We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious, clean and friendly”
Review of Parkside Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Parkside Motel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Richmond
Reviewed 11 December 2012

On the main road so best to get one of the rooms near the back if you are a light sleeper, but even near the road the noise is not too bad. The units are large and the owners go out of their way to make guests feel welcome. The pool looked very inviting but we didn't have time to try it.

Room Tip: Rooms beside the pool will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parksidemotel, Manager at Parkside Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2012

Our units furtherest away from the road are undoubtedly the quietest however all of the units at the front of the site have been treated to minimise the impact of traffic noise. The treatment includes hush glass which provides an acoustic barrier proven to exceed that provided by double glazing and acoustic linings to the curtains. The pool is inviting and we have the heating system on. We are pleased our guests enjoyed their stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2012

We had a 1 bed room suite.
This place was basically brand new.
All the facilities were excellent. The setting near the park is lovely, the pool is beautiful and the location is very convenient to local attractions.
This is the sort of place where you could stop and relax for a couple of days rather than just a one night stop-over.
Could not fault it.
Great for families and couples on self-drive holidays.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parksidemotel, Manager at Parkside Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2012

Our aim is to provide a comfortable. spacious and relaxing setting for our guests. We are very pleased that Alex enjoyed his stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

We stayed in room 14 for one night overlooking the pool and green fields and watched the sunset go down on the balcony
Had a good walk and bike ride on the nearby walkway. The pool was just starting to warmup -sat with our feet dangling-would have loved to have stayed longer in the heat of summer-what a great way to cool off! right in your own piece of paradise.- quiet and relaxing

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank relaxedSouthIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parksidemotel, Manager at Parkside Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2012

Room 14 is my personal favourite and it's great that relaxedSouthIsland appear to have enjoyed the room . The pool is now fully up and running, heated to 26 degrees

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at the end of our trip. Motel was really comfortable, bed was great. It was lovely to have.a balcony overlooking the pool and park. Bathroom was very spacious and modern and it was great to have a couch to sit on. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tassitaveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parksidemotel, Manager at Parkside Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2012

Its great that Tassitraveller enjoyed their stay and thank them for their positive feedback. We hope they do return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

we stayed here 3 nights and what beautiful and quiet units,the units are really modern with all facilities,1 more armchair would have helped we had turns on the 1 in the room,they are very clean,hosts are lovely,only problem was the hot water which hubby had a cold shower each morning,the electrician was called in each day but still not fixed as unsure where problem was,so will be fixed by the time we return,you get a paper each morning which lets you catch up with the news,also hubby loaded car etc and got a ring from motel when in blenheim to say all our hanging clothes were still in wardrobe so no problem all put into 1 bag and we got a courier to pick up and bring over,thanks guys see you next trip

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parksidemotel, Manager at Parkside Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2012

I would like to thank Yvonne for this very positive review despite the problems we faced with the hot water. When we were advised of the problem by Yvonne we had the problem looked at by an electricician however it wasnt until we changed contractors that the probblem was finally correctly identified and resolved. We are confident now that the hot water system is now working as it is supposed to.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We had a two bedroom room which was very comfortable and large. Good sized twin bed room and master bedroom with extra bed for child number 3. Lovely big bathroom and good strong shower with nice tolietries. Lounge/kitchen entrance was comfortable with windows looking out on a pool which held no interest in the middle of winter but would be icing on the cake in summer. Lots of nice teas, good coffee and fresh milk very welcome.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 5gomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parksidemotel, Manager at Parkside Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2012

The room 5gomad stayed in is our largest unit overlooking he pool and with access to the park behind the motel. This unit is our best suited to families with younger children. I'm delighted they enjoyed their stay and yes the pool, which is heated during the swimming season, is a definite bonus.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Only stayed one night, but found the service to be top notch. Arrived early which was not treated with any hostility infact the gentleman was extremely accommodating and friendly. Lovely room and all amenities clean and tidy. Had to attend a course on Saturday morning and when I enquired about the taxi number, the same gentleman dropped tools and took me himself - saving me at least $15 taxi fare. Will certainly stay there again if I'm back that way again.
Marie.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patersom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parksidemotel, Owner at Parkside Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

A pleasure to be able to be of servcie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
7.6 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
0.3 mi away
Gladstone Motel
Gladstone Motel
#1 of 4 in Richmond
45 reviews
2.5 mi away
Saxton Lodge
Saxton Lodge
#10 of 41 in Nelson
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Richmond Motel & Holiday Park
0.4 mi away
Oxford Court Motel
Oxford Court Motel
#2 of 4 in Richmond
162 reviews
4.9 mi away
Bay Crest Motor Lodge
Bay Crest Motor Lodge
#3 of 41 in Nelson
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkside Motel

Address: 42 Gladstone Road, Richmond 7020, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Richmond
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range: £63 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Parkside Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parkside Motel is ideally located in the heart of the Tasman Region and only 15 minutes from the centre of Nelson City. Sandy beaches, Waimea Estate, Fossil Ridge and Seifried vineyards, Hoglunds Glass, Saxton Field and the aquatic centre are within 5 minutes drive. The Richmond Mall, with free all day parking, is within walking distance as are a number of restaurants.Parkside Motel has a Qualmark 4-star plus rating and offers units with sun-drenched private balconies or patios opening onto a meticulously landscaped courtyard. Most have pleasing rural views over the adjacent park and to the distant ranges and Mount Arthur. All units have cooking facilities and some, spa baths. Sky TV and wireless high-speed internet access are available. The Motel provides a swimming pool which is heated during the swimming season. A guest laundry is available as is a BBQ. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Parkside Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkside Motel Richmond, Nelson-Tasman, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing