We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kershaw House Boutique Accommodation
Nearby Hotels
Gladstone Motel(Richmond)(Great Value!)
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oxford Court Motel(Richmond)(Great Value!)
US$62
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$55
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Saxton Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Honest Lawyer Hotel(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$89
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boutique Motel Nelson(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$87
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Greens Motel Nelson(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amber Court Motel(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Parkside Motel(Richmond)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (143)
Filter reviews
143 results
Traveller rating
127
12
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
127
12
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew zealandcooked breakfastplaces to visitcomfortable roomsa lovely stayday tourbreakfast was excellentqueen streetmade us feel at homemake teaan overnight stayfantastic hometea bagsgreat hostsenjoyed our staylocal arearoom was large
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 143 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2013

We would like to thank Jill and Peter for making our stay at Nelson so so good. A little late in reviewing, we were in Kershaw in January of 2012, just after Nelson had been hit by flashfloods. Jill eased our fears whenevr we called by saying that things were on the mend and we would have atleast a few days of sunshine when we arrived. And right she was - our trip to the Tasman National Park was handled beautifully, and the weather was perfect.

Peter and Jill's restaurant recommendations were really good too. Loved the little treats we found in our room in the afternoons and the breakfasts were delish!

Thanks again for making our stay memorable. And many congratulations on the wedding!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kershaw_House, Owner at Kershaw House Boutique Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

Thank you for thinking to review us a now..... yes the floods last year certainly challenged the region we are very happy that everything dried out and our region was operational very quickly. Kind Regards Jill & Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

We are a family from the UK who recently stayed for two nights at Kershaw House in December 2012 on our trip to New Zealand, from which we have just returned, and we loved it! Beautiful house, lovely spacious rooms, furnished and equipped to an extremely high standard and large comfortable beds. The food was delicious, little baked cakes and cookies in our room each day, a fruit bowl and drinks to help ourselves from, and very welcoming, friendly hosts. It is true - the breakfasts are amazing - definitely the piece de resistance! This is B and B accommodation at its finest. A 'home from home' is how our two teenagers put it, and in fact they didn't want to leave, but we had an itinerary to adhere to. This is where we will stay when we return to Nelson. Many thanks Jill and Pete for such an excellent stay and wonderful cooking!

Room Tip: We stayed in three of the rooms and they were all of an extremely high standard.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snowhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kershaw_House, Owner at Kershaw House Boutique Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

Thank you for your lovely review - we do try to create a home away from home that also has a few special touches, we hope the remainder of your NZ holiday was wonderful. Warm Wishes Pete and Jill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

My sister & I stayed 3x nights recently and were very impressed with our stay at Kershaw House. From the initial welcome through to our departure, Jill & Pete shared warmth and hospitality with a sense of humour:) The rooms & facilities are in keeping with their charming ara and maintained to the highest standard. The breakfasts, different each day, were delicious. They gave us great ideas and recommendations on activities and restaurants around the area and their attention to details about the home was exceptional (eg fresh cookies, daily weather reports !) Suffice to say we had a wonderful time and will most definitely stay again -Thanks Jill & Pete

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kershaw_House, Owner at Kershaw House Boutique Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2013

Thank you for your lovely review Cathy - it was lovely having you and your sister stay with us - we really enjoyed the chats each morning and would welcome you back in the future. Have a great year. Pete & Jill :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Kershaw House is a great spot if you are going to be in the Nelson, Abel Tasman area for a couple of days. We stayed in the Abel Tasman room and it was very spacious and comfortable. The hosts, Jill and Pete are delightful. Jill is warm, gracious and a great cook. Pete is a truly fun loving guy and I only wish we could have split a few beers! Their dinner recommendations (Jellyfish and Three Rooms) were excellent with Three Rooms being an outstanding value and just minutes away. There is a great deal of history to the house but the bathrooms etc have all been updated. As you depart Pete, a video photographer, gives you a copy of his NZ travel video plus asks you to put a pin on a world map to identify your home city. Nice touch!

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank TimeTraveler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kershaw_House, Owner at Kershaw House Boutique Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2013

Thank you for your lovely review - we love sharing our home and its history with our guests. We really appreciate you reviewing the restaurants in our area also, it helps us feel confident in our recommendations. Safe and happy travels. Warm wishes Jill & Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

My husband and I were privileged to stay at Kershaw House recently during a driving trip around the South Island. The house is beautiful and the accommodations are very cozy. Jill and Peter were the perfect hosts. Jill was very helpful with dinner suggestions and even helped us change some tour arrangements to accommodate bad weather. Peter is a wonderful videographer. Viewing his NZ video was a special treat and prepared us for the rest of our trip. We loved our stay and enjoyed getting to know the two of them. By the way, Jill, I still want your muesli recipe! I'll be emailing you.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mom2Sadie24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kershaw_House, Owner at Kershaw House Boutique Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2012

Thank you for your kind words, we do try and ensure guests have the best stay possible with us and in our region and most operators are very happy to change bookings to meet the weather. Send me an email on kershawhouse@gmail.com and I will send the muesli recipe to you. Cheers Jill & Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews