We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great motel room and facilites” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Parkside Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Parkside Motel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Richmond
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great motel room and facilites”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2011

This was a great place to stay while taking the opportunity to look around Nelson. The pool was terrific for the kids and the room in the motel room fantastic for the 5 of us. The kitchen was a great size to prepare meals and they actually had enough chairs for us to sit at the kitchen table.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Family54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    19
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
16
19
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2010

The room was well laid out , modern and very clean. We enjoyed our own balcony with outdoor furniture overlooking the well kept garden, pool and playing fields in the distance. It felt more like an aparment than a motel room as it was spacious with a seperate bedroom and large bathroom. Nice decor and friendly service made our stay very pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 052310d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2009

Staff were extremely friendly and helpful in giving good advice on restaurants and other activities.

Rooms were modern and clean with large shower and good kitchen.

The cooked breakfast was fantastic.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adamwilson_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
315 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2009

We stayed here for two weeks over Christmas 2008 and New Year 2009.

Location is on main road and about 10 minutes walk from the centre of Richmond, which is a very small scale place.

Best thing about the accommodation is the large size of the living room/kitchenette and bathroom, (though the bedroom wasn't large), and the saltwater pool.

Pleasant views from the balcony to mountains in the far distance and parkland and vineyards closer.

If you stay one night ion the way to somewhere else you'll be very pleased with it but youmight wonder howone could spend 2 weeks there. Well, we found many places that we wouldn't have if we hadn't the time and found it very relaxing and enjoyable.

  • Liked — Pool
  • Disliked — a bit remote (despite Tripadvisors classification, it is not in Nelson but onother side of Richmond, a 20 minute drive away.
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonPontac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
3.4 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
7.0 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
3.3 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
#22 of 42 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Gladstone Motel
Gladstone Motel
#1 of 4 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oxford Court Motel
Oxford Court Motel
#2 of 4 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
4.9 mi away
Bay Crest Motor Lodge
Bay Crest Motor Lodge
#3 of 42 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkside Motel

Property: Parkside Motel
Address: 42 Gladstone Road, Richmond 7020, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Richmond
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Parkside Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parkside Motel is ideally located in the heart of the Tasman Region and only 15 minutes from the centre of Nelson City. Sandy beaches, Waimea Estate, Fossil Ridge and Seifried vineyards, Hoglunds Glass, Saxton Field and the aquatic centre are within 5 minutes drive. The Richmond Mall, with free all day parking, is within walking distance as are a number of restaurants.Parkside Motel has a Qualmark 4-star plus rating and offers units with sun-drenched private balconies or patios opening onto a meticulously landscaped courtyard. Most have pleasing rural views over the adjacent park and to the distant ranges and Mount Arthur. All units have cooking facilities and some, spa baths. Sky TV and wireless high-speed internet access are available. The Motel provides a swimming pool which is heated during the swimming season. A guest laundry is available as is a BBQ. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Parkside Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkside Motel Richmond, Nelson-Tasman, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing