We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,879)
Filter reviews
7,879 results
Traveller rating
4,690
1,834
840
288
227
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,690
1,834
840
288
227
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity poolfamily poolmarket grillbuffet restaurantpiano bargarden roomred levelsensatori guestsbeautiful hotelsalt waterbooking systema la carte restaurantsthe sofa bedclub oceanwaiter servicethe wow factorpirate ship
Filter
Updating list...
2,770 - 2,775 of 7,879 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We have just had the most relaxing experience ever staying at the Gran Melia Hotel in Tenerife, part of the Sensatori experience with Thomson Holidays. It was like being in a health spa but with the sunshine. Amazing!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
Thank Debbie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Mrs. Debbie N,

Thank you for the time you have taken to share this excellent review of Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora on TripAdvisor.

It is truly a pleasure for all of us to know that you have enjoyed a lovely stay, as your feedback encourage us to keep working with the same service philosophy to pampers each of our guests so they can spent unforgettable moments at our resort.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon.
Kind regards,

Pablo Querol
Red Glove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This is the second time in two years that we stayed at this resort, and we had a sensational time. The weather was a mild 75 degrees everyday with perfect sunshine everyday. The saltwater pool which boasts as the largest in Europe was amazing and refreshing. The facility was clean and immaculate...Since we are with Club Melia, our check-in was easy and efficient. I have to commend Natalia and Victoria for all their assistance both before and after our arrival. It was my brother and his wife's 26th wedding anniversary during our visit, and I was able to arrange some special sparkling wine, chocolates and cake during our stay. What a great team Natalia and Victoria were! We signed up for "Full Board-Plus" during our stay which included three meals and wine/beer during the meals. However, unlike most "all inclusive" resorts it DOES NOT include drinks during the day (outside of meals) - alcohol or non-alcohol nor does it include snacks. In fact, you must pay extra for coffee during lunch or dinner...which we felt was very odd...especially, since the amount of wine they provide during the meals...
We had two Master Suites over looking the ocean and the pool...it was amazing. The rooms were very clean and room service was exceptional. In fact, my brother and his wife enjoyed the accommodations so much, they were ready to become a member of Club Melia.
The YHI spa was terrific, as well.

One big negative, were the aggressive/bold birds during meals at the outdoor area of the buffet...they were absolutely terrible. The birds would actually land on your table and feed on your meal the minute you got up or turned your head. We watch this time and time again...it was nasty! It even happened to us...

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Mr. Mark H,

Thank you for the time you have spent on sharing this excellent review of Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora on TripAdvisor.

Your compliments on our facilities and staff are highly appreciated, as it is due to the effort of our team, that we are able to achieve our goal – the total satisfaction of our guests. Your positive feedback is the best reward for their dedication, and you may rest assured that we will forward your kind comments to Natalia and Victoria, who will be delighted to know that they have made a positive difference on your holiday.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again to our resort.
Kind regards,

Pablo Querol
Red Glove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I stayed here with my partner and our 6 year old son. The service was great and staff very friendly. My son loved the kids disco which was well put together.
We ate in the buffet every night as he is a fussy eater and we always found something for him to eat.
The pools were amazing, when the loungers were all taken the pool attendant found us space and bought loungers to us!
Loved the guitarist and lounge areas.
The only small thing I would change is the area where the bouncy castles were at night. My little boy loved playing in here but the seating area is like a community centre, some nice loungers and music would have been much better.
Would definitely return here.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Sianiesian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Mr. Sianiesian,

Thank you for the time you have spent on sharing this excellent review of Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora on TripAdvisor, as well as for your preference in selecting us for your last holiday at Tenerife.

It is truly a pleasure to know that your family has enjoyed a pleasant stay, specially your son, as we strive to offer unforgettable experiences for every member of our guests’ families. Also, we are delighted to know that our Pangea restaurant was to your liking and that you enjoyed both our entertainment program and facilities. Your feedback is the best reward to our team’s hard work to always offer unique experiences at Tenerife.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon.
Kind regards,

Pablo Querol
Red Glove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed here whilst there was a convention going on ( we were not part of the convention) slow service in the bars, we paid for the all inclusive package, we waited approx 30 mins to be served in the outside bar, when we went to the bar we were just told to sit down and someone would come to get our order, we waited a further 10 mins. No apology , and very occasional smile. Had expected better service on an all inclusive. This was our third stay at this hotel. Service is slipping
The buffet seemed to be a little of the same every night.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah123Cardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Mrs. Sarah123Cardiff,

Firstly we would like to thank you for your preference in selecting Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora for the third time for your holiday, as well as for the time you have taken to share your impressions with us through TripAdvisor.

We would like to inform you that in Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora we do not commercialize any All Inclusive package. Our guests can book any of the boards we have such as Accommodation Only, Bed and Breakfast, Half Board, Full Board or our Full Board + Package, which includes all the three meals during the day (breakfast, lunch and dinner) and the selected drinks (included on this package) served during the meals. Also, they can choose to acquire our Silver or Gold Drinks Package, which include several drinks (depending on the package, the included drinks may change) served in our bars and restaurants. Therefore, our Food & Beverage services do not include an AI package such as the one you mentioned. However, do not hesitate that we will take into consideration your comments for further improvements.

We hope to welcome you soon to our resort.
Best regards,

Pablo Querol
Red Glove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Having been to Sensatori Crete last year and thoroughly enjoying it we decided to try Tenerife. The Hotel itself is very impressive, it's on a grand scale and immaculate. Reception staff are very friendly and helpful. We booked a Garden Room which was lovely very spacious but quite gloomy and had very little natural light. It had a Bali bed which was a nice touch but quite useless if you wanted to get any sun.

The food was of a good standard but was more or less the same everyday. We had no problem booking restaurants although were limited as we had a 3 1/2 year old and children were only allowed in them on specific nights. We ate in Market Grill which the menu was limited and food poor...I wouldn't recommend. We ate at the Oasis Grill twice and enjoyed it service was good and food was nice. The oasis bar was shocking for service, my husband waited 30 minutes to get served and ended up walking away. The service in the main restaurant was hit and miss, I had to ask several times for drinks and also for plates to be moved.....this seems to be the norm in the inside part. I think the management need to re think the staffing in this area as the staff never stop but are busy clearing tables ready for new guests to be able to service the ones already there.

The hotel as a large infinity pool....very salty. Family pool....very salty and a small pool with a pirate ship in which is quite tucked away, we stayed in this pool as the water was much better. I wouldn't like to think I was going in peak season as you would struggle to get beds around this pool. There is a button which you press for service around this pool which is a nice touch.

We didn't attend any of the evening entertainment as we had a small child so Russel the Brussel was as far as we went :-) the kids show was brill and my daughter loved it. She also went to the daytime supervised events which again she loved, all the staff there are lovely, bright and bubbly.

I have to agree with other comments that the Sensatori staff were of no use at all and I can't understand why they would need 3 staff at the desk! I reported a nappy in the garden to them and it was still there the next day, I went to the hotel reception and it was gone within 10 minutes.

Even though I have a small child I found at times meal times were a struggle mainly because parents couldn't control their children, there was lots of screaming and creating from the children and lots of pleading from the parents......rather than telling them to behave.

In a nutshell it's a lovely hotel but service is hit and miss and there is an air of snobbery about. There is little outside the hotel so you are stuck. I much prefer the service and ambiance of Sensatori Crete to this one. We have booked Sensatori Egypt for December and I'm now a little nervousness as this hotel didn't live upto my expectations.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank DonnaSYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Mrs. DonnaSYorks,

Firstly we would like to thank you for your preference in selecting Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora for your holiday at Tenerife, as well as for the time you have taken to share your impressions through TripAdvisor.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed our facilities and entertainment program, although we are sorry that our service did not suit your expectations, as all of our team strives to pamper each of our guests. You may rest assured that we will forward your comments to the area supervisor in order to take them into consideration for future improvements.

We would like to remind you that most of our restaurants are family-friendly, excepting La Terrace, located in our Red Level, which is adults only, and our Dúo Fine Dining’s inner dining area, which is adults only excepting Thursday and Friday evening.

We hope to welcome you soon to our resort.
Kind regards,

Pablo Querol
Red Glove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews