We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First visit but a nice surprise”
Review of Blue Bell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Bell Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burton Agnes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We called here for lunch on Easter Sunday having booked in advance as we thought it would be packed. We arrived at 12noon and we were the only diners in a very pleasant small room with a bar at one end. We had to wait a long time for orders to be taken but the menu looked good and catered for out 6yr olds. Another long wait ensued but the food which arrived was excellent and in generous proportions. We thought that some staff seemed under pressure but all in all a good visit an would use again if in the area.

Room Tip: We didn't stay at the hotel so can only comment on the meal we had in the restaurant there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2014

me and my parter was passing through last week on the way to Bridlington and decided to call in for a meal. the food was brilliant well cooked, well presented, and good value for money. however the service was extremely poor and let the place down. we were shown to a table by a young lady that was impolite and couldn't be bothered to be at work not smiling and huffing and puffing . after seating us she began to rant about how there is no management and its a p**s take in her words and that she has had to come back to work although she's on sick due to her hips. once we got the food it was contaminated by the young lady's hair as it was really long and wasn't tied up. this let the experience down. wouldn't recommenced on the bases of staffing issues

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jon andrew k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

First impressions were not good. The reception was a bare room and not attended. Check in was swift when we found someone if not particularly friendly.

The bedroom was stiflingly hot on entering so the heating went off and the windows opened wide. This solved the problem of the heat but not the road noise as we were on the front of the building next to a busy main road and even on a Sunday the traffic noise started at about 6am.

The bed was comfortable only spoilt by a very heavy thick lumpy duvet. The room was pleasant and light and had new good quality fittings. The bathroom was also new and was again well fitted and everything worked.

I suppose the atmosphere failed as this is neither a pub, restaurant or hotel. It seems to fall between them all. For example, when we arrived we discovered that the Conservatory restaurant was being used for quite a large darts tournament which ran for the whole weekend.

The bar was virtually empty as I gathered that the darts players who seemed to be the only other guests refuelled in flight but the beers were excellent.

We were rather surprised to be able to book the restaurant so easily as we had only booked the room the night before. As this was the only restaurant open due to the darts, we were even more surprised to find ourselves alone in the restaurant at 7.45 on Saturday night. We began to worry that this might be a reflection on the quality of the food, enforced by the wine list - or lack of it (red, white or blush!).

However, we needn't have worried. The food was excellent and plenty of it. The onion rings were among the best ever tasted. Why on earth we were the only diners remains a mystery - even the red wine was OK. Breakfast was just as good although being served accompanied by eight dart boards definitely did not add to the ambience.

All the staff were pleasant and efficient. I can't comment on the landlord or landlady as neither made an appearance!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grahamwLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Just returned from the valentines special night , we have stayed here on many occasions even tho its just up the road from us we could be a million miles away from home . As usual the food was of an excellent standard , the staff are very pleasant and courteous . The valentines night cost 99.00 for a 4 course meal for 2 bottle of wine included and an overnight stay with a full English breakfast . The room was of a good standard and immaculate , bed really comfy. If I had to find a slight fault would have preferred to be upstairs where we have always been before as the doggy room we were in was as good except there was no carpet on the floor so very cold underfoot

Room Tip: If your not taking a dog ask for a room upstairs as the doggy rooms have no carpet so was a little c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stella S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

booked for a work colleague staying overnight on business- polite friendly staff and good food. Accom lovely and clean and overall a pleasant stay - very reasonably priced too as we got a special deal even tho booked last minute for accommodation the same night ! cant fault it and head also heard good reviews from other colleagues. Thanks Blue Bell ! Will definately book again if we are in the area !

Room Tip: we got a superior room for £49 on special offer for 1 person for 1 night just booked on the day and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

We came to the Bluebell for a darts event weekend and we're stunned at how lovely, clean and well decorated the place is that even has underfloor heating in the rooms. The food is delicious too. Best of all though is the amazing customer service. Angela and Jemma in particular couldn't do enough for us and kept smiling even when clearly tired at the end of a very long day. They're a credit to the place and deserve a bonus!! Thanks for a great weekend.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank AmandaPandamonium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Booked in for boxing day at 1.30pm , arrived on time and where led into the dining area which unfortunatley made us feel we had arrived to early , no lights turned on the tree or around the room, deflated snowman display or festive music, basically like they couldnt be bothered which is a suprise to us as they are usually excellent here. We asked if we could have some crackers for around the table and were given one cracker.. Baa humbug!! we switiched the lights on etc ourselves when they went for our drinks and also asked for the inflatable display to be switched on.The 2 waitresses looked tired and almost not wanting to be there although as we were leaving they did liven up a bit. More people came in by this time. Our guest from abroad couldnt believe how unseasonal the whole experience was. Not to be repeated next year.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Blue Bell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Bell Hotel

Address: Main Road, Burton Agnes, Driffield YO24 4NG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Driffield > Burton Agnes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burton Agnes
Price Range: £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Bell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Blue Bell Hotel Burton Agnes, Driffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing