We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still the top spot in my book” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mangoes

Mangoes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$20
Cuisines: German, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Cheap Eats, View, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Still the top spot in my book”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

I have been going to Mangoes every time I come to Langkawi and it never fails to deliver a nice home cooked meal.... Something that most tourists crave after eating in restaurant after restaurant on their holidays. Recently I read a review that called the owners racist. They are the farthest from racist of anyone I know. Much of their clientele are asian, their staff are entirely asian, and many of their friends are asian. Is it possible that the writer resents the popularity of Mangoes? Maybe he/she is even a restaurant owner losing business. At any rate, using the slur of calling someone racist says more about the contributor than those fine people at Mangoes. Shame on you!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Norm M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    67
    16
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A gem of a place ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

My third visit to Mangos and as always a pleasure. Great bucolic setting and relaxed atmosphere with genuinely caring service. The owner Michelle (one L or two, I'm not sure) is a real character and gives a hearty welcome. Racist she is definitely not, as my Thai dining companion was treated royally, and an adjoining table of Chinese tourists were well cared for too.

The food was a little slow in coming, but roast chicken is best not undergone. It was worth waiting for with its creamy mashed potatoes and onion gravy. The fish steak was fine but lacked accompanying vegetables I thought. The preceeding chicken liver pate was okay but the house white wine was a bit disappointing. I switched to beer. But it was a nice meal and overall great value for money.

Will be back again.

Helpful?
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dissapointed visit.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Racist host that doesn't serve the asian and feedback on food was not well received.

Waited there for so long and was not served. A group of Caucasian came in and they were served before us.

The 'menu board' was shifted to face the Caucasian and all we could do is wait. If it was not because of the rain, we would have left.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tenshi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What a surprise !!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Had my finely made Sunday brunch amidst cluster of traditional Malay houses and shades if trees. A pathway leading to the beach with relaxing music playing in the background would make this place a 5 star by any Langkawi standard.

Helpful?
Thank sueekhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
204 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“I'm in heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Our second visited this year to Mangoes Restaurant and we had a great time with host Michelle and Lutz. What a dream of a place it's like you are sitting in a beautiful garden with a sea view.
Tonight we had the roast pork and scollop potato with broccoli and cauliflower and they even had apple sauce on the side. I managed the pavlova with lashing of cream topped with passion fruit sauce. The don't have Long Island Teas on there drinks menu but for Michelle this was no problem
at all she was happy to make them for us. We have been to many restaurants on the island of Langkawi and this rates one of the best if not the best for quality and low prices. Where else can you get good food and drinks at such low prices, you must visit and you will want to go back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bonesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mangoes also viewed

Langkawi, Langkawi District
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 
Pantai Tengah, Langkawi
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 

Been to Mangoes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing