We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“been there several times-would go again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Mayura Riverview Srirangapatna
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Srirangapatna
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“been there several times-would go again”
Reviewed 4 April 2012

This is the first & only State Tourism property I ever stayed. The first time we visited (approx. 4 years back) I was awstruck by its natural beauty! C'mon! How often do you find lush green & river flowing barely 2 minutes off the State Highway!!!! The water level was quite high & so was the sound of the flowing water! Sadly enough we noticed the water level decreasing on our next several visits!
Contrary to my apprehension I found the rooms pretty well done & maintained considering the tariff! The room was in the main building. In our next visits we discovered that the rooms in other building/cottage are truly terrible! So, from then onwards we insisted on getting a room in the main building.
Now, let's come to FOOD. They can be best described as edible. Some are good enough though. I like their Upma. Last time we spent hours binging on their Chicken 65 washed down with Beer, watching the river flow & sunrays seeping through the branches of the tree on our shoulders! However, the way food & beverages (specially coffee/tea) are served is quite disappointing & unappetising :( Once I had the urge to throw their coffee flask to the river!!!!
What can I say about service! We do not understand Kannada & the serving staffs do not understand any other language! Some are polite & eager to serve & some are not. But we never faced any disaster as of now.
Its location is it's biggest advantage- barely 2-3 hours from Bangalore, on the banks of Cauvery & just off the highway.
Will I go their again? Oh yes! I can go their every weekend eat, drink, sleep & come back refreshed for the rest of the week.

Room Tip: go for the rooms in the main building that houses the reception...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shalini S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    57
    27
    7
    2
See reviews for
74
21
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

The hotel is surprisingly luxurious for a government property. The rooms and cottages are very well designed and have the modern amenities. I guess the best part of the hotel is the view, it is right next to the cauvery river. You can take an amazing coracle ride and just sit back and relax in the arms of mother nature. The food is tasty and is superb value for money.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nrvish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2010

We had a good experience with other Karanataka Hotels, but this one falls way below the standards.
To list a few the rooms are not big and cosy, the food in the resturant is not good and unhyginic, the toilets are dirty, the flush was not working
The only good thing about this place is its location.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank backpackandg0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2010

Enter this resort and you can't help but feel awestruck with beautiful location and view of Kaveri river. The resort is on the banks of river and you can actually walk up to the river and sit on the stones. Its absolutely calm with no city traffic noise and lots of greenery around. But unfortunately the positive side of the story ends here!!
As i checked into my cottage i was completely shocked to find a huge diesel generator next to my cottage. Being sub-urbs there was no power for most of the time and the generator was making so much sound that i could not sleep the whole night, i am amazed how could the management think of putting a big industrial generator set next to cottage.
Another aspect that surprised me is that there were just about 2-3 waiting staff in the entire resort. Check-in time is at 12pm and majority of guests come at this time (since every body starts from B'lore in morning to reach here by noon). Waiting staff struggled to get rooms/cottages ready for all these guests at the same time and as a result we were forced to sit in the garden for about an hour till our rooms were made ready.
Room service is terrible (again as a result of lack of staff), there were no phones in the cottages and you need to walk up to reception each time again to find no one there.
We were told that room rent includes breakfast but to my shock it included very limited breakfast, for instance i ordered two omelets and i was told that only 1 is free whereas the other will be charged, i asked for bread and was told two slices are free the rest will be charged...this was the first time i had heard any such arrangement. In any other hotel if you are told breakfast included it always means complete and wholesome breakfast.
Further, choice of food is very limited and you are forced to order the same dish each time.
Staff shows no urgency to please you and find you more of a botheration to their otherwise peaceful surrounding.
Cottages are average and not maintained, there was a broken lamp kept in my room next to the bed with cobwebs on it, bathrooms were bad as well.
For the price i paid i had expected a lot more than the near zero service.
I do not recomend this place at all unless there is absolute urgency in your life to sit next to river Kaveri at the cost of every thing else.
For me its a complete no no. There are many other private resorts in the same locality which might offer a far better service.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SouthTravellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Srirangapatna
0.0 mi away
The Atrium Boutique Hotel
The Atrium Boutique Hotel
#24 of 101 in Mysuru (Mysore)
181 reviews
0.0 mi away
Golden Landmark Resort
Golden Landmark Resort
#22 of 101 in Mysuru (Mysore)
260 reviews
0.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Mysore
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson ...
#4 of 101 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel MB International
Hotel MB International
#1 of 101 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,582 reviews
0.0 mi away
Treebo Spektrum Suites
Treebo Spektrum Suites
#18 of 101 in Mysuru (Mysore)
371 reviews
0.0 mi away
FabHotel Dawn Mysore
FabHotel Dawn Mysore
#26 of 101 in Mysuru (Mysore)
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mayura Riverview Srirangapatna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mayura Riverview Srirangapatna

Property: Hotel Mayura Riverview Srirangapatna
Address: Mysore Road, Srirangapatna 571 438, India (Formerly Karnataka Hotels Srirangapatna)
Region: India > Karnataka > Mandya District > Srirangapatna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Srirangapatna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Srirangapatna is renowned as the island fortress of the warrior king, Tipu Sultan, who fought valiantly against the British. A heritage town with a palace, fort, dungeons and mosques, the town is also justly famous for its ancient Ranganathaswamy Temple and the Gumbaz where Tipu and his father Hyder Ali are buried. Just 16 km from Mysore, Srirangapatna is also the former capital of the Maharajas of Mysore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Mayura Riverview Srirangapatna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing