We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Book now, pay at stay
US$310
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Allegro Isora(Playa de la Arena)
US$191
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Dragos Del Sur(Puerto de Santiago)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Globales Tamaimo Tropical(Puerto de Santiago)
US$292
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$241
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Ona El Marques(Santiago del Teide)(Great Value!)
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Royal Sun Resort(Los Gigantes)
US$226
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (7,709)
Filter reviews
7,709 results
Traveller rating
4,602
1,795
811
280
221
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,602
1,795
811
280
221
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity poolfamily poolred levelmarket grillbuffet restaurantpiano bargarden roomsensatori guestsbeautiful hotelsalt waterbooking systema la carte restaurantsthe wow factorclub oceandrinks packagepirate shipwaiter service
Filter
Updating list...
2,722 - 2,727 of 7,709 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Right then, after having read the mixed reviews my and my partner were very concerned. The hotel looks splendid and very modern. All areas are specious with several bars, restaurants and a theatre with tribute acts (btw. those guys are trying very hard to please the audience, so those who wrote negative reviews about them here should not do so unless the are successful singers themselves!). The DJ and the guy playing saxophone to some chill out house music as well as the guitarist on the main terrace area by the italian restaurant have had a very de-stressing effect, so well-done to them!You will find that all the staff are very tactful and courteous and if unsure would double check with the kitchen and come back to you, which is a good practice. Regarding the food itself we were rather disappointed (bearing in mind that we visited the hotel based on my partner's friend recommendation who went there a couple of years ago and said that the food was one of the best selling points). The buffet food has been pretty much the same every single day and there was no availability for my partner with celiac disease to have gluten free bread, pancakes or pasta during breakfast or lunch. All the fruit was unripe, especially the super-sour pineapple which tasted more like a lemon which I presume comes from the fact that they order everything in bulk and keep refrigerated for freshness, but it doesn't work I am afraid. There were no berries available to accompany pancakes apart from some sour strawberries, no king prawns, only one lamb dish in a whole week and no pecans which I tend to have to accompany my breakfast. Regarding the meat in the buffet restaurant, well all the meat that was served in a sauce was chewy and undercooked On the other hand the fried bananas were delicious and the olive bread with some cream cheese was delightful with some coffee. Regarding restaurants-both the market grill and oasis bar and grill are not to any standard whatsoever and the menus are poor. The beef stroganoff I've had has turned out to be the worst meal I've ever had in my life-the poor quality meat tasted of flour it has been coated in and the sauce tasted like a school dinner, yyykkk. The lemon mouse has had some strange curds in texture and was extremely unnaturally acidic as it tasted of citric acid and not a lemon juice and has had no trace of a lemon zest at all. The coconut mousse was lovely on the other side, so no idea how they got the other one so wrong. The mango sorbet was very sweet, but flavoursome and the lobster itself was nice, but the pasta and the sauce it was served with were terrible, as it has had an intensive earthy wholegrain flavour with outrageous amounts of salt in stodgy. Would have been soooo much better in some tomato sauce with a drizzle of cream, lemon and garlic and a little bit of garnish so a bit of a shame on that one. Also, don't get too excited about the chocolate fondant cake- all you will get would be an overcooked chocolate cake. Change of subject-the Sensatori reps are not of any use whatsoever as when we are awaiting a bus transfer back to the airport and the bus pulled up late and the driver thought it was only for the Manchester flight and not the East Midlands one so we were stood outside trying to work it out and communicate with a driver whose English was rather poor and guess what the reps did-erm, nothing all three of them were sat around their desks inside the hotel chatting away, such a shame they didn't bother getting involved. Well anyways,all those reviews would depend on personal standards and expectations so you will find rating being under and above this one. I don't think we will be returning due to the clientele behaving like they were God's gift to the earth which I am not going to bother going into detail about, but I would say try it and see if it is for you.

Room Tip: The higher up the better room. You can see the volcano if you come out to your balcony on those facing the buffet restaurant.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Mrs. Marta M,

We would like to begin by thanking you for the time you have spent on sharing with us your comments regarding your last stay, as well as for selecting our resort for your holiday.

Your compliments on our entertainment program are highly appreciated, although we will take into consideration each of your comments regarding our gastronomic offer for future improvements, as we consider your feedback as great value for us to keep bettering every aspect of our activities. Also, we would like to thank you for your kind comments regarding our service, as all of our staff will be delighted to know that they made a positive difference on your holiday.

Finally, we would like to inform you that both in our breakfast and lunch service we have special products for guests with special alimentary needs, such as guests with celiac disease. Please, do not hesitate to contact our restaurants’ staff in order to get more information about the products available.

We hope to welcome you soon to Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora.
Kind regards,

Pablo Querol
Red Glove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Travelled to this hotel looking forward to it and also quite worried from previous reviews, Booking restaurants for us was not a problem we got into the popular Italian twice and others at least once so no problem there, arriving into the reception was breathtaking, the smell was amazing and we were offered cold welcome drinks and were checked in very quick with ease. Got to our room and the first thing I would say is the room was incredibly dusty and not clean enough for its rating. You also can smell damp in the air this is because the shower seal leaks whenever having a shower which is an annoyance. Woke up and the grounds are outstanding and may I say enormous, we preferred to stay by the adult only pool which was very nice, the infinity pool is huge but it is of course it contains salt water so it may be not first choice for all customers. I would also say that gran melia staff are outstanding in all areas, they greet you with respect and try to help you all the time. There is always one or two though, the manager of the market grill was rude to us being I have celiac disease which is a gluten intolerance, I was asking a simple question if they can provide gluten free food and he just ignored me. Then a polite waiter came over and helped and advised me what they could serve me. Thankfully all was well and he was helpful. The food here was actually very good being it was rather simple and short but the quality was good which was pleasing. Next night we ate in the Oasis grill helpful staff again but the food was disgusting. My partner had a prawn starter and the prawns still had there intestine vain still present which should have been removed prior to serving , her main also tasted disgusting, mine was average. Italian restaurant wise, we were excited about this because all reviews have said its amazing but to be honest it was well okay, no herbs used over salted pasta and an order came wrong. The lobster was nicely cooked though. Staff again apart from taking a wrong order were polite and nice. Pangea buffet restaurant was well bland and we got sick of it by our seventh day, just wish they would rotate food choice every three days or something. The hotel seemed to have a air of snobbery present which is a shame because I don't enjoy that, I felt a great deal of guests think too much of themselves. I like people that are normal and create a nice environment but I suppose each to there own. Location wise its nice I suggest take a walk into Acala along the coast and see the black beach and some crabs and a lot of them. Evening entertainment was very good with house music over a saxophonist, acoustic guitar player and a young duo. Evening shows are a bit tacky but they were fun well done Bruno Mars sorry Jeff Dingle. All in all a beautiful hotel but let down by seriously bad food and some guests that think too much of themselves which is a shame.

Room Tip: Go high up we were in 5079 and we had a nice view of the volcano and just could see the sea.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miles1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Mr. miles1981,

Thank you for the time you have taken to let us know your comments regarding your last stay at Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora through TripAdvisor.

We appreciate each of your comments, as we think that just through listening carefully to our guests’ opinions we will be able to offer unique experiences to our guests. We regret that our gastronomic offer did not meet your expectations, and we will take into consideration your opinion in order to keep improving and bettering our services.

Anyways, your compliments on our facilities, entertainment program and staff are highly appreciated.

We remain at your complete disposal.
Kind regards,

Pablo Querol
Red Glove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We went here last March, unsure if where to book for a relaxing week we saw this on Thomsons website and booked immediately! You literally don't have to leave the hotel, there is a large selection of restaurants and the buffet makes it hard to want to eat anywhere else. There outside bar plays chill out music in the afternoon and is perfect for watching the sunset. The rooms were amazing, a large bed, robes, spacious bathroom with a double bath and a terrace. The rooms were clean as was the rest of the hotel. I am pleased that we went in March, I think height of season would make it too busy. This hotel boasts the largest Infinity Pool in Europe and is a delight to swim in, you never bump into anyone and the you can get straight in the smaller pool for warming ill we had two trips to the Yhi-Shi Spa where we made full use of the sauna, steam room, jacuzzi, pool, everything. There was like two others in ther at the same time as us!!!!! I had a wrap, scrub and massage and it was amazing, my skin was positively glowing. The nightlife was great, a show every night and just sitting outside for tea was more than enough!!!!!

Room Tip: Don't waste money in Red Level! Just go for the Superior Rooms!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Mrs. Lucy R,

Thank you very much for the time you have spent on sharing this excellent review of Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed a wonderful holiday, as it is due to the effort and dedication of our staff, that we are able to achieve our goal – the total satisfaction of our guests. Furthermore, your compliments on our facilities, rooms and Yhi Spa are highly appreciated.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again.
Kind regards,

Pablo Querol
Red Glove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This was our first family holiday with a 4 month old baby - and what a fantastic week it was! We travelled full board plus 17-24th June. We pre-booked a steriliser and cot and this was all provided when we arrived in our room.

The highs:

> Hotel and surrounding areas - beautiful decor and pristine
> Great sized, superb bedroom
> Huge infinity pool - plenty of space to swim
> Quality of food and service at the restaurants was excellent
> The staff at the restaurants were friendly and efficient
> The house wine served during mealtimes was lovely
> Chilled and relaxed atmosphere
> Family friendly

The lows/areas for improvement:

> There was a conference being held at the hotel during our stay - certain areas of the hotel (restaurant and pool bars) were closed off for the attendees
> The Bali beds around the pool should be free for this level of hotel
> On arrival there should be some bottled water provided in the rooms
> Yes the restaurant booking system can be frustrating but we did manage to eat in the restaurants 5 evenings
> Service was slow at the bars
> Slightly isolated resort

I would highly recommend this hotel and would consider booking here again in the future!

Room Tip: A high floor!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Mrs. Amy B,

Thank you for your preference in selecting Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora for your recent holiday, as well as for sharing your opinion with us through TripAdvisor.

It is truly a pleasure for us to know that your family have spent a lovely holiday with us, as your kind comments are the best reward for our staff’s hard work to the service excellence. We are glad to know that our facilities were to your liking and that you have enjoyed our gastronomic offer.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests.

We are hope to see you soon at our resort.
Best regards,

Pablo Querol
Red Glove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Attended a conferance last week.
Rooms were large well appointed could not fault them 32inch TV British channels lovely shower.
Food breakfast very good choice but as often on the continent warm/hot water for tea not boiling
Other meals mostly good but not value for money and small portions.
Fantastic pool lots of beds.
Service at the bars very very poor should have allowed for the number of people attending.
Not as good as I was expecting

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank portugal563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Mr. portugal563,

Thank your for the time you have spent on sharing with the TripAdvisor community your comments regarding your last stay at Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora.

Your compliments on our rooms and breakfast are highly appreciated, although we will take into consideration each of your comments for future improvements, as your feedback is a great value for us to carry on with our efforts to always improve and better ourselves.

We hope to welcome you soon to our resort.
Kind regards,

Pablo Querol
Red Glove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews