We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel not perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Alcala
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 29 August 2014

The hotel is fantastic blows some 5 star out of the water but I did encounter some bad experiences. The full board plus package is a total rip off as u are only given the smallest glass of anything you order then never offered a top up if you would like a top up then get ready to chase the waiters around. The waiters are 90% very pleasant only experienced 1 bad waiter who refused me a bottle of water to take to my room as my pregnant wife was feeling very tired and a little ill but aside from that all staff were very tentative. We booked this holiday as our honeymoon and told the tour operator thomson (terrible company)and emailed the hotel direct but it was totally ignored. All in all we had a lot more positives than negatives defiantly worth a try

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Mr. Tom A,

Firstly we would like to thank you for selecting our resort for such an special occasion as your honeymoon, as well as for the time you have taken to share your comments on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay at our resort, although you may rest assured that we will analyze and take into consideration each of your comments and suggestions in order to carry on with our efforts to always improve ourselves.

We hope to welcome you soon to Tenerife.
Kind regards,

Pablo Querol
Red Glove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7,250)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,347 - 2,353 of 7,250 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2014

Everything was great! Beautiful hotel, very tasteful design, modern, great pool, good food, fantastic room: we loved it!!! Luxury hotel where you can go with young kids and feel comfortable. We would love to go back again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sun99Snow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Mr. Travelster99,

Thank you for the time you have spent on sharing this excellent review of Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora on TripAdvisor.

It is truly a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed a lovely time at Tenerife, as your compliments are the best reward to our staff’s dedication to the service excellence. Also, we are glad to know that both our facilities and rooms were to your liking and that our gastronomic offer lived up to your expectations.

We hope to welcome you soon to our resort.
Best regards,

Pablo Querol
Red Glove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We are a family of 4 and our first impressions were that the hotel is HUGE!
All pool areas were overcrowded in as much as you could literally touch the person next to you!! Guests used to reserve and sit on their sun beds from 8.30 until 10am as you had your belongings removed before 10am. You are able to pre book balibeds which are double beds dotted around the pool areas which are lovely but cost either 60, 90 or 250 euros!
Our room was a 2 bed luxury suite ...... which apparently was resort view even though at check in we asked for ocean! Resort view meant overlooking a neighbouring car park a road and a baby pool including pirate ship. We complained and could not move until half way through our holiday and then they charged us 50 euros per day (even though we overlooked the main family pool) not the ocean! GREAT! But it was better than the carpark!
You had to queue at breakfast time which in our sons words was " like eating in a shopping mall ". This is served in the buffet area and is the only restaurant available to eat breakfast. The juice is warm. Poached eggs not freshly cooked to order, simply dipped in hot water when you ask for them. Toast take 3 to 4 times through the toaster to get remotely brown and the bacon is like a fat curdling mass of yuk! However the fruit and pastry selection was great!
The food throughout the hotel complex was mediocre but by far the best 2 restaurants were the italian(Ocean) and the market Grill!
The oasis grills' lunch was often luke warm and the service wasn't great!
We were half board but if you wanted to inc all your drinks you would of had to pay 105 euros per day, the downside of this was a) wearing a wristband like you were at some 3 star 18 to 30 resort or b) being served warm white or rose wine, (the hotels choice) by the glass ! We did not choose this option!
The daily itinery of activities for children was very comprehensive inc table tennis, tennis, discovering segway and football etc!
The evening entertainment in the theatre was mainly tribute acts. By far George Michael was the most hilarious. We did have to check at one point when the bingo started! JOKE!
To summarise if you want an overcrowded 4 star wrist band wearing classless hotel, then book away. Just not for us !

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank jlal43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Mrs. jlal43,

Firstly we would like to thank you for selecting Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora for your holiday at Tenerife, as well as for the time you have spent on sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

At our resort there are different rates for the various room types we have. Therefore, if you want to enjoy one of our lovely ocean view rooms, an extra charge will be performed on your account depending on your contracted services and room, as they are not offered just under request.

We regret not being able to suit your expectations during your stay at our resort and rest assured we will take into consideration each of your comments and suggestions in order to carry on with our efforts to always improve ourselves.

Kind regards,

Pablo Querol
Red Glove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

My family and i have just returned from 10 days here. What can i say, we were very nervous as we had read some of the reviews. The Gran melia totally surpassed our expectations. It is an absolutely beautiful hotel. We could find fault with nothing.
In fact the only fault we could find was with our fellow brits who just seemed to enjoy moaning all the time. People getting up early to reserve sunbeds, when they only use them for a few hours. One day i was even accussed of stealing someones sunbed which i was completely embarrassed by as i would never do such a thing. The woman demanded to know where i got my towels from and wouldnt accept that the beds were empty when i arrived! Unbelievable behaviour.
Just expect if youve booked a 5 star hotel that it is going to be expensive as you get what you pay for. If you want cheap drinks and food then book a 2 star hotel.
This hotel/staff is incredible. We booked with Sensatori which is a mistake. Before we arrived i contacted the hotel directly and upgraded the rooms and requested a quiet location. When we come again we will book directly with the hotel as its far cheaper and with what you save you can upgrade to red level which is worth every penny. We had two garden rooms which were lovely as we had Bali beds and a beautiful stream running past it. Red level for families was a great upgrade we were organised by Ana and Aleksandra.
Thank you to all at the Gran Melia we will back back!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wendy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Ms. wendy t,

Thank you for the time you have taken to share this excellent review of Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to know that your family has enjoyed a lovely time at Tenerife and that our Red Level For Families service exceeded your expectations. Also, your compliments on our rooms and service are highly appreciated.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon.
Kind regards,

Pablo Querol
Red Glove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We booked a family holiday with our two children and another two couples. The family room is not suitable for a family of four and smelt damp... Was told by the sensatori rep that there was nothing he could do and the smell was the sensatori aroma not damp????? Thompsons customer service and care is very poor along with the unhelpful attitude from most of the staff at the hotel. Lots of rules and regulations and not the can do attitude you expect from a five star hotel.... My advise tip the waiters then they will look after you and order your poolside drinks half an hour before you want them......

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rmjhomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Mr. Rmjhomes,

Firstly we would like to thank you for selecting our resort for your holiday and for the time you have spent on sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

We regret that your stay did not live up to your expectations, and you may rest assured that we will forward your comments to Sensatori regarding your room. Also, we regret your impression of our bar and restaurant service, as our team does not serve in a worse way to those clients who decide not to tip. However, you may rest assured that we will analyze these services in order to carry on with our efforts to always improve ourselves.

Best regards,

Pablo Querol
Red Glove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Just returned after a week away with my wife,was extremely apprehensive after reading some of these reviews, on the positive side ,wonderful gardens ,spotlessly clean environment ,staff friendly ,Food excellent ,Pools outstanding, on the negative side, upgrading to Garden Room was a big mistake and waste of money ,booked through Thompson FB+ basis ,prior to arrival e mailed Hotel direct to request that Garden Room was Sun facing and not in shade as had been reported previously on this site,on arrival at 10pm after 4 hr flight,no food available ,only Room Service which we had to pay for. On entering room ,there appeared to be an awful musty smell ,to be fair front desk sent maintenance people immediately who inspected Air Con,(turned out that it appears that it was the room spray odour that they were using) I was offered a De luxe room instead ,however ,we had paid for an upgrade from a De -luxe room to a De Luxe Garden Room! At 11.30pm finally got to bed, following morning can't describe how disappointed we were to see "The Garden" had to wear shoes to get to Bali Bed as there was a gravel based garden leading to Bali Bed, it was completely shaded from Sun and facing directly on to the Boundary wall and Boundary railings, we never used the Garden during our stay!! On day of our departure we had a good look around the Hotel, to discover fantastic Garden Rooms on the other side of the Hotel on level 3 ..we felt totally ripped off and must have had the worst Garden Rooms possible in the Hotel ,when I complained to the Sensatori Rep he said it was August the Hotel was busy and it was pot luck which Garden Room we were allocated...But despite the big let down we would go back but will book direct with Hotel

Room Tip: Avoid Garden Room or insist on 3rd level Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Mr. Robert J,

Thank you for the time you have taken to share your experience on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to know that you have enjoyed our restaurants, facilities and service, although we regret that your room did not cover your expectations. You may rest assured that we will take into consideration each of your comments and suggestions for future improvements.

We hope to welcome you soon.
Kind regards,

Pablo Querol
Red Glove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We have just arrived back from a 7 night stay at this hotel. Unfortunately there are very few positives to comment upon. The main infinity pool is beautiful and the communal areas of the hotel are attractive very well kept. However, for anyone thinking of staying at this hotel I think it is helpful to point out the following;

1. The service we experienced was generally extremely poor. We arrived at the hotel at 10.30pm with 2 very tired young children. We were not shown to our room and we were provided with very little information about the hotel. It took us 20 minutes to locate the room as we were given no proper directions. This is not what you expect from a 5* hotel.

2. The rooms are poor. We stayed in a garden room. The outdoor area isn't anything special and certainly not worth paying extra for. Our main concern was the size of the room (very small for a family of 4). The children had to sleep on a small sofa bed next to our bed which was extremely uncomfortable and barely big enough for the two of them (aged 7 and 9). As we were never shown to our room, and around our room, we never got to grips with the lighting system which was particularly complicated. The shower leaked after every use so that the bathroom ended up like a swamp. Toiletries were never replenished by housekeeping and we were constantly given 3 bath towels for 4 people. This resulted in a call every evening to request additional towels/shower gel.

3. Sun loungers. There are simply not enough of these for the size of the hotel. Unless you race down to the pool at the crack of dawn to put your towels down you risk being without loungers. We noticed that people were putting down towels first thing but not actually using them until late afternoon so there were a number of 'reserved' loungers which were being unused for a number of hours. We chose to reserve Bali beds to avoid missing out but this came with its own problems!! We wanted one of the Bail beds next to the main infinity pool. There are 3 categories of rental package - the most expensive being the Veuve Cliquot package. You pay 250 euros and receive a bed for the day with loungers, snacks, water and champagne included. We were told that for the bed we wanted (number 18 or number 21) you could only have the premium package i.e. you had to pay 250 euros if you wanted the bed. We paid this twice. The experience is very good but also very expensive. Towards the end of the week we noticed that on 2 separate days the same bed was being used by people who had not paid for the premium Veuve package. I enquired and was told that they had only paid 150 euros for the bed. No one could tell me why they had been offered the bed for a lower price, and why I had been told that I had to pay 250 euros for the same bed!! It seemed to us that the British tourists (with Thomson) were being forced to pay for the premium package while the Spanish (not with Thomson) were renting at a lower price!! I complained to management who were completely uninterested. We felt that we had been ripped off as we would have opted for a lower category had we been aware that we could have done this. I am not sure how a hotel can operate different policies for different guests.

4. We lost an iphone and a pair of sunglasses during our visit. No one was interested in assisting us and despite daily enquiries no one ever came back to us. The phone was left on a table in the outdoor terrace bar. Since we were last to leave the bar, and the tables were being cleared by staff when we left, we found it very surprising that the phone was not handed in. In fact, the phone had been switched off a very short time afterwards and was never located.

5. The booking system for restaurants worked reasonably well. We didn't have any real difficulty booking restaurants. However, it is worth noting that you can only book the inclusive restaurants such as the Italian once during your stay. The food quality in the inclusive restaurants was average. The japanese and tapas restaurants were far superior to the other restaurants and we had excellent meals in both - however it is no surprise that they are not inclusive and expensive!! We were also surprised that the ice creams for the children(by the pool) were not included in the all inclusive package.

In summary, this is nowhere near the standard of a true 5* hotel and if you are expecting 5* service then you will be disappointed.

I would add that there is nothing much outside the hotel so once you are in the hotel you are pretty much stuck there!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Bubbletino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pablo Q, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Mr. Bubbletino

Thank you for the time you have taken to share your comments on TripAdvisor.

We regret that your experience at our resort has not lived up to your expectations, as all of our team strives for our guests to enjoy a lovely time at Tenerife. However, you may rest assured that we will take into consideration each of your comments for future improvements.

Regarding your comments about our BaliBed services, we would like to inform you that its prices constantly vary depending on the season and the resort’s occupancy, as if we have some unoccupied BaliBeds by midday, we will probably change their price for those guests who request this service just for the afternoon. However, we cannot tolerate you to say that we discriminate our guests depending on their nationality, as it is absolutely wrong and false.

The situation on your review was not as you described, as the guest you mentioned wanted to book a Premium Balibed (cost €90 during your stay) and as we had not any of these available, we offered him a location of Veuve Clicquot BaliBed as a Premium service for a price of €150 (without any of the special Veuve Clicquot services). In your case, you enjoyed the whole bottle of Veuve Clicquot champagne and the BaliBed all day long, therefore our team refused to refund you the total import of your BaliBed as you demanded when you tried to blackmail us, saying that you would share a negative review, as you eventually did, on TripAdvisor.

Finally, we regret that some people think that through this kind of negative comments, they will get benefits from our hotel that otherwise would not get. You had a conversation with our Operations Manager on the day before your departure regarding your demand of a €250 refund for your BaliBed, and you did not share this accusations about your lost iPhone neither with him, neither with any other member of our staff. We regret that after your conversation with our Operations Manager and the satisfaction survey you filled in, this is the first information we have regarding the alleged disappearance of your iPhone.

Nevertheless, do not hesitate to contact with us directly if you want to share any further information or feedback regarding your stay at our resort.

Kind regards,

Pablo Querol
Red Glove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alcala
9.4 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador
9.7 mi away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#18 of 61 in Costa Adeje
5,779 reviews
22.9 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#1 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Allegro Isora
Allegro Isora
#1 of 1 in Playa de la Arena
2,165 reviews
0.1 mi away
RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora
9.4 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#16 of 61 in Costa Adeje
2,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa

Address: Avenida Los Oceanos s/n, 38686 Alcala, Guia de Isora, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Guia de Isora > Alcala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Alcala
Price Range: £153 - £614 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 578
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The natural beauty of Tenerife combines with an intense passion for service in the most superior luxury hotel on the island. With the Atlantic Ocean at its feet and the majestic Teide as a backdrop, the stunning scenery and eternal spring climate allows the Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora to provide guests with endless magical moments. The hotel has taken care of everything down to the very finest detail in each of its rooms, creating a personalised setting to ensure your total satisfaction. Imagine the experience of viewing the sun setting over the ocean from one of the magnificent rooms in this fantastic resort, the best 5 star hotel in Tenerife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Melia, Alpha Holidays Limited, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Palacio De Isora Hotel Alcala
Gran Melia Guia De Isora
Palacio De Isora Gran Melia
Gran Melia Palacio De Isora Resort & Spa Tenerife/Guia De Isora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing