We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very recommendable hoel resort in Teneriffa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Alcala
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Frankfurt, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very recommendable hoel resort in Teneriffa”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Staying in the Hotel Resort was overwhelming; we enjoyed the utmost friendly
service and the unbelievable huge pool landsscape. However, the overall
generation of music, even in the relaxing area for adults only, was disturbing.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
1 Thank ulandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Mr. ulandt,

Thank you for the time you have taken to share this nice review of our resort on TripAdvisor.

All of the Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora’s team would like to thank you for your kind comments regarding our service and facilities, as your satisfaction is the best reward to our staff’s dedication to the service excellence. However, do not hesitate that we will take into consideration your comments regarding our background music for future improvements.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again at Tenerife.
Kind regards,

Pablo Querol
Red Glove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,617 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,028
    1,520
    670
    227
    172
See reviews for
2,326
3,366
60
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,222)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

I have just returned today from our fourteen night stay at the Red Level, with my wife and our two daughters. I cannot sing it's praises enough. From the moment you check in it really is a wonderful experience.
Firstly, and most importantly for us, all the staff at the Red Level made our stay. A big thank you to Barbara around the pool, Danel and Kamila in the Red Level restaurant, and then Alfredo and all the girls at reception. They really could not do enough for us.
All the restaurants, in particular Duo and Nami, and the hotel as a whole were also of very high standard. My daughters and I regularly used the gym facilities and the sports hub, which holds a huge variety of sports classes throughout the day.

Thank you for a wonderful 2 weeks, and looking forward to returning soon.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Millieros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Mr. Millieros,

We would like to begin by thanking you, not only for selecting Red Level at Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora for your holiday, but also for the time you have taken to share your comments on TripAdvisor.

We are proud to read that your stay at Tenerife exceeded your expectations and that the service provided by our Red Level team were to your liking, as they strive to offer unforgettable experiences to each of our guests. Also, your compliments on our Dúo and Nami restaurants and activities program are highly appreciated.

We hope to welcome you soon.
Best regards,

Pablo Querol
Red Glove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markinch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Stated all-inclusive But was only drink plus package

Limited drinks list

Poor service Not interested unless tipped , the food quality was bland at best . chefs in buffet resturant were poor . Selection on salads poor
Room service poor Hotel staff only interested if you were red level

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Mr. Robert B,

First we would like to thank you for your preference in selecting Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora for your holiday at Tenerife, as well as for the time you have spent on sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

We would like to inform you that in Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora we do not commercialize any kind of All Inclusive package. Therefore our guests can book any of the different boards we offer such as Accommodation Only, Bed and Breakfast, Half Board (breakfast and dinner once a day without drinks), Full Board (breakfast, lunch and dinner once a day without drinks) or Full Board + (breakfast, lunch and dinner once a day, with the selected drinks included on this package served during these meals) as well as acquiring our Drinks Packages whether Gold package or Silver package (depending on the package, the included drinks may change) served in our bars and during your meals at our restaurants.

However, you may rest assured that we will analyze each of your comments and suggestions for future improvements, as your feedback is a great value for us to carry on with our effort to always improve ourselves.

We hope to welcome you soon.
Best regards,

Pablo Querol
Red Glove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Just returned from a wonderful week with my husband and four month old baby on our first family holiday.

The good:

Beautiful hotel which really had the wow factor, especially the foyer which feels very Vegas like. Very grand, huge space and beautifully decorated.

The 290 meter infinity pool is just massive and totally beautiful. The main feature of the hotel.

The bedrooms are also immaculate and the Eco-friendly incentive they offer where you get a 20 euro credit any day you choose not to have your room cleaned is a great idea. We actually racked up 80 euros within our stay which paid for all our evening and poolside drinks. They also had all our preordered baby equipment ready and waiting in our room which was brilliant. (Steriliser, bottle warmer etc)

The complimentary day activities for adults and children are also fantastic. I enjoyed yoga or Pilates with Cassie every morning outside in the shade which was a lovely addition to a relaxing holiday.

The only niggles I have is:

The lack of us loungers versus number of guests. There is a daily battle to get a sun lounger before 10am (as your not allowed to reserve) as there just aren't quite enough seats for all guests. Also the areas specially reserved for Red level and melia club guests, where there are empty loungers all day long.

The lack of staff. Maybe it was the time of year at the beginning of high season, but it felt that there weren't quite enough staff to keep service levels to a real Five star standard.

The restaurants reservation system (again) as a result of not enough capacity at the restaurants. We only managed to get one night at Ocean Restauant and we had a baby who made it easy to go to the reservation hubs at 6.30am and still there were no tables available!

Overall we had a lovely holiday and would definitely recommend but feel there are a few issues which need to be ironed out by management before I would say it was truly a five star hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenn_ukLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Mrs. jenn_ukLondon_UK,

Thank you your choosing Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora for your first family holiday, as well as for the time you have taken to share your experience on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay at Tenerife, as it is due to the effort and dedication of our team, that we are able to achieve our goal – the total satisfaction of our guests. Also, your compliments on our facilities, our sustainable initiative, the Green Choice, and entertainment program are highly appreciated. However, do not hesitate that we will take into consideration each of your comments for future improvements.

Regarding to your comments about Sensatori’s computer system to book our restaurants, you may rest assured that we will forward your impressions to Thomson, in order for them to take them into consideration for future improvements. In addition, we would like to inform you that our resort has enough sunbeds for all of our guests, although sometimes it may be difficult to find many loungers together at an specific area of your liking. However, do not hesitate to contact our Pool Concierge team, who will be glad to help you find loungers for you.

We hope to see you soon at Tenerife.
Kind regards,

Pablo Querol
Red Glove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenerife
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This hotel has the wow factor when you arrive and this stayed with us the whole time. The hotel is well kept and all areas are decorated very stylishly. We had red level service which was great. Ana and the other staff were so friendly and helpful. We also had priority booking on the restaurants so could get in every night. We heard the Thomson guests found it hard to get in

Food wasn't excellent and would expect better for this class of hotel. We liked the Italian but had an average meal at the Mediterranean one. Pools were excellent with choice for everyone. The family pool was saltwater which I found stung my eyes slightly. Overall a brilliant holiday and will defiantly return!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Mrs. Lucy M,

First we would like to thank you for your preference in selecting Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora for your holiday and for the time you have spent on sharing your impressions through TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay at Tenerife, as well as the Red Level service provided by our team. However, you may rest assured that we will take into consideration each of your comments as a great value for us to keep bettering ourselves and we will analyze each of your impressions. Finally, we would like to inform you that our Family Pool is not saltwater but heated fresh water.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon.
Best regards,

Pablo Querol
Red Glove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We went Sensatori - just me and my daughter. Our first solo holiday together and I wanted it to be special. I waited a while before reviewing the holiday so I could reflect on our stay. The hotel, staff, room, facilities exceeded our expectations. The pictures from our holiday have made our friends jealous and look exactly like a brochure! We went full board plus which was perfect for me as I couldn't drink all day with a 7 year old! Just a couple of glasses at dinner. Eating was a real pleasure experience each day. Would go again but maybe book direct for an even more special experience. Thank you Gran Melia!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank nashpash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Mrs. nashpash,

Firstly we would like to thank you for the time you have taken to share this excellent review of Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora on TripAdvisor.

It is truly a pleasure to know that yourself and your daughter have enjoyed your stay at Tenerife, as your satisfaction is the best reward to our staff’s dedication to the service excellence. Also, your compliments on our gastronomic offer are highly appreciated, since we create unique dining experiences to surprise each of our guests.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon.
Best regards,

Pablo Querol
Red Glove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenerife
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The decoration of the hotel and the scenery were fantastic, the room look amazing with the rain showers it is one of the best rooms i have seen.

I was with my wife and daughter of 10 months. The beds were not connected to eachother so we lay seperate in bed.

The food in the a la carte restaurants were very bad, carpaccio with musterd!? al covered in water from the freezer. Presentation was very bad and the prices were very high the carpaccio costed +/-18 euro each. The Japanese and the ocean grill were not better.

The rules that the hotel has for the 1200 clients gave me a school feeling. They did not want to give me a bucket ice at the reception - I had to call roomservice. No food service at the pool between 13.00 and 15.00, only 2 towels no more and more. It did not gave me a feeling i was pampered.

Unfortunately the awards that they received did not apply during my holiday. I do not give gran melia the award for best resort in spain.

I do not reccomend this, my experiences in Bahia del Duc were better.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
1 Thank S. Gerrit D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Mr. S. Gerrit D,

We would like to begin by thanking you, not only for selecting Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora for your family holiday, but also for the time you have taken to share your comments on TripAdvisor.

We regret not being able to cover your expectations during your stay, as all of our team strives to pamper our guests for them to enjoy unique experiences at Tenerife. However, do not hesitate that we will take into consideration each of your suggestions, as we think that just through listening carefully to our guests’ opinions, we will be able to continue improving ourselves.

Finally, regarding the bucket of ice you requested at our Front Desk, we would like to inform you that they do not have any buckets or ice, therefore this requirement must have done through our Room Service department.

We hope to welcome you soon.
Kind regards,

Pablo Querol
Red Glove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alcala
22.9 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#2 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,537 reviews
9.7 mi away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#14 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,390 reviews
9.4 mi away
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
6.7 mi away
Roca Nivaria GH - Adrian Hoteles
0.1 mi away
RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa

Property: Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
Address: Avenida Los Oceanos s/n, 38686 Alcala, Guia de Isora, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Guia de Isora > Alcala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Alcala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 578
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The natural beauty of Tenerife combines with an intense passion for service in the most superior luxury hotel on the island. With the Atlantic Ocean at its feet and the majestic Teide as a backdrop, the stunning scenery and eternal spring climate allows the Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora to provide guests with endless magical moments. The hotel has taken care of everything down to the very finest detail in each of its rooms, creating a personalised setting to ensure your total satisfaction. Imagine the experience of viewing the sun setting over the ocean from one of the magnificent rooms in this fantastic resort, the best 5 star hotel in Tenerife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Palacio De Isora Hotel Alcala
Gran Melia Guia De Isora
Palacio De Isora Gran Melia
Gran Melia Palacio De Isora Resort & Spa Tenerife/Guia De Isora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing