We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible Service!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Blue Bell Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Burton Agnes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blue Bell Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burton Agnes
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible Service!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Utterly terrible service with total confusion among the staff on how to serve drinks and food.

We were travelling as a group of 5 cyclists and decided to use the Blue Bell as our lunch stop.
The first two people in our group waited 15 minutes to be served. Once served the barmaid did not know how much to charge them for their food order.

The second two people waited another 15 minutes to be served. At this point it was too late to order their food as it would have delayed the whole party leaving and keeping to the schedule. Subsequently they went without any lunch. Just what you need on a 100K cycling ride.
In summary, the bar staff were disorganised. Not acknowledging which customers had been waiting the longest. Trying to give change to customers who had not even paid. Also no having sufficient change in the till and not knowing how to charge correctly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AshHammond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    41
    14
    9
    18
See reviews for
52
67
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Caramarthen
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

What a fantastic venue, both Alan and Rebecca (the owners) were very professional, Rebecca went above and beyond to make us enjoy our time with them, we had a lunch on the 31st and that was gorgeous, the eaton mess was to die for!
The acts we saw great, one was a bit of a diva but he's not the young man of the 80's anymore...
The staff were great, we were all very pleased and can't wait to visit again.
Thank you for a great weekend :)
Well worth the 7 hours to get to you!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Angel_beth3870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romsey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

great hotel very good food staff very good very nice area good size bed rooms very clean all round i cannot thought the hotel at all i had a very good nights sleep nice look out on the country side no one looking over you

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Rooms spotless and modern beds really comfy. Only had breakfast so can't comment on food but what we has was lovely. Staff very helpful but just not enough of them. The only downside was the bar area as it took a very long time to be served. A very relaxing night away.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay1979111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Bluebell Hotel on Saturday 31st May for the Culture Classic 2014 Festival. This starred Katherine Jenkins, Bond, Celeste, Tomas Farcas and a brilliant 14 year old soprano Emmy Beckitt. How the owners managed to get such a fabulous range of classical talent at such a low price of £47.50 per ticket I do not know.

Needless to say the entertainment was not only first class it was world class. We enjoyed every minute and our room was as good as any I have stayed in anywhere in the U.K

While the staff were all very busy during the concert, nothing was too much trouble and particularly Rachel in reception who handled all the pressure with a constant smile on her face, well done

The room was absolutely superb, everything very clean and not a thing out of place, just as we like it.

All in all a fabulous concert and beautiful location.

Room Tip: The outside rooms 1 to 4 are ground floor at the back of the hotel facing onto the outside grounds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Annes
Level Contributor
91 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed just one night and enjoyed the comfort that the blue bell offers.
The hotel seemed to be run by Just one Staff member(Christine) She was serving on the bar when we arrived we had to go through the hotel as there was no reply from ringing the bell on a reception desk. there was a sign asking you to go to the bar if nobody answers the bell.A customer in the bar had to get Christine to book us in as she was in another area of the hotel doing other work.we were allocated a good sized room all modern furniture and good for travelling customers to spend the night.
We asked the Barmaid/Receptionist/Cleaner/Cook if she did everything in this Hotel.It seemed she had cooked breakfast from 7am and was serving us in the bar at 5pm only saw one other member of staff a young man who looked like he was a Kitchen porter.The Breakfast was excellent but the hotel needs more staff on duty to attend to customers needs.Outside needed to be cleaner tables with glasses and old rusty furniture that needed to be removed.We looked at the dinner menu but it was not to our liking nearly every dish was deep fried. so we decided to go to a restaurant down the road.Its a shame this Hotel could be very good the setting and rooms are excellent.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RAYODEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Just got back from an overnight stay at the Blue Bell Hotel. Went to see an audience with Derek Acorah. Because it was only overnight wasn't too fussed but was very surprised by what was waiting. The hotel is really lovely, the staff are all very friendly and couldn't do enough for us even though it was very busy with the show . The food was absolutely brilliant. The owner Alan was very much hands on and organised the show like clockwork. we went for the VIP package and it was worth every penny. I would highly recommend this hotel and for any show they are doing (Katherine Jenkins is on in 3 weeks and Paul Young !) We were just sad we hadn't arranged for a longer stay as it's so close to Bridlington and Scarborough .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burton Agnes
5.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Bell In Driffield
6.3 mi away
Expanse Hotel
Expanse Hotel
#1 of 7 in Bridlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
9.1 mi away
Wrangham House Hotel
Wrangham House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hunmanby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Premier Inn Beverley Town Centre Hotel
1.1 mi away
St Quintin Arms Inn
St Quintin Arms Inn
#2 of 17 in Driffield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
3.0 mi away
Manor Court Hotel
Manor Court Hotel
#31 of 118 in Bridlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Bell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Bell Hotel

Property: Blue Bell Hotel
Address: Main Road, Burton Agnes, Driffield YO24 4NG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Driffield > Burton Agnes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burton Agnes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Bell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Blue Bell Hotel Burton Agnes, Driffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing