We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Waecicu Eden Beach
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Labuan Bajo
Bonn, Germany
1 review
“Romantic place”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We had a really nice time there. 1st we were really disappointed, we want to go there, but by mistake we end up in hotel name "Waecicu Beach Inn", nothing to compare, no view, concrete building, not so nice beach. But after this misadventure we found the right place. we spent 4 nights there, really lovely time, the view from the room is impressive, especially from your bed in the morning. The place is quite and romantic, just the sound of the sea, nice persons, nice foods, service a bit slow but really efficient for arrange boat trip. We went in Rinca and another day in manta rays place, swim in a middle of dozen huge rays . Not so far to the town 20 minutes by walk or 1:30 hour by a nice walk. Thanks to the team.

Room Tip: Make sure you book for the right hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    61
    27
    23
    32
See reviews for
38
100
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Hi there, the hotel is very well located, few minutes by boat from Labuan Bajo with a pick up service. the staff are very friendly and helpful, you never feel disturbing them, all the time with real smile, simple English but in half. My wife was sick on arrival probably due to jet lag, and all time the staff ask news and offer to her a fresh soup. the view from our balcony room was really impressing, at least you need 3 pictures to cover all the panorama. view in front of the bungalow, but also on the side with large windows. The restaurant serve nice food, tasty grill fish, nice soups. they are several things to do around, like snorkeling, trekking, kayaking and relaxing on this quite beach white sandy beach. We was really happy to escape Bali for while and discover Flores and this place. It's easy to arrange a boat for discover Komodo or islands around. Okay there are several steeps, probably more than hundred to our bungalows, but again witch view!!!

Room Tip: To escape from civilization go there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Our 2 nights at Waecicu were magnificent. It is secluded and it takes a little over 15 minutes by boat to get anywhere. For us this was perfect, because the place itself is so beautiful, the staff and owner are very friendly. Food and chilling in the restaurant/living at the beach front is very enjoyable and relaxing. Plenty of hammocks and seats with the most beautiful views.

The cabins are also very beautiful.

For day trips this place is a little bit less well situated because you need the boat trip to get anywhere.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jules V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

My husband and I stayed 5 nights in September 2013. We were only planning to stay 3 but extended when we realized how relaxing the place was - and what a great view! The info on pros & cons below will help you avoid surprises. There are, after all, only a few beach resorts around Komodo National Park to chose from, some really rustic and other's really expensive. This one's a pretty good mid-range option.

BOOKING:
Pros - The owner Philippe was congenial when we e-mailed to make the reservation. Owing to the lateness of our booking he didn't require a deposit and accepted cash payment at the time of departure.
Cons - None.

AIRPORT TRANSFER:
Pros - One of the staff from the hotel met us at the airport and escorted us by van (10 minutes) and then boat (20 minutes) to the resort.
Cons - The resort owns boats but not cars. Pick-up is by hired bemo (somewhat decrepit vans used for pubic transport) which is a cultural experience. To reach the boat we had to step over fetid puddles of fish guts at the Labuanbajo fish market. We were a bit miffed that the boat didn't depart for some time (20 minutes added to the transfer time) - we were left sitting on the boat speculating about the cause of the delay. Through experience we learned that Waecicu Eden Beach boat departure times are notional at best (thankfully with the exception of our return airport transfer). Later we also learned that the resort's boats have absolutely no lights, so for safety it's not recommended to travel in them after dark.

ACCOMMODATION:
Pros - We were absolutely delighted with our clean, well-constructed wooden bungalow. The view from the two picture windows and the balcony was superb. The property, though steep, is well-designed and nicely landscaped with a variety of trees and flowering shrubs which attract birds. There was no AC in our room but we didn't need it (or even the fan) as the hillside is breezy and not too hot at night, even under the mosquito net. The cottages, the panoramic view, and the remoteness from other developments were so good they compensated for other deficiencies in the resort.
Cons - There is no information available in the room (or in the restaurant for that matter) about the resort or activities to do during your stay. Electricity is available only when the generator is on, and the noise from the generator makes you wish it wasn't on (but we understand mains electricity will be available soon). The electrical outlets in the room are terrible: plugs fall right out of them. We ended up using lengths of duct tape to try to get our chargers to stay plugged in. There is no safe in which to keep valuables. If you want your room to be cleaned you need to leave your key with one of the staff. There is no hot water. The water supply is full of minerals which clog up the shower head. Some guests complained of mosquitos, but they weren't a problem in our room - maybe because of the handsome, big geckos that kept us company at night! Some guests complained about those too because of their loud chirps, but they along with the morning roosters added a certain "close to nature" ambiance to the place :-)

RESTAURANT:
Pros - The good quality food is a hybrid of French and Indonesian cooking. The salads, based around kale because lettuce is not readily available, are healthy and good. The fresh fish, marinated in a secret barbecue sauce and grilled slowly over the coals is the specialty. Packed lunches of nasi goreng, soft drinks & fruit are available for day trips. Beer, wine, and pina coladas are there to quench your thirst. Water bottles can be refilled with mineral water at a reasonable cost so you don't have to use more plastic bottles, which are a scourge on all Indonesian beaches & waterways.
Cons - The tasty breakfast of crepes with chocolate sauce, fritters, french bread, fruit salad, and coffee or tea is good but it's the same every day and there is no option for protein. You have to order your meals in advance or you end up waiting a long time for food to be served. Supplies have to be brought in by boat from Labuanbajo so availability of some menu items is limited depending on which ingredients are on hand.

SERVICE:
Pros - The team arranged excursions for us by boat to Rinca Island to see the Komodo Dragons, to snorkel at several good reefs inside & outside the national park, to watch the flying foxes take off in their thousands at dusk from the mangroves, and to see a traditional tribal dance performance in town. We were also able to rent a canoe with kayak paddles to explore the bay in front of the resort. Prices were reasonable and the boat captains & staff who accompanied us were competent. There is also a spa built a few steps up from the restaurant which offers massages & other relaxing treatments. Pity that the beautiful Japanese-style wooden spa tub is not operational!
Cons - The owner was in the dining room entertaining a table of other guests when we arrived but did not greet us, nor did he bid us farewell when we left. We would have appreciated receiving a welcome & briefing. The local staff don't speak enough English to be able to explain much or answer questions. We had to wait until evening to speak to the owner about possible activities. Evening is really the only time he's around, and even then he seems rather indifferent about the running of the place. I don't think we saw him smile once. The gaggle of young staff are nice enough and have good intentions, I'm sure. We were surprised to learn that they are graduates of the local "tourism high school" give how singularly ineffective they are at providing service to the resort's guests. Granted, they have limited exposure & don't get paid much; nonetheless, training on the most rudimentary aspects of customer service, like bringing menus when guests arrive in the restaurant and taking orders for food & drinks, could really benefit them. Nothing seems to get done on time, including cleaning up last night's mess before the guests start arriving for breakfast. The staff's lack of professionalism as they hang around smoking, texting their friends, and gossiping with the girls in the kitchen is maybe unsurprising in this laid-back place but still unacceptable. Whereas the staff's nonchalance might be acceptable at a backpacker place, at a mid-range resort guests have every reason to expect a modicum of service.

BEACH:
Pros -Come on in - the water is fine! The garbage that previous reviewers complained about has been cleaned up. Snorkeling, swimming, and canoeing are all possible in front of the resort. There is some coral and colourful fishes (nothing compared to the reefs in Komodo National Park but OK).
Cons - None, really. We didn't spot any poisonous sea snakes and only one jellyfish. Sea urchins are present, but easily avoided. It's a nice beach! It's the location that makes the resort worth visiting, despite its foibles.

ADVICE: Come to Waecicu Eden Beach with an open mind and a relaxed patience. That way, you are sure to enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: The cottages mid-way up the hill (number 5 was great!) offer an ideal combination of fewer stairs to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank HeatherfromCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

Very disappointing experience. Transport from the airport to the resort was seamless and without problems, but as soon as our boat got closer to the bungalows, we could see bushfires around the place the closest less than 25 meters from the wooden buildings... Not uncommon in the area and not something you can blame the owners for - I agree and not the reason for the negative review.

It was the way they handled the situation:
First of all they wanted to get us out of the boat without explaining what was happening, how long it was already burning etc... Not even asking if we were comfortable going into a place when we had no idea what the bushfires were going to do next. We didn't want to leave the boat as there was only one shuttle a day and we didn't want to get stuck. Second another family who stayed there came out for their transport back and told us electricity was out and they didn't get any food since breakfast at 7am (it was 3pm by then!).
We decided not to stay as I couldn't imagine having a good night sleep with potential bushfires rushing up to the wooden huts. Again... More a personal choice.

The fact they let us wait on the boat in the sun for more than 1.5 hours (without telling us more or offering any alternatives) after we told them we want to go back and would pay for the transport + the owner coming down - visibly upset - and asking us in an unfriendly (read rude) way what the problem was... (The place around is on fire, everything smells of smoke, ... maybe?) That didn't feel like hospitality you expect on holiday. There are something you don't have control over (like bushfires), but you definitely have control how you handle your guests.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Labuan Bajo hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

DO NOT GO NEAR THIS PLACE.

1. "We'll then we won't allow you to leave" - this is what we got told for questioning an item our bill where we had quite obviously been ripped off on. Large fish 65k on the menu, charged us 225k for X-large fish. The word "extra" was never said by anyone and does not appear on the menu.
2. Manager and owner subsequently abused us verbally.
Phillip refused to organise us a boat back to lubuan bajo.
we were forced to walk back to lubuan bajo. One can only get there by boat (which they chatge you 100k for one way!) so without say the walk was long and difficult.
3. Once you are "stuck" at weacicu , you have to eat their food. stay cost us 38 dollars per night. One can stay in lubuan bajo for 20 dollars and eat amazing seafood cooked fresh from the market at less than half of what Phillip tries to charge you. (And that's just the cost on his menu, let alone the cost he decides to put on the bill)
4. Right at the top of the resort is where the manager Phillip stays in an enormous house. But he cannot find the time to come down and greet guests and when we wanted to discuss our bill he did not come down and talk face to face. Instead he got his minions to argue and then literally abuse us and laugh at us when we did not agree.
5. The beach is nice, but rather stay at other resorts on Eden beach or being developed nearby.
6. when we mentioned putting a review on trip advisor Phillip initially said trip advisor is for "weak people", but subsequently he did try change his tune (a tiny bit) But it was too late after all the abuse we recieved.

DO NOT GO NEAR THIS PLACE.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank brucewiggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Perfect hotel if you seek for peace & quite. We were there in June 2013 and had very relaxing time. Not many guests were at the hotel which was convenient as we could enjoy ourselves in a peaceful and spectacular surrounding. The hotel, which consist of wooden bungalows, is situated on the hill by the seaside so the area is just wonderful with stunningly beautiful views. The water is very calm so you can take a canoe and paddle to small islands nearby, go trekking or just relax on the beach in a hammock. The design and architecture of the hotel give a lovely atmosphere to the place as everything there is made of wood. The staff is very nice and friendly, cheers to Conrad and Walter, they will make the best grilled fish you have ever tried! Literally, the grilled fish is a must! The best way to reach the hotel is by boat as it is an isolated spot with no direct road and electricity. I think it adds charm to the place but no worries, they have their own generator that works in the afternoons and boats that run between the hotel and the city centre. Just ravishing place if you want to escape from everyday life!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nmarika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Labuan Bajo
0.5 mi away
Sylvia Resort Komodo
Sylvia Resort Komodo
#12 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
279 reviews
4.4 mi away
Luwansa Beach Resort
Luwansa Beach Resort
#8 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
258 reviews
4.6 mi away
Puri Sari Beach Hotel
Puri Sari Beach Hotel
#3 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Bintang Flores Hotel
Bintang Flores Hotel
#7 of 41 in Flores
338 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Jayakarta Suites Komodo-Flores
3.5 mi away
Laprima Hotel
Laprima Hotel
#9 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Waecicu Eden Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Waecicu Eden Beach

Property: Hotel Waecicu Eden Beach
Address: Pantai Waecicu-Kec. komodo, Labuan Bajo, Flores, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > East Nusa Tenggara > Flores > Labuan Bajo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Labuan Bajo
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Labuan Bajo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Waecicu Eden Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the western part of Flores Island, on a peninsula, just 15 minutes from Labuan Bajo, the gateway to the Komodo National Park. The hotel is in the middle of a wild and beautiful bay, offering a fantastic view of magnificent sunsets. The bungalows are on a hill, built with natural materials such as wood, banboo and coconut (eco construction). They are designed with Manggarai or Indonesian architecture, and all have thatched roofs keeping them cooler. The charming restaurant offers excellent international cuisine and the friendly service at our family-run hotel will make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Waecicu Eden Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Waecicu Eden Beach Labuan Bajo, Flores, Indonesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing