We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BBQ & views” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Griffin Inn

The Griffin Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Fletching
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$39 - US$49
Cuisines: Bar, European, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“BBQ & views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Lovely BBQ available in the garden which has lovely views over the downs. free parking and decent cask ales.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Owain J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    74
    49
    41
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Worth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sunday lunch with friends”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Excellent Sunday lunch shared with friends visitng from overseas. A small confusion with our booking but they made up for it with free drinks all around. Excellent meal, lovely atmosphere, great surroundings.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fletching, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very disappointing meal at the Griffin”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I have just visited the Griffin for a meal in the bar. The starter was very pleasant and the wine very good however my main course of mackerel fillets ( although there was in fact only one small fillet) beggared belief. In addition to the very small amount of mackerel there was a portion of potato salad which seemed to be made from from shop bought mayonnaise and a few chives, such as I might serve with cold meat for Monday supper. The dish was supposedly to be served with rhubarb compote but that was only a smear which I missed until my partner pointed it out to me! This should have cost £15 at a time of year when mackerel is very cheap and plentiful. In fairness when my partner expressed our dissatisfaction my meal was given to us free but it spoiled our visit to the Pub. We live locally and have eaten at the Griffin many times but will not be returning at present.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David and Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“superb views, lovely venue”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I would have given this pub 5 stars but the meal I had was very disappointing. The pappardelle was very bland and one dimensional flavour wise. Its a great venue with a beautiful beer garden, and other food being served looked very attractive, so I'd be willing to try it one more time before abandoning all hope.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank suelizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent…..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We booked for 12noon and arrived late due to traffic, the staff were very understanding and we were greeted well, food choice was great as was the wine list service super very frendly staff chatty and good at their job… all in all an excellent experiance and we will be back to stay for a weekend…

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Griffin Inn also viewed

 
Uckfield, East Sussex
Haywards Heath, West Sussex
 

Been to The Griffin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing