We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location to Town”
Review of Villa Seirama Alam

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Labuan Bajo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Seirama Alam
Ranked #2 of 26 Labuan Bajo B&B and Inns
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
148 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
“Good Location to Town”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We stayed for three nights in January with the primary goal of coming to Labuan Bajo to see the Komodo Dragons. The Villa was nice, clean and comfortable. Set high on a hill surrounded by beautiful gardens, it really is a relaxing environment. Unfortunately no pool, which would have been nice given how hot it was, especially with the high humidity. We had one of the upstairs bedrooms with private bathroom. Hot water shower, a comfortable bed, air conditioning and incredible view - basically everything that we needed. Trying to pack light I had not brought a blow dryer and they did not have one to loan (not the end of the world, but would have been nice to have). I would warn that it is quite a hike up a steep driveway to get to the house, so if you have mobility issues this may not be the place for you. To get to the bedrooms upstairs you have to climb steep wooden stairs (almost ladder-like), again this may be an issue for those with mobility issues. There is also a bedroom with bathroom downstairs, and an additional bathroom with cold water only, I believe for those that rent the smaller upstairs bedroom that has no bathroom. There is also a separate one bedroom suite, with bathroom, available at a higher level behind the main house and another cottage being completed in front of the main house. These would be nice suites if you wanted some privacy.
There was always hot water for tea/coffee available throughout the day (no charge) and the fridge had cold beer and pop available at reasonable prices. We received a large bottle of water on arrival and then could fill the bottle at no charge from the water dispenser located in the kitchen.
The Villa is situated in walking distance to the town. You just have to cross the street (which can be a bit frightening dodging the traffic) and then walk down a dirt trail to the town. This was OK during the day, but somewhat sketchy at night (make sure you have a flashlight). There is a restaurant just down the road from the Villa, which we went to a couple of nights in order to avoid having to walk the path into town at night. Although I am sure that Kristina, the housekeeper, would have arranged to have a taxi pick us up had we asked.
Kristina came every morning and made us breakfast and stayed for the day, always very busy doing her chores. She would leave at night and it was the responsibility of the guests to lock up. While there we only had to share with one other couple, who had the smaller bedroom (no bathroom) upstairs. As there is only one common area for lounging upstairs, which just happens to back onto the smaller bedroom window, it made it rather awkward to sit there if the other couple were there. We resorted to just finding seating outside where we relaxed in the morning or evening, or hanging out in our room (which was cool with the AC). Breakfast was served upstairs or downstairs where tables were located. The views of the harbour from upstairs were wonderful. We are social people so "living" with others was not an issue, but not sure how it would be if the house was full or if you had unruly guests all staying under one roof. I guess that is part of the experience in staying in basically a Bed and Breakfast type accommodation.
We had monkeys visit outside our bedroom window, which was great, as well as many gheckos inside and outside the room (that does not bother us). Apparently there are flying gheckos on the grounds, but our search for them was not successful. The tiered gardens were wonderful for strolling around in.
I have pondered how best to describe the town of Labuan Bajo. Basically it is a dirty little town, yet has some of the most incredible restaurants in Indonesia! And there seems to be an Italian influence when it comes to Restaurants. There appeared to be more Muslims than other places we visited in Bali, and the overhead speaker system throughout the town starts at 4am with the Muslim chantings. We find the different cultures interesting, so this just added to our interest.
We organized a boat trip to Rinca Island to see the Komodo Dragons, through a company (of which there are many) located in town. It was a 2 hour boat ride to Rinca Island, included lunch and a stop for snorkelling at one of the small Islands. The cost was about $40 Cdn each, plus costs for the park fees and ranger fees once on the Island (make sure you have enough cash for the added expenses). The Komodo Dragons are incredibly scary, but so well worth the trip! The ride there was great with blue skies, but a bit rocky coming back as storm clouds had rolled in. Remember to take some sea sickness pills with you just in case.
Villa Seirama Alam was comfortable and would be a good choice if you want to be close to town or the harbour.

Room Tip: Upstairs bedroom with bathroom has fantastic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank waterlogged23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    21
    3
    6
    0
See reviews for
8
50
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the villa for 3 nights and loved it. Labuan Bajo is quite pricy for Indonesian standards, but at Villa Seirama you really get great value for money. The villa is beautifully located on top of the hill, from where you can watch the sunset. It takes a bit of a hike to get up there, but it is worth every bit. The rooms are spacious, have aircon, great beds, nice bathrooms and are very well decorated. The whole place has a warm homely atmosphere to it. The hostess Christina is a lovely lady who keeps everything clean and tidy, makes great breakfast with pancakes or eggs and fruitjuices, and can also do your laundry. Water refills and cold drinks are always available. The best thing about the villa might be the beautiful lush garden, with an abundance of flowers, a small fountain, cute little lights and a terrace from where you have an amazing view over Labuan Bajo bay. One day we even saw some macaques swinging in the trees! We had a great time staying here and would definitely recommend it.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank TravellingAsia2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

What a fabulous place this is! Scandalous that it is not listed in the Lonely Planet.
There is so much positive to say about this place - the view is fantastic, the people lovely and friendly, the rooms at a level of luxury not usually found in Indonesia, tea/coffee/water available at no extra cost, We found our piece of paradise here.
The only thing missing for a longer stay is a swimming pool. Also, you do need to be a bit mobile since it is not right in the centre (but that is also its charm of course). We hired a motor bike and it was perfect.

Room Tip: Absolutely perfect is if you get the main villa, and no-one else is staying there (it is a building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SGalletly2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Villa has it all..strategically located nearby the jetty, homey and cosy,beautiful sunset and harbor cum island view..most importantly the ever bubbly and accomodating caretaker - Christina..if you are here you must try her scrumptious 'omelette' and fruit salad breakfast!
She is an honest and really hardworking lady..who cleans the villa, wash guests clothes and cook breakfast without any assistance nor machines! She is an amazingly wonderful reliable person...she deserves more than jus a pat in her back..she deserve your tips!
Stay in villa seirama and you will truly enjoy your holiday here...

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank criztinalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

This place perched on the hill was a great place to end our holiday in Flores. Solid breakfast, great accommodation and cool gardens aided by expert advice on pigmy elephants and Komodo dragons. The owner volker provided great tips on things to see, places to eat and was kind enough to save the freakier human eating dragon stories until after we had seen them.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed at Villa Seirama for 6 nights and we had a wonderful stay. The rooms are very comfortable, the view is incredible and the breakfasts are just perfects ( ah! banana pancakes!!). We stayed at many different places in Indonesia and Villa Seirama was the best one. I would definitely recommand this place.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maude08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

After a quick walk down the main street I decided to rent a motor bike and have a look around. I stumbled on this place at the top of the hill. It's possible to rent one bedroom of the three bedroom villa, or a private room up top. They were building another room below. Cost was 475,000 rupia per night. I probably could have negotiated a bit..but didn't because the view was the best in town. The upstairs has a commanding view of the harbor.

The staff was very friendly and helpful, breakfast was included and fairly good. It's a great place to stay if you want to be just out of town, but 5 minutes away on a motor bike (or a healthy hike up and around the hill).

Room Tip: Upper floor w/ bathroom (on left hand side) was the best room in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Labuan Bajo hotels
2.1 mi away
Puri Sari Beach Hotel
Puri Sari Beach Hotel
#3 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
423 reviews
1.9 mi away
Luwansa Beach Resort
Luwansa Beach Resort
#8 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
258 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Waecicu Eden Beach
Hotel Waecicu Eden Beach
#15 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Laprima Hotel
Laprima Hotel
#9 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
450 reviews
0.2 mi away
Komodo Lodge
Komodo Lodge
#5 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
78 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sunset Hill Hotel
Sunset Hill Hotel
#3 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Seirama Alam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Seirama Alam

Property: Villa Seirama Alam
Address: Jl. Soekarno Hatta | Puncak Waringin, Labuan Bajo, Flores 86554, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > East Nusa Tenggara > Flores > Labuan Bajo
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Labuan Bajo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Seirama Alam 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elevated over the picturesque bay of Labuan Bajo, this comfortable house provides breathtaking views of the harbour and the surrounding islands. Villa Seirama Alam is one of the very few private estates in West Flores that is available for visitors. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Seirama Alam Labuan Bajo, Flores, Indonesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing