We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a fabulous view”
Front of cabin
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of cabin
Road to the cabin Back of cabin with ocean view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Front of cabin
Road to the cabin
Back of cabin with ocean view
View from the cabin outside
View of the Puffin colony.
View of cabin from the ocean
Beautiful view!
View of an Iceberg from inside the cabin.
You can sit and enjoy the view!
Bedroom one.
Kitchen.
Living area.
Living area.
Bedroom two.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Elliston, Newfoundland, Newfoundland and Labrador

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Thelma H
Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada
1 review
“What a fabulous view”
Reviewed 29 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

What a beautiful place ....the cabin was equipped with everything you need for a comfortable stay....the cabin was very clean...one of the cleanest I have ever stay in....the cabin was easy to find lots of signs to help you locate it...we stayed for three nights and was sorry to leave..such a beautiful historical part of the province....I would recommend this place to anyone who is looking for a getaway....Thank you so much Pam....we will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The condition of the cabin & the beautiful view
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna G
Windsor, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Do not hesitate to book this wonderful location.”
Reviewed 31 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We were looking for a home base from which we could explore the Bonavista Peninsula for 3 nights. The Island View cabin was so beautifully located and meticulously clean as well as outfitted that we found ourselves yearning to return to the views on our own porch or yard overlooking the fabulous coastline!
Without hesitation we recommend this cabin. It is a short drive to the Sealers Interpretive Centre in Elliston which is a must see. Bonavista is close by and we took in the Ryan Premises to get acquainted with the history of a fishing outport. Also took in a foot stomping "kitchen Party" evening of Newfie/Irish folk music at the Garrick Theatre in Bonavista - check out their website to see if your visit matches any events. Trinity is a scenic drive away as is Cape Bonavista. There is no lack of things to do.
Of course, the walk over to view the puffins is practically at the doorstep, again rugged cliffs with trail leading to view the islands where thousands of puffins breed.
The cottage has a covered porch with bistro set and bbq. We had wine time there marveling at our good fortune in booking this place. Pam is a gracious host and her recommendations for eating out were very good. She lives close by if you have any questions.
We would return in a minute.
Many thanks again, Pam!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, location, location
Liked least: no negatives here!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theslackr
Halifax, Canada
1 review
“Perfect Place”
Reviewed 31 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

I spent about half an hour searching for a place to stay in the Bonavista area, but wasn't happy with the overpriced motels I was finding. I finally stumbled across this listing and booked with Pam for two nights. It was fantastic! After staying in a Bed and Breakfast with two twin beds the previous few nights, having this cottage with two separate bedrooms and a full kitchen was such a treat for myself and the friend I was travelling with. It was quiet and had a great view, but still within a short drive to the Puffin viewing site, Bonavista, and several hiking trails. I have absolutely no complaints, I would definitely recommend this cottage to my friends!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet location and ocean view
Liked least: Beds weren't as comfy as they could have been, but still not bad at all!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColindaDa...
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spectacular View”
Reviewed 20 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Spent 2 nights at the Island View Cabin in August. Easy to find, very clean and bright and housed everything we needed for our stay.

Only negative would be the water pressure in the shower.

Other than that, we'll be sure to recommend to any friend/family travelling that way.

Thank YOU!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie H
1 review
“Fantastic place to stay!”
Reviewed 9 August 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We had a great time in the cottage, the views are fantastic we had everything we needed in the cabin to be comfortable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wonderful views and the peace and quiet.
Liked least: We loved everything.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jager41
100 Mile House, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
Reviewed 24 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Stayed here for 3 nights in early June while exploring the Bonavista peninsula. A great home base and very close to the Puffin colony. Unfortunately too early for the whales. The cabin was the best stocked rental cabin we have ever stayed at. Everything you could ever need is there. Highly recommend this cabin.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerLan040...
Temiskaming Shores, Canada
1 review
“Cosy, clean and quiet cabin combining world class views and small town charm”
Reviewed 7 July 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We are a family of four that stayed here for two nights at the end of May 2015. The property was easy to locate (well signed) and the owners made sure we settled in right away. We used this location to tour Elliston, Bonavista and Trinity.
The cabin is modern, clean and well equipped and felt very much like a home away from home. Although you are right in Elliston, the location on the edge of town provides great privacy and a connection to the natural surroundings. While the cabin provided all that we needed, the views are what this location is all about for us. We had looked at the pictures posted here beforehand and read the reviews, but seeing it in person still blew our minds. Great sea views with icebergs floating in the distance. On our last evening we were able to sit outside for the evening as the cabin is generally sheltered from the wind. Within 100 yards of the front door you are standing atop a sea cliff with views rivalling most of the scenery we had seen on our travels in Newfoundland. Nice to have that close, but still far enough that parents with young children can make sure they don't wander down too far.
As others had mentioned the location provides a 5 minute drive to the puffin viewing area (maybe 30 minute walk if you wanted some exercise).
We love to travel as a family and are always looking to experience new locations, but this is one of the only places that I would strongly consider returning to spend a week....maybe in July during whale season.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing