We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't order the Prawn salad”
Review of The Grape Escape

The Grape Escape
Ranked #2 of 42 Restaurants in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
“Don't order the Prawn salad”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

I have been visitng this restaurant since it opened 14 years ago as a frequent visitor to Nelson.Last week I ordered the 'succulent prawn salad'. The prawns were soggy defrosted small prawns with a bit of lettuce and a tasteless dressing. 3/4 of the prawns had the black vein still in the prawns. I find this unacceptable, I do not want to eat this black vein and left most of my lunch. I mentioned it to the staff and to their credit I was offered a coffee, wine or dessert, none of which I wanted. When I was paying and was asked if I enjoyed my meal I again mentioned my disappointment. She spoke to the chef who said 'they had sold at least 6 that day and had had no complaints'. I was not looking for a refund but am not happy with the chefs attitude, and I will not be returning.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    62
    19
    9
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A quiet haven”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

It was a dull, wet, miserable day, but the welcoming staff, cosy atmosphere and a beautifully presented delicious meal soon raised our spirits. In close proximity to Hogland Glass and Eyebright; both must not miss visits !!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eunice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rai Valley, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Ladies Lunch”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Lunch at the Grape escape with a group of ladies thoroughly enjoyable.. Set in among a Lovely Garden setting.. The Staff were friendly and efficient. The food was delicious. I had the Chicken Ciabatta absolutely yummy would definitely go back there.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nanneto3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Takaka, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Possibly the worst coffee I have had in a long time!”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Must have been a bad day for the staff. My wife and I called in for a latte and desert. I think the lady making the coffee must be totally untrained. No decoration on top and a definite brown scum around the edge of the cup should have warned us of what to expect. Please clean out your machine overnight and train you staff. Desert was expensive and quite ordinary.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gordon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Eating at the Grape Escape, Richmond, Nelson”
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We found the food here very average. We had to wait a while for the meal. They have a nice place to sit on a porch which is enclosed with a plastic cover. The staff were very friendly and very helpful so would probably go again if someone asked us to.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank 450Eileen450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Grape Escape also viewed

Richmond, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Richmond, Nelson-Tasman Region
Richmond, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Richmond, Nelson-Tasman Region
Richmond, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to The Grape Escape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing