We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect holiday ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Alcala
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Wales
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday ”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

I visited this hotel with my partner, parents and 9 month old daughter. From start to finish the holiday was amazing. We were all inclusive plus beverages.

The rooms are spacious, comfortable and stylish. We had a sea view room which had one of the best views I've ever seen.

We hired a buggy and steriliser for our daughter and they were in perfect condition. We couldn't fault anything.

The food was well cooked and there was always plenty of choice at all meal times. We were always able to get a table and the staff were always accommodating, making a big fuss of my daughter.

The waiters and waitresses work tirelessly and even though at times the pool service was a little slow the staff cover such a large area you can't really blame them, that's the managements fault.

The pool area was always clean and there was no issue in getting a lounger.

Overall a perfect holiday and my partner and I plan to get married at a sensatori hotel after the brilliant time we had here.


Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate_Jones85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Mr. Kate_Tom,

Firstly we would like to thank you for your preference in choosing Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora for your recent family holiday and for the time you have spent in sharing your impressions with us.

Your compliments on our facilities and restaurants are highly appreciated. Your nice compliment on our staff will be shared with our team, as they will be delighted to know that you enjoyed a lovely stay.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again at our resort soon.
Kind regards,

Pablo Querol
Red Glove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,929 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,204
    1,597
    707
    240
    181
See reviews for
2,479
3,505
61
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,266)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed at Sensatori Tenerife for a week with my husband and two children aged 2 and 5. The first impressions of the hotel are amazing.

For me the hotel being clean especially with young children is always a worry however the hotel is spotless. The staff are constantly going round cleaning. All of the staff we met were so nice and really good with the children.

The food was really good, loads of choice. The only issue we had was trying to book the restaurants especially the Italian. Opening the booking system at 10.30 and midnight we were never going to get in as we were normally in bed by that time. We had a word with the thomson staff and they got us booked in the Italian for two nights so problem sorted.

The pools are really nice. We spent most of our time round the infinity pool. It is cold and salt water but isn't that ment to be the point to cool you down. Don't really know why others were moaning about it.

There are a few adult only areas which we obviously stayed away from with the kids. We did go round to the childrens pirate pool once but this was at the front of the hotel so away from the nice views so we didn't really use it.

We did venture into the town but there are not really many shops. We got a taxi to Los giantis for €9 were there are more shops and a harbour. We also went to the water park which is really good fun.

There is an annoying thing for me in that sometimes holiday companies don't understand that just as you have children we wouldn't still want a luxury holiday but I think this hotel has the best of both.

We loved our week there that much we wished we had booked for longer. My daughter keeps asking when we can go back!
Will definitely return and recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Mrs. Kerry B,

We would like to begin by thanking you for selecting Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora for your family holiday, as well as for the time you have taken to share your comments with us through TripAdvisor.

It is truly a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed a relaxing family holiday, as all of our team strives to pamper each of our guests. Your compliments on our facilities, rooms and gastronomic offer are highly appreciated, although we will forward your comments regarding the restaurant booking system to Sensatori, in order for them to take them into consideration for future improvements.

We are looking forward to welcoming your family again.
Kind regards,

Pablo Querol
Red Glove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed for half term in May with our two children 12 and 9yrs. Have stayed at Sensatori Crete and Sensatori Mexico previously. Loved Mexico with it's truly all inclusive service, disliked Crete but thought Tenerife was fabulous (although wish it was completely all inclusive!) Gorgeous interior, beautiful infinity pool and lovely restaurants ... Particularly the Ocean Club. Rooms very comfortable and well equipped - only downside was the poor quality and uncomfortable sofa bed that the kids slept in (couldn't get a family suite this time). We had to ask for an extra mattress to make the bed feel vaguely comfortable. Showers amazing and always hot water available. Our room had a gorgeous sea view and balconies are a good siZe. Only negatives were: poor quality evening entertainment (mainly laid on by in house entertainments team), nothing really to keep young teenagers occupied and trying to get a drink even on the all inclusive package could be tricky! Not allowed to order at the bar you have to wait for waiters to take an order which can take rather a long time. Plus milkshakes or ice creams for kids and certain drinks are not included in the 'all inclusive package'. It's not clear on any menus which drinks are included and which aren't so can get frustrating.

Also note that the infinity pool is salt water.... So goggles recommended! And there is no beach.... Suited us as we live near a beach but wouldn't be keen if looking for a beach holiday. Overall though - beautiful place to stay for a relaxing week in the sun...Will definitely return!!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Mrs. Shona B,

We would like to thank you for the review about Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora you shared with the TripAdvisor community, as well as for choosing us for your recent stay at Tenerife.

First we would like to inform you that we do have a beach just 3 minutes away from the resort with direct access through our exit next to the Pool Concierge office. This beach has black volcanic sand and is located next to some natural pools filled with water from the Atlantic Ocean. Furthermore, La Jaquita beach has Beach Concierge service with umbrellas and hammocks.

Regarding your experience at our hotel, we are glad to know that you enjoyed a lovely holiday and that both our facilities and restaurants were of your liking. We appreciate each of your kind comments as we think that your feedback is the best tool for us to keep improving and bettering ourselves.

We hope to see you soon at Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora.
Best regards,

Pablo Querol
Red Glove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnham-on-Crouch, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Superb 5 star resort immaculately presented and with excellent service.
Sensatori nursery is a fantastic facility which provided some must needed respite for mum and dad our 2 year old loved it and the girls were excellent with our 6 month old baby as well.
Resort was probably only half full when we stayed which meant no issues finding sun beds by the pool or tables for dinner but I can appreciate this could be a problem if the resort was fully occupied. The pirate ship kiddie pool was a major hit with our toddler and also was never overly crowded. The infinity pool is spectacular with integrated spa water jets, underwater loungers, shaded areas, and massage showers it isn't heated however which is understandable given its nearly 300m in length but does mean unless it's a hot sunny day the pool is a bit o the cold side.
The buffet restaurant was probably the best I have ever come across, excellent selection, well prepared, beautifully presented and generally very tasty with always some typically spanish elements alongside the more international offerings. The Ocean Grill was a revelation at lunch times relaxed atmosphere and excellent food all included in the full board offering and with lovely views of the infinity pool and the ocean.
Staff were never anything less than very helpful and extremely polite.
The location is not great if you like to venture outside the resort although if you hire a car then its a relatively short drive to the shops, bars, restaurants, of Costa Adeje and Playa de las Americas. That said we enjoyed the resort so much that even with a car at our disposal we didn't venture out very often.
Only real complaint is that like a great many other hotels this one needs to understand that two beds pushed together with separate linen does NOT constitute a king size bed. Additionally as seems to be the case with most canary island hotels the bed linen consisted of only thin (albeit excellent quality) sheets with no duvet or comforter. In the height of summer this is probably appropriate but in early May my wife was reduced to wearing her bathrobe to bed to keep warm.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Mr. Andrew M,

Firstly we would like to thank you for choosing Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora for your family holiday, as well as for the time you have spent on sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to read that you have enjoyed a lovely stay at our resort, as your compliments on our facilities and gastronomic offer are highly appreciated by all of our team. Also, we would like to inform you that our Infinity Pool is not heated due to its salt water, which cannot be warmed up.

Regarding your bed preference, we would like to inform you that our team always takes into consideration the room requests we get from the travel agencies or clients, in order to provide our guests what they prefer, although we cannot confirm this request as they are subject to the resort’s availability.

We hope to welcome you soon.
Kind regards,

Pablo Querol
Red Glove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We wanted a quiet and relaxing break just after Christmas and we were not disappointed. Upon arrival to the island we hired a car and went straight to the hotel. Reception staff were welcoming. Finding our room was a bit of an adventure as signposting is not clear and all of the pathways look the same! Once in the room, the Sensatori treatment was clear. Room was spacious and grand, a little too opulent for the style in my opinion. The bed was huge and very firm and comfortable. Outside we had a four poster bed to use but it was located in a cold, dark area so we weren't able to use it.

Food was average. There were lots to choose from but as it was mass cooked due to the size of the hotel i was not overly impressed. There were a few restaurants to choose from and we were advised to book early in the morning. The bbq evening was excellent.

The huge pool was so cold it could not be swam in which i overheard lots of people moaning about it.

We stayed for 7 days and it was relaxing but I won't be going back there in a hurry...

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyMacca26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Mrs. LadyMacca26,

Thank you for the time you have taken to share your valuable comments on TripAdvisor, as well as for choosing Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora for your recent holiday at Tenerife.

Your compliments on our service and our staff, especially pointing out the friendliness of our front desk staff, makes us very proud. Also, we are glad to know that the bed placed at your room was of your liking, although we will take into consideration your comments regarding your private BaliBed.

Referring to our gastronomic offer, your comments about our BBQ night at Oasis Pool Grille are highly appreciated. However, we will study each of your valuable comments as the important feedback is to us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon.
Best regards,

Pablo Querol
Red Glove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This was our second visit to this hotel. My husband and I stayed at the hotel in January. We had enjoyed our first visit so much we wanted to revisit.
I have to say I was slightly disappointed with our room, it looked tired in places and a possible refurbishment is due.
The food in all the restaurants is superb and I simple cannot praise the kitchen staff enough. We stayed on full board plus basis but found the waiters not so forthcoming with drinks during our meals, we almost always had to ask for another drink.
This hotel and experience is overall very good but I do not think Thomson have made the right decision to have an all inclusive package available. I don't particularly think it's needed, the majority of visitors are young families and older couples.
If you get the opportunity book a Segway tour, great experience and really good fun.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Mrs. Janet D,

Thank you for the time you have taken to share your impressions regarding your stay at Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora with the TripAdvisor community.

We are proud to know that you have decided to trust us for the second time for your holiday at Tenerife. Your compliments on our restaurants are highly appreciated, as we create different gastronomic experiences to surprise our guests.

Finally, we would like to inform you that our guests can book any of the different boards we offer such as Accommodation Only, Bed and Breakfast, Half Board (breakfast and dinner once a day without drinks), Full Board (breakfast, lunch and dinner once a day without drinks) or Full Board + (breakfast, lunch and dinner once a day, with the selected drinks included on this package served during these meals) as well as acquiring our Drinks Packages whether Gold package our Silver package (depending on the package, the included drinks may change) served in our bars and during your meals at our restaurants.

We hope to welcome you soon.
Best regards,

Pablo Querol
Red Glove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We booked our Sensatori Tenerife trip through Thomson and went there on 10th to 17th May 2014.
On arrival at the airport we were been transferred to the resort via Minibus where only people with us were staying at Sensatori. (rather than good old transfer buses which stops at all the resorts). We were also been given a form to fill where you enter your general detail (i.e. name, passport no, phone etc) and card details etc. incase you want to dine at any of the paid restaurants or book any paid facilities at the resort. Our room was Deluxe garden view room.

On arrival at the resort our room keys were ready, porter took our luggage to our room (and there was no usual tip me grin on porter’s face or loitering in room). We were briefed about resort facilities at reception.

The Deluxe garden view room we were staying was quite big with largest bed i ever slept in ! Room also had usual stuff you expect to find in resort of this class e.g. big LCD tv, kettle, ipod dock, fridge etc. Balibed in garden was good size too but lack of privacy in garden.Room had tub, his and her sinks, rain shower, toilet/bidet and plenty of towels.

There were six restaurants there: Pangea (Buffet style), Market grill (pool side), Oasis (near the main pool), Club Ocean (Italian restaurant), Nami (Asian Restaurant), Duo (Fine Dining)

First four I mentioned above were free within our All inclusive package and in last two are paid restaurants although you get discounts etc. we loved food at Club Ocean, worth mentioning Pangea as well as it offered good range of buffet and breakfast in morning. There was also showcooking counters at Pangea. Market grill was good for light lunches. Didn’t had chance to visit Nami or Duo as booking wasn’t available for those. Before i forget to mention there are machines located on reception area where you have to make reservations for dinner for all restaurants other than Pangea.

Resort is also offered something call green credit, where if you don’t want your room to get cleaned for day you get 20.00 euro credit which can be used on those paid restaurants and booking bali bed etc.

Main pool is quite long and its salt water pool has water spa jets and Jacuzzi corners etc. there are three other pool where one was red level pool. There is also a black sand beach just outside the resort.

We would definitely go again !!

Room Tip: go for garden rooms, although garden lack privacy etc it doesn't suffer with AC noise or long wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank n4nish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Mr. n4nish,

Thank you for the time you have taken to share this nice review of Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your holiday at Tenerife, as all of our team strives to always offer the highest standards of quality in all of our activities. Your compliments on our rooms, service and restaurants are highly appreciated, although we would like to remind you that our hotel has 8 restaurants: Nami, Dúo Fine Dining, Dúo Tapas & Wine, Pangea, Club Ocean, Oasis Pool Grille and Fish Market, Market Grill and La Terrace. All our restaurants, excepting La Terrace, can be booked on the Sensatori restaurant reservation machines available throughout the resort.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon.
Kind regards,

Pablo Querol
Red Glove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alcala
9.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
22.9 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#1 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,609 reviews
6.7 mi away
Roca Nivaria GH - Adrian Hoteles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
0.1 mi away
RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora
9.4 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#16 of 58 in Costa Adeje
2,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa

Property: Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
Address: Avenida Los Oceanos s/n, 38686 Alcala, Guia de Isora, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Guia de Isora > Alcala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Alcala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 578
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The natural beauty of Tenerife combines with an intense passion for service in the most superior luxury hotel on the island. With the Atlantic Ocean at its feet and the majestic Teide as a backdrop, the stunning scenery and eternal spring climate allows the Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora to provide guests with endless magical moments. The hotel has taken care of everything down to the very finest detail in each of its rooms, creating a personalised setting to ensure your total satisfaction. Imagine the experience of viewing the sun setting over the ocean from one of the magnificent rooms in this fantastic resort, the best 5 star hotel in Tenerife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia, Expedia, Prestigia, Lastminute, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Palacio De Isora Hotel Alcala
Gran Melia Guia De Isora
Palacio De Isora Gran Melia
Gran Melia Palacio De Isora Resort & Spa Tenerife/Guia De Isora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing