We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good desserts” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rob Roys Public House - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Rob Roys Public House
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good desserts”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

On a Tuesday Rob Roys do a discounted steak night, which I tried with some friends. Some of the steak was excellent for the cost, some not so great. Rest of the menu looked good and others at the table recommended it, so I'll branch out next visit. But the desserts were excellent!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    1
    1
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worst meal in a long time”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

The food was very poor quality. The chipe were all very short, the battered fish was very greasy, the other 2 meals were not nice either. We definatly wont be going back in a hurry.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Waited far too long for meal to arrive”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

Good food and value for money - but bad service - far too long waiting for our dinners to arrive on a not very busy evening. Thought we would give the restaurant another chance but on next visit even longer wait - 1 hour 35 minutes is a ridiculous time to have to wait for a simple meal. Staff very young and basically incompetent - friendly but have obviously been given no training whatsoever. Also on both visits several items on menu not available - this was quite early on in the evening. Won't be returning in spite of good food and good value.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vicki453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“awesome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

we found the food to be of a great standard, service was friendly and we feed & watered 6 for under $100, recommend to everyone

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank beamernz04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rob Roys Public House also viewed

Richmond, Nelson-Tasman Region
Richmond, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Richmond, Nelson-Tasman Region
Richmond, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing