfast and a couple of times in the evening.

The A La CarteRestaurants included in the Full Board Plus option were quite easy to book in the morning on the computer screens provided in reception and we could have ate at any of these on every evening if desired, although we tend to eat around nine o'clock, so this may have been a factor in the availability of tables when we wanted them.

The Pool Oasis Grill served a good standard of food with good service and a good selection available from the menu. This restaurant was also open at lunchtimes, you could have a nice fillet steak here at lunchtime (this was down as veal on the menu). The Club Oasis (Italian) was also of a similar good standard.

Please note the Specialities on the menus are not included in the full board plus or half board options and come at an extra charge.

The grounds are immaculately kept with some beatiful koi carp ponds. The infinity pool is very impressive and it was such a shame that being salt water it was frezing cold and not many were brave enough to venture in. However all the other four pools (red level only, adult only, family and childrens) were heated. We opted to stay around the adults pool for some peace and quiet. The only draw back being the walk to the nearest bar for refreshments, although the bar staff occassionally come around and ask if you'd like a drink to brought from the bar. The all inclusive drinks option was very good value, and included virtually everything.

In the early evening it was very pleasant to relax at the Club Oasis chill out area with the DJ playing chill out tunes. One evening we watched a fantastic fireworks display. The Nemos piano bar was also a very relaxed atmosphere, although on one evening we witnessed the staff being overwelmed by a large group (in excess of 200) attending a pharmaceutacal convention at the hotel, which was not really fair for couples just wanting to take it easy on holiday.

The Theatre Bar for entertainement was a large conference like room with a stage at one end. This place never seemed to attract a lot of people. The entertainement could be the cause of the this, as although the six animation team members are obviously very talented, they appeared to churn out modern songs in an older fashioned style, very clever in the arrangemnt, however monotonous when done time and time again. During the week we were here there was only two external acts brought in, a guy doing motown and soul who was very good albeit his set only lasting around 45 minutes. The other act was a tribute act to Michael Jackson, the guy could dance, but could'nt sing very well while dancing and when he started to speak like Michael Jackson it all became a bit of a comedy.

We had a very enjoyable stay here and will definitely return to this hotel (hopefully soon). The weather was amazing during our stay, the best we have had in the last five years of coming to this part of Tenerife (28-30 degrees with no cloud every day) and I do not know if there would have been enough inside bar space, should the weather take a turn for the worse, also the a la carte restaurants are also open to the elements.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TheHairsOfWallsend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,922 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,201
    1,594
    707
    239
    181
See reviews for
2,472
3,505
61
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,266)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 February 2013 via mobile

This was one of the best holidays we have ever had. My wife said I needed to relax and that is just what we did. The room was great apart from not having any bottled water in it when we arrived but that is just a minor thing. Staff were excellent, helpfull and freindly. Food was great and service was prompt. The only thing is that you had to book two of the resturants one of which was an Italian and very popular so we only got in once in the seven days we were there but it did not matter as the other two were very good.
The place is huge with very well kept gardens which are nice to walk through. Poolside is good and a good rule that you cannot reserve a sunbed in advance so easy to get a lounger.
This hotel is defenatly 5*
Overall great place great people and we will be back next year!!!

Thank you Gran Melia see you soon.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Mr. AndrewJ,

Firstly, we would like to thank you for spending your time sharing your experience at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora and thanks for giving us the esteemed opportunity of serving you during your stay in Tenerife.

We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed our hotel. I would like to thank you in the name of all the staff for your feedback; it helps us to know that our decisions are in the good way.

We hope to see you soon. If you need something for your next reservation, don’t doubt and contact with us.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salou, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

We spent a brilliant week at the hotel with my parents and 2 sisters (all adults). From the moment we arrived into the impressive, fragrant reception area we were met with nothing less than courteous professional and friendly service. Our room 5032 looked out onto the cliffs of Los Gigantes and was large and comfortable and very clean. We liked the idea of a 20€ credit to spend for not having your room cleaned and enjoyed 2 evenings of drinking cava on the chill out terrace with the proceeds. When we were at the hotel there seemed to be very few children but this could be due to the fact that there is a completly separate family pool and we went to the adults only area and pool. There were always plenty of sunbeds and we liked the hotel policy of no towels on sunbeds to reserve them before 10 o'clock. We went with Thomson sensatori and were not in the red level but found the food to be extreamly varied, tasty and hot and certainly not canteen like as refered to by a previous reviewer. The inclusive wine with the meals was relitively free flowing and extreamly good. It is true that the reservation system for the speciality restaurants constantly shows up full but a visit to guest relations got us booked in no problem. The evening entertainment was of a good standard and we especially loved Ben in the piano bar. All in all a perfect holiday and I am hoping to return with my husband and children . Thoroughly reccommended!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rachel n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana_Goti, E-GuestExperience at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 10 February 2013
Dear Rachelamanda

Thank you for having chosen Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora during your holidays in Tenerife and for your kind post about our food, rooms, entertainment and our "professional and friendly service"!! It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed our hotel.

Your honest opinion can be an invaluable reference for other customers who are thinking of staying with us, for this reason we really appreciate the time that you have taken for publishing your experience on Tripadvisor.

We hope to see you soon with all your family at Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora, your home in Tenerife

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dalbeattie
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

At this time of year we normally take a Caribbean cruise but this year we decided to take a land based vacation to avoid the long air trip to Barbados. Never having travelled with Thompson we were a little apprehensive but their service was excellent.
The transfer to the Hotel was very well organised and the check in went smoothly. We were left to find out own way to the Garden Room and of course the key card did not work - so a long trip back to reception to rectify. It would have been helpful to have a staff member showing us to the room not least to explain the intricacies of the lighting system. After 14 days the switches still puzzled us.
The Hotel itself was stunning - very modern (built 2008) and the staff were excellent. Any small problems were immediately attended to and solved without question by the Gran Melia staff. If a problem manifests itself it is better to work with the Gran Melia personnel rather than the Thompson staff who only relay things through to the Hotel.
The main buffet restaurant was fine - the buffet selection was vast - various stations were available to prepare fresh pasta - cook fish - grill steak/pork - fresh wok cooking. It is all there. The only downside was the food under the lights which always seem to be tepid.
The Club Ocean (Italian) was included in the Full Board but was almost impossible to get a reservation unless you managed to get on the computer at 0800 - this sysem should be abandoned. This restaurant is full service but they allow young children in buggies which does tend to take away the ambience of a decent night out.
Duo restaurant for 'fine dining' seemed to be overpriced as was the Japanese restaurant.
The Ocean Grill had to be booked but no difficulties here but the menu seemed to be ambitious and not particularly well executed. ~The Market Grill opens only for lunch and was perfectly acceptable.
Entertainment - here Thompson was a big let down. The resident group were very loud and the lady singers could only screech and shout - it was not singing. One show entitled 'Rock Legends' was abysmal. The material the singers had to work with was poor. Surely Thompson can do better than this - I wonder if the other Sensatori hotels have similar entertainment.
We managed to get a tour of the Red level area which was very quiet and away from the general areas. The reception area and private lounges were fine but we felt that the extra payment was not worthwhile. The sunbeds on the terraces were of the standard type with no pads and Red Level clients ate with everybody else in the buffet restaurant but in a special area (right next to squabbling children).
The location of the Hotel is great - but no beach, It is a 15 minute stroll to the small town of Alcala - very local and very Spanish. Immediately outside the Hotel are large undeveloped areas and it is sure as death that these will be built on in the future with the accompanied disruption so it would be worth checking it building work is to take place.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and intend to repeat the experience since it is certainly good value with lunch and dinner wine/beer/soft drinks included. But there are a couple of minuses which dhould be pointed out:
1. Although our trip was outside school holidays the Hotel seemed to be over run by small children who seemed to want to scream at mealtimes. Surely the Hotel could cater for the children to eat at a specific time to allow adults a little peace and quiet.
2. The bathrooms would not pass Health and Safety in the UK. No safety rails either by the bath or in the shower - power points and light switches in the actual bathroom. No bathmats.
This review is not meant to be over critical but simply to draw attention to some of the matters which perhaps could be dealt with.
In comparison with our cruise experiences I must say that it is an improvement on P&O who seem hell bent in cutting back on everything.

Room Tip: Garden rooms excellent which include Bali bed. Always worth insistiting on a room available to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xshipbroker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Well back again for another 1 week break to re charge those batteries and enjoy some sun in peace and quiet, as usual not disappointed with the room and service.

The wi fi has been extended to all areas of the hotel which is helpful for those geeks wanting to keep in touch with home via Skype.

Weather was as expected and great to relax. Around the pool each day with friends.

The only concern I have is the Pangea restaurants buffet has gone down in food quality which puts pressure on the Italian restaurant as this gets fully booked each evening.

So come on Sensatori don't let the food standards drop, focus on this or you will lose valued and repeat customers.

Room Tip: For a quieter and better view go for the limited sea view rooms on 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

This was our third visit to this hotel, each have been during our winter time. Once again we can not fault the place. We stayed from Jan 8th-15th and paid a great price of £690 each. Great value. When I booked through Thomson I requested high floor looking over fish pond, as 2 previous visits we had rooms looking out towards roadside, not very appealing. We were allocated 5th floor looking over fish pond. Always request when booking your room preference ( Sea veiw, pond veiw, ) Sensatori staff always try to oblige if available.
The hotel is beautiful. The staff are all very polite and helpful. When passing they all place a hand to their chest and say "good morning/evening" its very endearing and they all do it most sincerely.
Drinks are a little expensive in the bars, but not overly so. The entertainment is very good. Each night the resident singers perform various shows. 3 boys and 3 girls they are all very good. What I like about them is, when their show is finished 1 or 2 of them always head for the piano bar to sing a few songs with the pianist. It finishes the night off nicely.
One fault I have, and this is a design fault, the enormous fish tank should have been set up on the back wall with the pianist in front. This would have opened up the whole room so everyone could see and hear the pianist and singers equally well. (When you go you will know what I mean)
The pool is stunning but you will see no one in it because it is freezing cold. Its a same because if it was heated everyone I have spoken to on my 3 visits all said they would us it. Loads of sun loungers available so you never have to get up early for a lounger.
And finally my pet hate on holiday. No cushioned mattresses on the sun loungers. A hotel of this quality should provide these for everyone, not just the Red Level guests.
Rooms are as nice as you find anywhere. Big, comfortable beds, great shower, nice balcony.
Overall a fantastic hotel for a weeks relaxation during our winter. Go and enjoy. Love it.

Room Tip: Request high floor looking out to fish pond 5048 or 5050. Beautiful aspect. You get the sun on your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ToonBryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013 via mobile

We went to this hotel on Christmas Day through to New Years Day and couldn't fault it at all. It was booked through
Thomsons and every step of the way was great. We booked a garden room and had a lovely large room with path down to our own Bali day bed. The room itself was well appointed with toiletries and bathrobes, slippers and tea/coffee making facilities. This is a large hotel with over 600 rooms, so expect to walk a fair way to get round the whole site. Whilst there were lots of families in the hotel, there are specialist areas for everyone and plenty of sunbeds far away from the noise of children. The staff were all very polite and the Thomson reps very helpful. Despite other posts I have just read, the food was superb, especially on New Year's Eve, where a fantastic buffet was provided, then entertainment, free Cava at midnight and fireworks, then entertainment till 2am. Despite the mess that had been made, crew worked through the night to restore the hotel back to normal the next day. Food in the other restaurants we experienced was really lovely, we had so much choice all around the hotel, you couldn't want more. The view from the hotel is superb, the sunsets are a photographers dream! I would love to go back again and spend longer than just a week. Well done to all the staff, especially the restaurant ones who worked so hard on New Years Eve to make it all so special for their guests.

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
Thank KarenS14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Mrs KarenS14,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your opinion about your stay at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora on Tripadvisor and thank you so much for selecting our hotel for your vacations.

It is a real pleasure for the entire team listening to your wonderful comments about the New Year’s Eve. Your comments will help us with our continuing effort to assure the best night of the year.

We hope to have the honour to receive your again.
Best greetings,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alcala
9.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
22.9 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#1 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,608 reviews
6.7 mi away
Roca Nivaria GH - Adrian Hoteles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
0.1 mi away
RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora
9.4 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#16 of 58 in Costa Adeje
2,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa

Property: Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
Address: Avenida Los Oceanos s/n, 38686 Alcala, Guia de Isora, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Guia de Isora > Alcala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Alcala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 578
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The natural beauty of Tenerife combines with an intense passion for service in the most superior luxury hotel on the island. With the Atlantic Ocean at its feet and the majestic Teide as a backdrop, the stunning scenery and eternal spring climate allows the Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora to provide guests with endless magical moments. The hotel has taken care of everything down to the very finest detail in each of its rooms, creating a personalised setting to ensure your total satisfaction. Imagine the experience of viewing the sun setting over the ocean from one of the magnificent rooms in this fantastic resort, the best 5 star hotel in Tenerife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia, Expedia, Prestigia, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Palacio De Isora Hotel Alcala
Gran Melia Guia De Isora
Palacio De Isora Gran Melia
Gran Melia Palacio De Isora Resort & Spa Tenerife/Guia De Isora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing