We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Alcala
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We had a most enjoyable week. We reviewed some of the reports on trip advisor and were a little concerned with the booking option for the restaurants and room location, we booked Sensatori. We had no issues with either, We were located in 3016 and had a garden view overlooking the Pangea, and were able to book each restaurant that we desired, we did not book try and book Nami but it was booked each night when we made our bookings, if this is a desired option for some then this could be an issue, but really all the other restaurants more than compensate.

The hotel facilities, staff etc, all wonderful, how people can criticise is beyond me, I travel at least 10 times a year business and pleasure. The Gran Melia Palacio is a wonderful place to be, the people that have moaned must be travelling to some pretty up market Hotels bearing in mind this is a holiday based hotel. The Gran Melia offered us everything that we desired and more, it is a wonderful holiday hotel, which is what it is designed to be.

Thank you to the staff, all were very pleasant and accommodating.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
2 Thank Colin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Mr. Colin W,

Thank you for the time you have taken to share this excellent review of Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora on TripAdvisor.

It is truly a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay at Tenerife, as our team strives to always improve ourselves to accomplish the service excellence. Moreover, your comments on our rooms and restaurants are highly appreciated.

We hope to welcome you soon to our resort.
Best regards,

Pablo Querol
Red Glove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,971
    1,501
    663
    223
    171
See reviews for
2,290
3,326
60
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,213)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Workington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed for two weeks at the end of June to celebrate our silver wedding and booked ourselves into a garden room The room was gorgeous with a huge bed and a bathroom to die for but the best bit was having our own garden with a Bali bed which sat on the edge of a large pond filled with goldfish. We stayed on a full board plus basis which is the usual three meals a day plus wine and beer with lunch and evening meals which I recommend. Some of the restaurants were not included in the price and we tried a couple of them which were lovely but be warned they are expensive, on both occasions we paid over 150 euros. The hotel's furnishings are lovely, very clean and if, like me, you like your greenery the gardens are gorgeous, there are trees even growing all around the inside of the hotel. The thing I was surprised at were the number of babies and toddlers that were there, loads and loads of them. The main buffet restaurant could get very noisy but there was a lovely adult only area outside on the terrace, you may have to wait for a table but if you like it quiet then its worth the wait. The same applies to the pools, there was a toddlers pool and a family pool and a couple of 16+ only pools, these were in the aptly named Tranquility Areas where we could be found most days. This was a holiday where time stood still, nothing much to do and all day to do it. I absolutely loved every single second of it and would go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Choose a top floor room if you don't want to be listening to someone tapdancing on your ceiling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Mrs. Sue M,

Thank you for the time you have taken to share this excellent review of Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed a lovely holiday, as your satisfaction is the best reward to our staff’s dedication to the service excellence. Your compliments on our rooms, gastronomic offer and facilities are highly appreciated as well.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again at our resort.
Kind regards,

Pablo Querol
Red Glove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

A beautiful hotel with spacious comfortable rooms that caters for all holiday makers. My wife and I have just returned from this extremely classy hotel complex and both feel totally relaxed after a perfect week. There was plenty of space round the really impressive pools to just chill out. We went to the adult area most days but even the magnificent 260m sea water pool that frames the hotel had plenty of space and many quiet little areas. I would not put anyone off visiting this fabulous hotel. Our only beef was missing the Friday BBQ as our flight arrived in late Friday evening and we left at 6.40pm the following Friday, too early it pig out on BBQ! Not the hotel's fault though!! Thanks to all the charming and helpful staff for making our week truly memorable.

Room Tip: They all seemed great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coltinalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Mr. coltinalex,

Firstly we would like to thank you for selecting Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora for your holiday at Tenerife , as well as for the time you have spent on sharing your impressions with us.

It is truly a pleasure for us to know that you have enjoyed a relaxing stay at our resort, as all of our team strives to always offer unforgettable experiences to our guests. We are glad to read that both our pools and gastronomic offer covered your expectations as well.

We hope to see you soon at our resort.
Kind regards,

Pablo Querol
Red Glove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

The experience I gathered here, leaves me torn in between the excellent and the poor.
On the excellent side there are:
- Location
- Quality of premises (pool landscapes, variety of bars and restaurants, rooms)
- Variation of sports activities
On the poor side there are:
- Lack of service-mentality
- Restaurant management
- Beach

The location and the premise couldn't be better. First of all, Tenerife is known for its excellent climate. That coupled with a modern architecture (the resort opened in October 2008) and direct access to the beach forms the basis for a five-star experience. Unfortunately the hotel management (or the one of the Gran Melia chain) doesn't take benefit from this basis. I personally feel a lot better in a less than perfect environment with outstanding service mentality than the other way round. I just hate to constantly being confronted with employees who give me the impression that I need to be taught the rules. And this is precisely what happens all day long at the Palacio de Isora.
"This doesn't work as per your request!", "This is not possible!", "You can't do that here!", "We don't offer that service!" - I'm happy to give concrete examples on request. But this really kills my vacation. So, sorry guys - unless you change things, I will not come back.

Room Tip: Insist on seaside view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank i-love-zermatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Mr. i-love-zermatt,

We would like to begin by thanking you for your choosing Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora for your holiday, as well as for the time you have taken to share your feedback with us through TripAdvisor.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed our facilities and entertainment program, although we would like to inform you that in order to guarantee the optimal operation of our services, we apply some policies, so this way all of our guests can enjoy a lovely experience at our resort. However, do not hesitate that we will take into consideration your comments, as we think that just through listening carefully to our guests’ opinions, we will be able to carry on with our efforts to always improve ourselves.

We hope to welcome you soon at Tenerife.
Kind regards,

Pablo Querol
Red Glove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We travelled to Tenerife as a family for the first time, and chose the holiday primarily due to the luxury hotel. We were not disappointed.
Fabulous wow factor on entering the hotel. Staf very friendly and helpful.
Restaurants nice, but would have like more authentic varied food on offer. With Restaurant bookings we had no troubles unlike previous other reviews, but maybe in peak season this could be a problem.
Hotel room lovely but sofa bed for my 2 children not very comfortable.
Really good Eco choice not to have room cleaned and towels change in return for 20 euro per day to spend in complex. Advise to really check bill on leaving as random drinks were added to our bill.
Hotel pools lovely, they make it easy not to leave complex, but on venturing out on local buses we had a chance of see more dramatic coast line.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Mr. Cb B,

Thank you for the time you have spent on sharing this review of Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay at Tenerife, as your positive feedback is the best reward to our staff’s dedication. We will take into consideration each of your comments as a great value for us to carry on with our efforts to always improve ourselves.

We hope to welcome you soon.
Kind regards,

Pablo Querol
Red Glove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

First impression of the resort was excellent. Bell boys on hand to transfer luggage to rooms, and a welcome drink waiting. We were given an upgrade to a room with a small garden, complete with Bali bed. Hotel is spotless with plenty of open airy seating. Staff are all very courteous. The complex is very Eco friendly. We had the option to request no housekeeping and to receive €20 per day to spend on drinks, Bali beds etc. The food is excellent, with a choice if 7 restaurants. There are several pools including an adult only pool, and the largest infinity pool in Europe. In the evening, there is a variety if entertainment both in the theatre and in the bars. The main plaza has a fountain display with lights and music. All in all, a slice of paradise in the Med

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Mrs. Christine D,

Firstly we would like to thank you for selecting Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora for your holiday, as well as for the time you have taken to share your experience on TripAdvisor.

It is truly a pleasure for us to know that you have enjoyed a lovely holiday and that your stay exceeded your expectations. Your compliments on our rooms, gastronomic offer and facilities are highly appreciated.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again.
Kind regards,

Pablo Querol
Red Glove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

I can not speak highly enough of this hotel. My family and I (party of 8) stayed here between 5th and 12th July this year and spent a week in abject luxury; the hotel is stunning and our three rooms were fabulous. We enjoyed most of our meals in the Pangea restaurant, choosing to sit outside overlooking the koi carp lake which kept the kids endlessly entertained. The Pirate Pool was a big hit with our 3 and 1 year old and altogether we had a thoroughly wonderful time. My only gripe is mainly directed at Melia.com itself who we booked through (so the fault is not aimed at the hotel). When booking, we chose to book through Melia.com direct instead of Thomson as they offer preferential rates. They also offered an incentive of '20 euros per room per day' to spend during the stay. As we booked three rooms we anticipated €140 each to spend or have taken off the bill at the end of our stay. We also signed up for their much advertised Melia Reward cards, promising even further points and rewards during our stay. On check out we merrily informed the man at the desk that we had booked through Melia.com and we would be taking advantage of our 20€ incentive 'per room per day'- a collective saving of 420€. This is where he asked us for our 'voucher'...a voucher that should have been sent with our booking confirmation, but was not. As this was the sole reason we booked through Melia I felt truly let down and frustrated, mainly for my other family members. This left a bad vibe on an otherwise superb holiday. We were informed by the concierge that we would need to speak to 'Melia head office' and ask about our missing vouchers- if someone can provide me with an email address I will gladly do this. Just to reiterate, this is a fantastic place, just let down somewhat by the people at the top.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Mrs. Kate B,

We would like to begin by thanking you for selecting Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora for your holiday, as well as for the time you have spent on sharing your comments on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to know that every member of your family enjoyed a lovely time at our resort, as our team strives to create unforgettable experiences for every guest. In addition, your kind comments on our Pirate Pool and Pangea restaurant are highly appreciated.

Regarding the situation you mentioned about your booking, we have already contacted you in order to solve it. In case you have not received our email, please do not hesitate con contact with us directly.

We hope to welcome you soon.
Kind regards,

Pablo Querol
Red Glove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alcala
22.9 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#2 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,514 reviews
9.7 mi away
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
#14 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,320 reviews
9.4 mi away
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
6.7 mi away
Roca Nivaria GH - Adrian Hoteles
0.1 mi away
RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa

Property: Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
Address: Avenida Los Oceanos s/n, 38686 Alcala, Guia de Isora, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Guia de Isora > Alcala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Alcala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 578
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The natural beauty of Tenerife combines with an intense passion for service in the most superior luxury hotel on the island. With the Atlantic Ocean at its feet and the majestic Teide as a backdrop, the stunning scenery and eternal spring climate allows the Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora to provide guests with endless magical moments. The hotel has taken care of everything down to the very finest detail in each of its rooms, creating a personalised setting to ensure your total satisfaction. Imagine the experience of viewing the sun setting over the ocean from one of the magnificent rooms in this fantastic resort, the best 5 star hotel in Tenerife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Melia, Lastminute, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Palacio De Isora Hotel Alcala
Gran Melia Guia De Isora
Palacio De Isora Gran Melia
Gran Melia Palacio De Isora Resort & Spa Tenerife/Guia De Isora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing