We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Waecicu Eden Beach
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Labuan Bajo
Reviewed 9 July 2014

A beautiful place to stay on the sandy peninsula off Labuan bajo, a rickety boat ride to get to the hotel though from the harbour, good fun but might be more difficult with kid etc... Individual cabins set up the hill side. Opted for a cheaper room (fan and cold water instead of air con/hot water) but absolutely fine very clean and fantastic views from a bit further up the hillside. They organised a two day/one night boat trip to Rinca/Komodo which was a little dieselly, but a fantastic trip with great food, views and phenomenal snorkelling (will organise snorkelling kit for you if required). Food/drinks in restraunt vert good, but not that cheap and a bit limited to what they had got from the market that day. Overall though a fantastic time was had!

Room Tip: The cheaper the rooms the further up the hillside you are, but the better the view!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Klumb17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (230)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Waecicu Eden Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 230 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed at this resort for 7 nights. The beach is beautiful despite the random trash that washes up from Labuan Bajo. It is quiet and very secluded. There are a few other small resorts around, but it is still not built up. The owners were very kind and even bought us a huge red snapper for our last night. It was the best tasting fish ever! The breakfasts were tasty with your choice of crepes or ommeletes. Both meals come with coffee/tea and fruit. Way too much food, but we ate it all every day.

The only come to this place was that you could not see the sun set (you could hike up the hill about 20 minutes and see it from there), and there a lot of stairs. We had our daughter of two years old with us so carrying her up 170 stairs multiple times a day really adds up. I believe mount Bromo was only 200. That being said, we were at the top and the views were pretty spectacular. It was just a hassle if you forget something in their room...

Anyhow, much recommended if you want something quiet with beautiful views.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joshua M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014


The hotel has a lot of enchantment and the location is beautiful but it has too many downsides because the owners are letting it down without even caring.

- Safety: Although the prices of the bungalows are ok, be aware that none of them have a proper lock. After 7 nights and despite several claims (obviously we were worried about our valuables), not even the owner was capable and/or willing to change a simple lock.

- Access barrier: a dirt road not even doable by rented motorbike takes pedestrians over a 2h walk to Labuan Bajo (closest place for restaurants or ATMs etc.)

- Internet connection: although the owner told us on the phone there was literally "wifi in the rooms", upon arrival we had to figure out ourselves that Internet (if working) is connected ONLY from 7 pm until the last guest leaves the restaurant and ONLY in the restaurant. The owner also lied to other guests telling them the same story about internet in the rooms.

-Restaurant service: even though the food is an interesting blend of French and Indonesian cuisine, the orders take way too long plus food is not always guaranteed. When they have a more profitable plan, "shopping in the market was impossible" because the boat was being used "to take clients to Rinca island", as a waiter told us. In the meantime, because the guest has NO OTHER CHOICE but to eat in the hotel, he has to put up with the only option available: Nasi Goreng or to starve until dinner and see if any new surprise comes up. We went to town right after lunch to get a good pizza for dinner at one of the Italian restaurants.

- Hotel staff is overwhelmed with two tables in the restaurant. When you sit down, the waiter can easily let you wait for 10-15 min until he approaches you to ask you what you want. Usually you have to look for the menu yourself before you sit down. After a drink, you are not asked if you would like another or if you would like any dessert. Initiative always has to come from guests in the first place.

- Poor management due to no professional leadership whatsoever: Guests claims are ignored until after a couple of days you have to insist on talking to the owner himself hoping to get any further. Also in the kitchen, the mess is obvious: they filled sugar containers used during breakfast by guests with ground gelatin one day. It happened to have the same aspect as brown sugar. After an unsweetened coffee and a quite unpleasant feeling in my mouth, I don't get any answer about what the hell had been put into the sugar container. I had the feeling I had been eating glue, not something a traveler would like to experience during his holiday.

- Better check your bills every day: One of the days we spent in town we were charged several dishes and drinks while we were away. We found out I. The check our day.

- Room service: You have to ask for the room service every day. When we left our keys in reception for them to fix the lock (which after 7 nights eventually was never done), the room service was also skipped, since "they didn't have the key".

- After all these things mentioned above and having talked to the owner about only some of them, the receptionist in the last 3-4 days completely ignored us: He said neither hello nor any good bye, tossed our breakfast on the table and desperately tried to avoid our presence... It was terribly uncomfortable. We decided to spend most of the time away or in town just to avoid the negative vibes.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Steckelbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

A bit of background, we went there for the first time on 2011 for holiday. The location is secluded and quiet with view to the open sea, just nice for a romantic getaway. Built on a cliff side, the many steps/staircases are unavoidable but they were designed in such a way that it became part of its charm. Other than snorkeling right in front of the hotel, we would also highly recommend climbing to the hilltop. The sunset view from there is just breathtaking! Just don't stay on the top for too long after sunset as it goes dark really fast.

The food are great, with steamed fish quickly became my favourite. Yes, the restaurant service can be quite slow and the room cleaning are done by request. However we didn't really mind much since we're not in a rush anyway, and whenever we request for our room to be cleaned it's always done properly. We simply accept that life goes slower over there.

We had such a great first impression that 2 years later we decided to get married there! Now in 2013, we were excited to share the same magical experience with our family & friends. It doesn't hurt that now the electricity is 24/7 too. The owner, Phil & Dewi, are very helpful with the wedding preparation and basically taking care of almost everything. Dewi herself cooked a great dinner feast and we can't be happier. They even surprised us with a bungalow freshly renovated just for our wedding night! To say that we're deeply touched is an understatement. The staff were also very helpful and attentive that by end of the weekend it feels like we're all part of a big family.

In the end, this place might not have a 5-star hotel service & facilities. What it has, however, is heart. It is now officially one of our favourite place and we are already planning to go back for every anniversary. This might be the start of a new family tradition.

Room Tip: room number 6 for the best view!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Servina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We had a really nice time there. 1st we were really disappointed, we want to go there, but by mistake we end up in hotel name "Waecicu Beach Inn", nothing to compare, no view, concrete building, not so nice beach. But after this misadventure we found the right place. we spent 4 nights there, really lovely time, the view from the room is impressive, especially from your bed in the morning. The place is quite and romantic, just the sound of the sea, nice persons, nice foods, service a bit slow but really efficient for arrange boat trip. We went in Rinca and another day in manta rays place, swim in a middle of dozen huge rays . Not so far to the town 20 minutes by walk or 1:30 hour by a nice walk. Thanks to the team.

Room Tip: Make sure you book for the right hotel!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Hi there, the hotel is very well located, few minutes by boat from Labuan Bajo with a pick up service. the staff are very friendly and helpful, you never feel disturbing them, all the time with real smile, simple English but in half. My wife was sick on arrival probably due to jet lag, and all time the staff ask news and offer to her a fresh soup. the view from our balcony room was really impressing, at least you need 3 pictures to cover all the panorama. view in front of the bungalow, but also on the side with large windows. The restaurant serve nice food, tasty grill fish, nice soups. they are several things to do around, like snorkeling, trekking, kayaking and relaxing on this quite beach white sandy beach. We was really happy to escape Bali for while and discover Flores and this place. It's easy to arrange a boat for discover Komodo or islands around. Okay there are several steeps, probably more than hundred to our bungalows, but again witch view!!!

Room Tip: To escape from civilization go there...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Our 2 nights at Waecicu were magnificent. It is secluded and it takes a little over 15 minutes by boat to get anywhere. For us this was perfect, because the place itself is so beautiful, the staff and owner are very friendly. Food and chilling in the restaurant/living at the beach front is very enjoyable and relaxing. Plenty of hammocks and seats with the most beautiful views.

The cabins are also very beautiful.

For day trips this place is a little bit less well situated because you need the boat trip to get anywhere.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jules V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Labuan Bajo hotels
0.5 mi away
Sylvia Resort Komodo
Sylvia Resort Komodo
#14 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
327 reviews
4.6 mi away
Puri Sari Beach Hotel
Puri Sari Beach Hotel
#2 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
471 reviews
4.4 mi away
Luwansa Beach Resort
Luwansa Beach Resort
#8 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Jayakarta Suites Komodo-Flores
2.9 mi away
Eco Tree O`tel
Eco Tree O`tel
#7 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
76 reviews
3.5 mi away
Laprima Hotel
Laprima Hotel
#11 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Waecicu Eden Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Waecicu Eden Beach

Address: Pantai Waecicu-Kec. komodo, Labuan Bajo, Flores, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > East Nusa Tenggara > Flores > Labuan Bajo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Labuan Bajo
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Labuan Bajo
Price Range: £30 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Waecicu Eden Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the western part of Flores Island, on a peninsula, just 15 minutes from Labuan Bajo, the gateway to the Komodo National Park. The hotel is in the middle of a wild and beautiful bay, offering a fantastic view of magnificent sunsets. The bungalows are on a hill, built with natural materials such as wood, banboo and coconut (eco construction). They are designed with Manggarai or Indonesian architecture, and all have thatched roofs keeping them cooler. The charming restaurant offers excellent international cuisine and the friendly service at our family-run hotel will make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Waecicu Eden Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Waecicu Eden Beach Labuan Bajo, Flores, Indonesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing