We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (463)
Filter reviews
463 results
Traveller rating
380
66
13
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
380
66
13
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sebayur island italian food dive master strong currents indonesian lunch manta point batu bolong snorkeling guide dive staff manta rays hard and soft corals remote island fabulous dive granita beach bar beautiful island cuttlefish
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 463 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

Beautiful place, big nice spacious rooms with a view. Amazing diving with Sam. Excellent food. Antonella and Stephan are on top of every detail. Food is great Italian fare. Local food served for lunch. Great snorkelling, hiking and Kayaking. The hike to the TOP of the island is great with amazing views of the nearby islands and coral gardens

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank carlos222222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2017

What Komodo Resort is not: a large, cookie-cutter, polished-&-perfect resort that could be anywhere in the world. What it is: a unique, (very) slightly rough-around-the-edges, laid back, friendly place to enjoy some of the word's best diving. It has it's own personality; we loved it!

The spacious bungalows have a rustic appearance but have every amenity except a TV (a plus for us!) and a hair dryer. Nice quiet AC, reliable wifi, plenty of hot water, excellent mattress & comfy pillows; the mini-fridge is refilled daily with a complimentary snack and drinks (not alcohol, but you can pay to have that also); also lots of converter plugs to lend to us non-European visitors so we could easily keep everything charged. The view from your porch is outstanding.

Open-air restaurant with buffet breakfast, a la carte lunch and dinner; a surprising number of choices given how remote the location is. The food was delicious! And the staff is very attentive.

Speaking of staff, one of the things we loved is what seems to be a very egalitarian culture. At the beach bar in the evenings, both local and European staff (including the owner) gathered at the same tables used by the guests -- not to be on duty for forced mingling, but just to hang out because it is "their" bar, too.

I'm a little puzzled by the previous reviewer who did not find the "flexibility and generosity" among the staff that he apparently has seen at fancier resorts. We had exactly the opposite experience. First: both of us have more than 500 dives, and are experienced in a variety of conditions, but I had been sick and we are definitely "senior citizens", so I did not want to do a lot of heavy current diving. They customized our entire 5-day dive package, planning each evening with us and giving us absolutely fantastic dive itineraries (even our own small boat one time!) that mostly avoided strong currents. Second: there was a sudden, strong rain squall on our last day, when we were drying all our dive gear outdoors. As we ran to get it, two staff people had already begun carrying it onto our porch. We could not have asked for more attentive personal service.

We also loved the mix of guests. We were the only Americans during our stay; most guests were German, Italian, British, with one Japanese and one Danish couple. Very friendly and enjoyable folks to hang out with!

We would absolutely love to return.

Room Tip: All are identical, including views; choose based on how close you want to be to the "action."
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Adair N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2017 via mobile

This is a truly amazing property. I could have sat in my bungalow and watched the view all day. The location is stunning. It's similarly amazing that they can provide constant electricity and hot and cold running water. But they do.

The restaurant was great. All of our party of seven adults were catered for perfectly.

Of course you go for the diving. We have 2or 3 hundred dives under our belts on average but everyone felt that they had some of their best ever dives here. We were in Manta season but didn't expect to hang out with Mantas the way you might with turtles! But even without Mantas the quality of the coral and life from the tiniest sea horse to the octopus, sharks, and marble rays were amazing.

But this is a resort owned and run by dive guys so don't expect the flexibility or generosity you might other places where you are spending hundreds of euros a night on a room. They just haven't been trained how to do luxury service and they control their team extremely tightly leaving them little room to add personal touches..
But they made their dream happen so I guess they deserve to do it their way.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2017

Just came back from our Honey Moon. This resort is sensational. From the food to the rooms but specially the place! You are at the doors of the Komodo National par on a private Island. The beach is white and the snorkeling in front of your room is exceptional..

Room Tip: All rooms are seaview beach front so you can't go wrong!
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank supbali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2017

Komodo Resort and Diving Club is truly paradise. The diving and snorkeling are spectacular, the scenery is stunning, the beaches are gorgeous, the villas are luxurious as they could be in a place this remote and untouched, and the service was impeccable. We stayed for 6 days that flew by far too fast. From snorkeling with giant manta rays, to days spent on our own islands with pink sand beaches and mojitos before dinner in front of the sunset, every second was unique and memorable. My dream is to come back to this place again, and share it with the people I love!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews