We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view but no frills”
Review of Gardena Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Labuan Bajo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gardena Hotel
Ranked #15 of 25 Labuan Bajo B&B and Inns
Sanur, Indonesia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice view but no frills”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

all the way up the hill is their AC rooms, decent view of the harbour, ok beds, bathrooms are not great. Our room still had garbage from the previous guests, who knows if the blankets were washed.. staff was not the most inviting, buffet breakfast was ok (mi or nasi, toasts and eggs.. with tea or coffee). Price is a average for the type of accommodation in town but still expensive for what it is

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scubascales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    59
    99
    44
    28
See reviews for
11
102
51
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kampen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
98 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Located close to the airport only cost IDR 50K for taxi (private car that the owner used for the taxi) to reached the hotel... Only 5 mnts (even less) walking to the Harbor!!! Very close to restaurants and markets..

Stay here for 6 nights at standard A room (IDR 200K/night) double bad with fan and no hot water (it was hooootttttt tho in Labuan Bajo) including breakfast (not recommended at all!!), located at the top of the hotel area with a very great view but also had to climb like 125 stairs (i count it lol) but really worth it. But it was noisy becoz of the woven bamboo wall so I even cud hear the ppl next to our bungalow talking... Also during night so noisy coz of the noise of the motorbike and boats at the harbor... but overall this place was good for the location and the price... ;)

Room Tip: Pick the higher bungalow or the top one for the best view ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monalizzamulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Simple bungalows on the hill side. Nice view on the islands, especially from the breakfast terrace. Breakfast buffet style with either fried rice or noodles, a salad, pancakes, and toasts and jam. 176000 IDR for a single bungalow, not many other options found in this price range in LB. No discount given for a 3-night stay. No internet, need to order something from the restaurant next door to get the password (which gets changes every day...).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheGregster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Not a lot of budget options in his rather dirty town, best of the low cost ones. We agree it has loads of potential but falls flat when it comes to staff. They just don't seem that interested in making the place clean and comfortable.
Breakfast is so so, and often late when everyone is wanting to go diving, and needs to be at the boats by 7:30am. If they were interested in service, they would start breakfast at 6:45am and be friendly about it. After being on a backpacker boat for three nights, hot water, air conditioning, solid ground and a nice view are oh so nice. But please improve the service!

Room Tip: We were in room 210, up near the top. Lots of stairs to get there but the views are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Retired4good_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I think it wasn't that bad. The sleeping quality was good, prices were nice, rooms were clean,view was great, and actually I loved the breakfast! Really good pancakes!! We went to see the other hotels near the pier. Nooot nice- really awful and quite expensive so I think Gardena was the best budget option.

Staff were rude, that is true. And you had to ask thing like blanket and towel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmppuL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel has the potential to be really amazing, if just a little extra work was put in. The bungalows are looking shabby and old and the interiors are damp and a bit musty. The breakfast was highly disappointing, there was no choice and we were served thick, stodgy pancakes. Staff were not very welcoming, friendly or helpful and made you feel if you asked for help that you were being inconvenient. The main bonus is the view...with a vista across the port and islands. It takes your breath away, however I'm sure you would find nicer places offering a similar panorama. Certainly won't be rushing back to stay here again. The place needs a complete overhaul and staff need some serious training.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sineadlawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Labuan Bajo hotels

Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I stayed there for one night. Was distroyed with Bed bug bites. The room was very run down. In the morning something had chewed through my rucksack. And the staff member we dealt with was very rude toward us. I would not stay there again

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AudreyByron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Labuan Bajo hotels
0.7 mi away
Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant
0.8 mi away
Laprima Hotel
Laprima Hotel
#7 of 19 in Labuan Bajo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
2.0 mi away
Puri Sari Beach Hotel
Puri Sari Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Labuan Bajo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Waecicu Eden Beach
Hotel Waecicu Eden Beach
#13 of 19 in Labuan Bajo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
1.8 mi away
Luwansa Beach Resort
Luwansa Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Labuan Bajo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.2 mi away
Komodo Lodge
Komodo Lodge
#6 of 21 in Labuan Bajo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gardena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gardena Hotel

Property: Gardena Hotel
Address: Jl Yos Sudarso, Labuan Bajo, Flores 86554, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > East Nusa Tenggara > Flores > Labuan Bajo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Labuan Bajo
Number of rooms: 126
Also Known As:
Gardena Hotel Labuan Bajo, Flores, Indonesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing