We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,879)
Filter reviews
7,879 results
Traveller rating
4,690
1,834
840
288
227
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,690
1,834
840
288
227
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity poolfamily poolmarket grillbuffet restaurantpiano bargarden roomred levelsensatori guestsbeautiful hotelsalt waterbooking systema la carte restaurantsthe sofa bedclub oceanwaiter servicethe wow factorpirate ship
Filter
Updating list...
2,779 - 2,784 of 7,879 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Travelled to this hotel looking forward to it and also quite worried from previous reviews, Booking restaurants for us was not a problem we got into the popular Italian twice and others at least once so no problem there, arriving into the reception was breathtaking, the smell was amazing and we were offered cold welcome drinks and were checked in very quick with ease. Got to our room and the first thing I would say is the room was incredibly dusty and not clean enough for its rating. You also can smell damp in the air this is because the shower seal leaks whenever having a shower which is an annoyance. Woke up and the grounds are outstanding and may I say enormous, we preferred to stay by the adult only pool which was very nice, the infinity pool is huge but it is of course it contains salt water so it may be not first choice for all customers. I would also say that gran melia staff are outstanding in all areas, they greet you with respect and try to help you all the time. There is always one or two though, the manager of the market grill was rude to us being I have celiac disease which is a gluten intolerance, I was asking a simple question if they can provide gluten free food and he just ignored me. Then a polite waiter came over and helped and advised me what they could serve me. Thankfully all was well and he was helpful. The food here was actually very good being it was rather simple and short but the quality was good which was pleasing. Next night we ate in the Oasis grill helpful staff again but the food was disgusting. My partner had a prawn starter and the prawns still had there intestine vain still present which should have been removed prior to serving , her main also tasted disgusting, mine was average. Italian restaurant wise, we were excited about this because all reviews have said its amazing but to be honest it was well okay, no herbs used over salted pasta and an order came wrong. The lobster was nicely cooked though. Staff again apart from taking a wrong order were polite and nice. Pangea buffet restaurant was well bland and we got sick of it by our seventh day, just wish they would rotate food choice every three days or something. The hotel seemed to have a air of snobbery present which is a shame because I don't enjoy that, I felt a great deal of guests think too much of themselves. I like people that are normal and create a nice environment but I suppose each to there own. Location wise its nice I suggest take a walk into Acala along the coast and see the black beach and some crabs and a lot of them. Evening entertainment was very good with house music over a saxophonist, acoustic guitar player and a young duo. Evening shows are a bit tacky but they were fun well done Bruno Mars sorry Jeff Dingle. All in all a beautiful hotel but let down by seriously bad food and some guests that think too much of themselves which is a shame.

Room Tip: Go high up we were in 5079 and we had a nice view of the volcano and just could see the sea.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miles1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Mr. miles1981,

Thank you for the time you have taken to let us know your comments regarding your last stay at Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora through TripAdvisor.

We appreciate each of your comments, as we think that just through listening carefully to our guests’ opinions we will be able to offer unique experiences to our guests. We regret that our gastronomic offer did not meet your expectations, and we will take into consideration your opinion in order to keep improving and bettering our services.

Anyways, your compliments on our facilities, entertainment program and staff are highly appreciated.

We remain at your complete disposal.
Kind regards,

Pablo Querol
Red Glove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We went here last March, unsure if where to book for a relaxing week we saw this on Thomsons website and booked immediately! You literally don't have to leave the hotel, there is a large selection of restaurants and the buffet makes it hard to want to eat anywhere else. There outside bar plays chill out music in the afternoon and is perfect for watching the sunset. The rooms were amazing, a large bed, robes, spacious bathroom with a double bath and a terrace. The rooms were clean as was the rest of the hotel. I am pleased that we went in March, I think height of season would make it too busy. This hotel boasts the largest Infinity Pool in Europe and is a delight to swim in, you never bump into anyone and the you can get straight in the smaller pool for warming ill we had two trips to the Yhi-Shi Spa where we made full use of the sauna, steam room, jacuzzi, pool, everything. There was like two others in ther at the same time as us!!!!! I had a wrap, scrub and massage and it was amazing, my skin was positively glowing. The nightlife was great, a show every night and just sitting outside for tea was more than enough!!!!!

Room Tip: Don't waste money in Red Level! Just go for the Superior Rooms!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Mrs. Lucy R,

Thank you very much for the time you have spent on sharing this excellent review of Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed a wonderful holiday, as it is due to the effort and dedication of our staff, that we are able to achieve our goal – the total satisfaction of our guests. Furthermore, your compliments on our facilities, rooms and Yhi Spa are highly appreciated.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again.
Kind regards,

Pablo Querol
Red Glove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This was our first family holiday with a 4 month old baby - and what a fantastic week it was! We travelled full board plus 17-24th June. We pre-booked a steriliser and cot and this was all provided when we arrived in our room.

The highs:

> Hotel and surrounding areas - beautiful decor and pristine
> Great sized, superb bedroom
> Huge infinity pool - plenty of space to swim
> Quality of food and service at the restaurants was excellent
> The staff at the restaurants were friendly and efficient
> The house wine served during mealtimes was lovely
> Chilled and relaxed atmosphere
> Family friendly

The lows/areas for improvement:

> There was a conference being held at the hotel during our stay - certain areas of the hotel (restaurant and pool bars) were closed off for the attendees
> The Bali beds around the pool should be free for this level of hotel
> On arrival there should be some bottled water provided in the rooms
> Yes the restaurant booking system can be frustrating but we did manage to eat in the restaurants 5 evenings
> Service was slow at the bars
> Slightly isolated resort

I would highly recommend this hotel and would consider booking here again in the future!

Room Tip: A high floor!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Mrs. Amy B,

Thank you for your preference in selecting Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora for your recent holiday, as well as for sharing your opinion with us through TripAdvisor.

It is truly a pleasure for us to know that your family have spent a lovely holiday with us, as your kind comments are the best reward for our staff’s hard work to the service excellence. We are glad to know that our facilities were to your liking and that you have enjoyed our gastronomic offer.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests.

We are hope to see you soon at our resort.
Best regards,

Pablo Querol
Red Glove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Attended a conferance last week.
Rooms were large well appointed could not fault them 32inch TV British channels lovely shower.
Food breakfast very good choice but as often on the continent warm/hot water for tea not boiling
Other meals mostly good but not value for money and small portions.
Fantastic pool lots of beds.
Service at the bars very very poor should have allowed for the number of people attending.
Not as good as I was expecting

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank portugal563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Mr. portugal563,

Thank your for the time you have spent on sharing with the TripAdvisor community your comments regarding your last stay at Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora.

Your compliments on our rooms and breakfast are highly appreciated, although we will take into consideration each of your comments for future improvements, as your feedback is a great value for us to carry on with our efforts to always improve and better ourselves.

We hope to welcome you soon to our resort.
Kind regards,

Pablo Querol
Red Glove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Having just spent five days at a conference here we have just returned and booked a holiday here in December. The amenities are great, there is lots of variety, the food is great and most staff are very friendly. You don't really need to venture outside of the resort as it has it all there. The only down side was the service at the bar which at best was very slow and not too friendly. We can put up with that and would highly recommend for a relaxing and pampered holiday.

Room Tip: Allegedly the rooms on the ground floor often have a jacuzzi! All rooms are great!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tommotomlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Mr. tommotomlin,

We would like to begin by thanking you for the time you have spent on sharing your impressions with us through TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed a lovely stay during the conference and that your experience with us was so positive that you decided to honor us again with another stay on December. However, we will take into consideration each of your comments as a great value for us to carry on with our efforts to improve and better ourselves to offer our guests unique experiences on Tenerife.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again on December.
Kind regards,

Pablo Querol
Red Glove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews