We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Labuan Bajo Boat trip to the Islands.”
Review of Gardena Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Labuan Bajo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gardena Hotel
Ranked #18 of 31 Labuan Bajo B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 August 2014

My stay at the Gardena was a pleasent one and it was also very convienient for the one of many boat trips which leave from the harbour by it. The restaurant was very good and decently priced, open air with sunset views, no problems at all checking in, the rooms where basic but comfortable with a fan...( the two rooms i had during my stay where fan ones) not sure if any have air-con. I chose a hut at the very top of the Gardena which was a definate no go for anyone with mobility problems, it was very steep climbing up to there with the carved out stairs and a ladder or two you had to go up made from bamboo. Luckily i had the taxi driver to assist me with my bags when i arrived and we also came to an arrangement for boat trips and a land trip which was a great help.The room i chose or rather the hut was in the best postion to watch and view the sunsets and sunrises in Labuan Bajo so if you are fit and have strong legs definately head for the top! All in all, yes i would and hope i will return again sometime.

( Sorry) have some pictures but cannot post to this review for some reason and also the drop down date of travel menu never went to my date of travel which was Novemner 2011.)


Billy.

Room Tip: It could be a romantic hotel if you can make the climb to the very top for the beautifull sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billyb0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed here on two occasions. The first time in the AC rooms. When we first arrived they said they had no rooms available but then our driver talked to them and some rooms suddenly freed up lol. The AC room was a nice relief from the heat but I don't think it was a good value for the room. Had a nice view though. The power went out several times over our two day stay in that room but not for too long.

We also stayed in a cheaper fan room that was decent enough I suppose.

I would say that the best thing about the place is that they have many rooms so it might be easier to find a free room here than elsewhere. And the breakfast that's included with the room is good enough. Would be nice of they had wifi but you can pick it up from the restaurant next door, if you can get ahold of the password.

They also had free luggage storage while we went on overnight boat tour.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amz155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for a night in the standard room with a view. The bungalow was at the very top of the garden, up many steps. The view out at the sea was beautiful.
The bungalow itself was quite clean and the sheets were clean.
The bathroom had a Western toilet with a bucket for the flush.
The breakfast included was fairly bad, with cold pancakes sitting in a pot.
Overall the place was fine, but for Rp275000, it was a bit overpriced. They have cheaper rooms which would be better value.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank KeenanL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Coming back from Kanawa and had to stay a night on Labuan Bajo and heard about this place. The view from the top was nice but other than that the stay was pretty standard- nothing wrong with it and nothing that stood out to make it exceptional. Good location, staff was friendly and breakfast was included. No wifi but the attached restaurant will give you the code to their router if you buy something. The breakfast was banana pancakes, toast and fried noodles. I would stay here again. I was worried about it getting too hot with just a fan but it was fine.

Room Tip: If you have any problems walking/climbing stairs this place may not be for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nlaguilera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Staff was very helpful and friendly. Free and tasty breakfast. Room was very clean, only cold water in bathroom. We loved loved view. It was worth climbing all those stairs. Lovely veranda. Be prepared for noisy harbour and two mosques with early morning praying. Good for budget travelers. Be sure to see room first, as some are old and smelly.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dancaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Great location, close to restaurants, just few minutes walking to the harbour and have beautiful view from the top.

The food was ok, the room was cleaned and very helpful staff.

The only negative was too many stairs.

Room Tip: Choose the top one, it has very beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sun C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Recommended by a friend who had stayed the week before. Right by the entrance to the harbour and so not far to carry heavy bags from the boat. Stayed for just one night before flight back to Bali and fitted all my needs. Stayed in the standard room which had an amazing view from the veranda, functional fan, really comfortable double bed and all very clean. Bathroom had western toilet but bucket flush, no basin although taps, and shower was good (cold but actually felt quite warm) although the on switch was very high up, I could just reach it (I'm 5ft3/160cm). Very good for the price though. 200,000 IDR with tax.
Really friendly staff and the resurant downstairs has good wifi which you can get in some of the garden. nice breakfast with an amazing view out over the harbour. Good place for a quick stop over although was very loud in the morning with the boat motors echoing around the harbour - but thats part of the atmosphere of the lovely town!

Room Tip: Lovely views the higher you go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anathema000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Labuan Bajo hotels
2.7 mi away
Hotel Waecicu Eden Beach
Hotel Waecicu Eden Beach
#17 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
231 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eco Tree O`tel
Eco Tree O`tel
#7 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
86 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sylvia Resort Komodo
Sylvia Resort Komodo
#14 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant
0.8 mi away
Laprima Hotel
Laprima Hotel
#11 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
480 reviews
0.0 mi away
Green Hill Boutique Hotel
Green Hill Boutique Hotel
#5 of 31 in Labuan Bajo
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gardena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gardena Hotel

Address: Jl Yos Sudarso, Labuan Bajo, Flores 86554, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > East Nusa Tenggara > Flores > Labuan Bajo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Labuan Bajo
Number of rooms: 126
Also Known As:
Gardena Hotel Labuan Bajo, Flores, Indonesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing